9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +3=51 +4=43 +5=55 +6.5=61 +7.5=90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday quick drop to green in AM, bounce in PM

I was disappointed to see a high preshot again this morning and had hoped Papaya would have just come down from last night's bounce to nice numbers by this morning. She ate at +1.5 and +3, by which time she had dropped but not as spectacularly as some days. I was going out at +5 so I went to put food down but she wanted it right away, so I let her eat it then left out more. When I came home at +8 she had not eaten the food I left out, still snuggled under the purple quilt on this rainy day, but I tested and got 45! What a weird place to find green. I fed her a bit of her regular food since it's low but already quite late in the cycle. Now the question is how much she will shoot up in the four hours before the next shot!

Enjoy the weekend, everyone.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya AMPS=427 +3=297 +8=45

Wow that's some drama on Papaya's ss....

Congrats on the reduction. ( unless the higher ups say otherwise)


drama_cat.jpg
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya AMPS=427 +3=297 +8=45

Hi Rhiannon, yup Papaya is a bit of a drama queen - or is that a trampoline queen.

I use the "between 40 and 50 on three separate days" strategy for reductions with Papaya, as she is very bouncy and does not have a history of holding reductions well. This is working fairly well for her since she has been working her way down in dose. This is #1 of the three, so I will want to see between 40 and 50 again on two separate days before reducing. But it's a step in the right direction!

EDITED TO ADD: this approach also calls for a decrease if BG drops below 40 once, which was how she got the last reduction
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya AMPS=427 +3=297 +8=45

HI Amy, thanks for the visit. Wow, 45 at +8....that is a weird spot for green...must be clearing that bounce. I always neglect testing after +6 so this is a good reminder for me to do so occasionally. Well, I hope Papaya gives you a blue preshot. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya AMPS=427 +3=297 +8=45

Hi Melissa! That is actually why I thought "hey, maybe I should get a later test today" as sometimes when I've found that she just seems high all the time, she's actually going really low around +8 and then shooting right back up. This seems to happen more when I take her on holidays to my family's place so maybe stress is somehow to blame, but we're home and in normal routine now so maybe it is just clearing the bounce at this point.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya AMPS=427 +3=297 +8=45

1014229_561758833888304_1609093899_n.jpg


Need I say more?

I think you are spot on about it being a bounce clearing cycle. I think many tend to be a bit more "dramatic" as they clear bounces. Great catch!!! Now surf a little higher, Papaya!!
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya AMPS=427 +3=297 +8=45

Thanks for the award, Marje . . . I think :lol: The problem with Papaya is she is ALWAYS either having a bounce or clearing one! I look back at her spreadsheet and sometimes wonder whether she's legitimately working her way down in dose or whether she should have been on this or lower all along. It's reaaaaaaly hard to tell with all the bounces. I guess there is progress since she . . . usually, sort of? . . . spends more time in blues and greens. Except for when she's in black, red and pink :roll:

EDITED TO ADD: PMPS 69? [squints at meter in disbelief]
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya AMPS=427+8=45 PMPS=69 +1=120

That's what I thought too, Melissa! Forget blue preshot, goodness. +1 at least isn't still dropping - I'm thinking it is just from the preshot meal hitting before onset, but it's going to take a couple more hours before I know whether this is the start of another :evil: bounce or whether she's actually going to surf. With Papaya a number like this could very easily go in either direction!
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51

With a +3 of 51, the direction decided upon has been DOWN. I gave her a small serving of HC because she's already got a number in the 40s to her name for today and this is early in the cycle yet.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51

Yup....no need to let her go into the 40s and it is early.

I'd give you some BOS but you shot a 52 in June!!
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51

But I never got an award for that :cry: [ahem, no doubt because I don't think I posted a single time in June . . . anyhoo]

Ha ha . . . actually Papaya's very lively liver gives me extra confidence.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51

Hi Amy,
Good catch and good shooting today!
I hope Papaya will surf safely.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51

There is truly never a dull moment with Papaya.
I think her new quilt has given her extra moxy.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51

Top'o'the evening to you all, Mariko, Donaleen, Lara and Melissa! +4 is 43 despite the HC at +3 so she got more HC. Actually it was about 10 minutes shy of +4 because she'd gone from snoring beside me to sitting up looking at me and seeming a bit restless so I figured she was dropping again. Now she's licking her lips and settling in for another catnap . . . gravy, life is good!

