09/08 Miou AMPS=81 - aggressive behavior lately

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
previous condo

Hi everyone,

I was not able to update yesterday due to some problems I had with my Internet connection.
Miou is more or less stable so I am not testing as often as I did a couple of days ago. Also I need to slow down the expense with the test strips.
 
Hi all,

I hope I manage to update without the internet connection broken again, as I still have problems with it.

Miou is in general in stable greens.
Here are her numbers yesterday
AMPS =89
+2 =77
+5=81
+11=88
PMPS=89
+3=73
+8=116 <-(is after food)

The problem is Miou is getting more and more aggressive . It started 2 days ago when she I tried to measure her and is getting worse. She still tries to hit me when measuring her, and attacks her sisters at unpredictable times. She also tries to attack me when I tell her to stop.!!! In general she seems to be pissed off most of the time. And it seems it's not just the ear poking bothering her.
She was never that kind of cat :sad:
Have you ever seen such a change in behavior? I am really worried
 
Hi Elsa,
I'm sorry that Miou is behaving badly. Perhaps there is something else bothering her. Have you made a change in her food?Is she eating and eliminating normally? Is the weather uncomfortable? Sometimes cats just have to "let off steam". I hope that she returns to her usual good disposition soon. If you are worried that she might have a health issue, a trip to the vet might be in order.

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty

P.s. We reserve the candle symbol to indicate that the cat has died. Perhaps your internet connection caused the candle to appear inadvertently?
 
Sorry for the candle thing... it must have been clicked in my hurry... Miou is ok and no need for burning candles (knock on wood)

Sienne and Gabby said:
FYI: Once Miou has spent 7 days/14 cycles at the 0.25u dose with these kinds of numbers, you can reduce her dose to 0.1u.
Sienne I wanted to ask about this!
The way I count it if she is all day today at these numbers, it will be 14 cycles.
So I reduce the dose to 0.1 from the next AM shot (tomorrow morning)
I hope I get it right.

Ella it could be the food thing. Though it has not changed, it is a tad less, plus the ear poking...
The vet, when I asked him about her inappropriate urination, said he believes it's psychological, due to the stress from the weekly trips to his office, and the reduction of food.
So maybe now Miou seeing that the urination is not enough might have added aggression to express her distress :cry:
 
Was Miou the dominant pet?
My girl has episodes like that.... where I feel like she is trying to put her foot down and bully me. She would get aggressive at shot time and I had to assert my own dominance over her
to make sure that she knew, this was happening. I allow her to be dominant in other ways.... like I can't brush her instead.
She tries that now with testing. She gets a little uppity and I explain to her that we have to continue to make sure she's doing okay.

We also have arthritis and pain issues so that can also make them aggressive.
 
Has she been tested for hyperthyroid? An overactive thyroid can cause aggression. Did the vet chech her for a UTI? It always concerns me when a vet assumes inappropriate urination is psychological, especially without ruling out the physical.

I hope you figure it out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top