9/14 Zeke PMPS = 190

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261

I haven't read through your condo from yesterday, yet. I will now. I think you did right to stay with the 1.00 this morning.
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261

He's getting some good healing numbers on this dose and coming down from bounces quickly. I would stick with 1.00 for awhile unless he goes below 50. You're doing a great job Laura.
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126 - QUESTION

Do you guys think it would be ok to leave Zeke unmonitored tonight from like +1 through +4? This of course assuming he's not starting out at a low number. Maybe say if he's over 200? Just wondering how you balance social life vs keeping your sugar baby safe without watching 24/7?
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126 - QUESTION

The last times he was in the 200s at PMPS he was fine for the rest of the night. I'm just not sure he's going to be in the 200 at PS time tonight. It would depend upon his +12 and +1 after that.
Timed feeders, leaving out extra food, leaving out higher carb food, are some of the ways we get away when we have to.
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126 - Need Advice

Over 200 seems like it would be ok, but what about under? Assuming his BGs are not dropping from +10 to PMPS, how low in 100s do you think it would be safe to leave him? He appears to be very carb sensitive. Perhaps we could give him some MC before we head out tonight to make sure he doesn't drop dangerously low while we are out. We could also round up the civvies, put them in a separate room and leave some additional MC food out just for Zeke. Could that tie him over (and keep him safe for) about 4 hours do you think? You do have your crystal ball handy, don't you?

Ok, so here's the deal. Currently Zeke will absolutely not let anyone but us near him. We're looking into getting a caretaker out here and working on getting Zeke comfortable with them over the course of weeks, or maybe months. This is going to take nothing short of a miracle but we need to at least try. At first we'll have to be here with the caretaker to try and get Zeke comfortable with them WHILE WE'RE HERE. After accomplishing that goal, see how he does with them when we're not here.

Background: We've had the same pet sitter for several years. She's a very kitty-loving lady and loves Zekey and has tried all she can to get Zeke to become comfortable with her. Years later, maybe sometimes he won't hide when she comes over. Of course when he does decide to not hide, he often silent hisses at her when she tries to get near him or even talk to him (kinda like what Gracie did to Lupita, but without the sound). :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I’ve been struggling with this decision the last two weeks. We purchased (very expensive) tickets for a show tonight, months before we knew what we would be faced with Zeke and his FD. I can’t stand the thought of leaving Zeke in a dangerous position but if we could find a way to keep him safe and still be able to attend the show together (my husband, Glenn and I), I would like to do that - we've been looking forward to this for months. However, I don’t want to do anything that might greatly set Zekey back (we’re pleased with his recent BGs). We don’t have any friends available to keep an eye on him but even if we did, having someone here would only be beneficial if he goes hypo and is in no condition to fight back against this human threat, thereby allowing our friend to provide medical assistance. We wouldn’t want to do that to him or our friend.
Your thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126 - NEED ADVICE

Maybe, he'll do like he did on 09/11 as the numbers look comparable and it will be a non event.
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126 - NEED ADVICE

But, if you're worried, you can do all of the above if necessary. I mean separate Zeke and give him extra food or extra carb food. I have closed the interior doors in my condo so that J.D. (who is also a fraidy cat with most humans) is confined to the living room dining room and kitchen, and asked a neighbor to look in on him for me. Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy the show. Don't tell Zeke you are planning on leaving. Don't let him read the computer, so he won't decide he wants your attention tonight.
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126 - NEED ADVICE

Well my crystal ball is a bit foggy...
but so far on Zeke's ss, it doesn't look like he's into the drama. No freefalling leaps over several floors like some of the kitties here.

If you are really nervous about it and his bg stays in low blues or even greens near shot time.... you could give a bcs ( big chicken s**) tonight with a lesser dose.... I wouldn't do too much less though.
I wouldn't go less than 0.75u.
It's kinda like a partial fur shot.


The other choice is to give him a higher carb food right as you get ready to leave.... if you feed 5% normally, give him an 8 or 10% instead... it gives him a little boost and leave it out for him
while you are gone ( especially if he eats it all before you walk out the door, give him a refill)
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126 - NEED ADVICE

The other option is to skip the shot.

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, where one shot builds upon the previous, I'm not a fan of BCS shots. The depot might still allow him to come down (if he was going to anyway).

So I think you should see where he is at shot time and if he's above a no shoot number that you pick, then give insulin and leave out MC to HC food. If he's below where you are comfortable, skip. It's one shot and believe me, you will enjoy the show much, much more knowing he's safe because he can't hypo without getting a shot tonight.

It took me a long time to realize that sometimes you have to do something for yourself and, especially because you've had these tickets a while, you should do it tonight. I skipped a shot to go to a PGA Golf match, Amy has skipped to go to Bruce Springsteen. It's not something you will be doing often. So consider it and HAVE FUN! He will get back on track. He's doing well.
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126;+8=93 - NEED ADVICE

Well, well, well. +8 = 93. Really? Didn't see that one coming. Guess, I better start thinking about my no shoot number. I really don't want to skip a shot but Zekey's safety is always first and foremost. I really don't know what my no shoot number is. And the anxiety starts to build.
 
Re: 9/14 Zeke AMPS = 261; +4=126;+8=93; +11=158

We'll see what the PMPS is before deciding what to do tonight.
 
We're off to the show. Pet sitter's coming @ +2 to feed again.

Thanks for the advice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top