Donaleen, you make me want to photoshop a photo of Papaya into a roller coaster chair. That is SO her :lol:
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43

43, holy guacamole.
So with Papaya, do you reduce after this, or do you approach this differently with her?
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43

With Papaya, since she has a history of not holding reductions well and shall we say . . . sort of wonky numbers, I wait for three separate days with BG between 40 and 50. Since it's separate DAYS not cycles, she already has today counting towards that 3 because of the low +8 BG in the morning cycle. That's why I immediately went for HC at +3 when it was clear she was going down - another cycle between 40 and 50 doesn't change anything right now, so I don't need to hold off and see if that's where she's really going.

HOWEVER the exception is that if she goes under 40 once, she gets the reduction even if it's the first time she's gone that low on that dose. That's how she got the last reduction, actually. I was pretty skeptical whether it would hold and her numbers have still been all over the place, but I don't know if I'm going to keep her over 40 tonight or not. She seems to be on a mission.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43

Yes she is on a mission tonight.

You are so right that when they are ready for a reduction, they let you know. One thing to consider, there are times when you are working the cycle hard by feeding to keep them above 40 (for a long term diabetic). Remember if you are having to do that, you might want to consider reducing even if they've only gone between 40-50 twice. The depot is a powerful thing and you don't want it to get ahead of you.

Remember this: Reductions
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43

I just got sea sick on that down hill... wild ride. Ooooooooh. That green smiley thing looks like a sea sick grimace to me. Just what I'd look like on the way down.

Ozy is up and I am wondering if his reduction has failed.... not sure what a failed reduction is, though.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43 +5=55

Thanks Marje, I fully get what you're saying about respecting the depot. She's been at this dose for 15 cycles now, and I've seen green on about an even half of them . . . with some vicious bounces in between. So it's at the point where if she wants a reduction I wouldn't oppose it, but it could go either way. I think she's getting close to wanting one, but maybe not quite there yet? +5 is 55 so we may be surfing for a bit now. I think I'm going to give a bit of MC rather than the HC now that she is in the 50s, does that make sense?
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43 +5=55

Donaleen, I hear you on the roller coaster :lol: I used to enjoy them but seriously I think I'm too old now!!

With Papaya since she is so bouncy I really have to remember to look at the nadirs rather than the ghastly preshots. If I take a reduction and the nadirs get higher every cycle then I consider it has failed and go back up. I also look at how she is feeling - is she thirsty or peeing more again, is she lying around just looking like she's not feeling well? That helps tell me that she's not getting enough insulin from a reduction.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43 +5=55

Ooh, I am putting that under my rock (there is a Kurt Vonnegut book where the guy puts things he doesn't want to forget under a rock). Thanks.
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43 +5=55 +6.5=61

I waited until +6.5 for this test since by the time I fed after the +5 it was really about +5.25. BG is up a little to 61, so I am going to hold off on feeding her until +7 and then just do a bit of her regular LC since she seems to be surfing pretty nicely. I don't want her to drop later in the cycle so I think a bedtime snack should do the trick . . . although she already thinks it's past bedtime and is sleeping very soundly next to me!
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +1=120 +3=51 +4=43 +5=55 +6.5=61

Looking good, and I like your strategy.
I'm going to try the same!
 
Re: 9/14 Papaya PMPS=69 +3=51 +4=43 +5=55 +6.5=61 +7=90

So I held off any food until I got a +7.5, since when I went out to the kitchen for tea in the interim Papaya did not do her "someone's in the kitchen, I'd better sit up and be ready for the food that's coming" but just watched me come and go without moving more than her eyes. I did give her a teaspoon of LC after the +7. Even though she's coming up on her own now, she seems to often have better preshots if she has a little in the tank overnight, as if her body gets annoyed no food is coming in and takes matters into its own hands if she doesn't get a small bedtimes snack. In any case she's had a nice run of greens tonight which I'm sure was very good for her.

She has now used the LB, been brushed, and is tucked in with the purple quilt, where I'd better soon join her before I lose the ability to spell. Good night and thanks to everyone who visited today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top