Durielle
Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105051
Durie has not had another bad episode of constipation again. I'm in Canada, so there is no Miralax sold here.The closest product I can find is this one http://laxaday.com/ but I don't know if that's the same formula.
She's doing well, her current insulin dose is tiny and sometimes she's up but other times she dips low (77 at AMPS Sep 30, no shot). So it's hard for me to risk her health by upping the dose.
I have been advised in a previous thread to test her daily at +5,+6, or +7. I have more strips now thanks to DCIN, so I will test her 3 to 4 times daily to see what the insulin is doing.
Otherwise, there is news on a possible placement for Durie. The folks at HART in Maine have offered her a spot in their diabetic room. http://www.hartofme.com/
It seems like a great placement option, especially considering that in the year I've fostered Durie no one's seriously come forward to offer a new home.
The only concern may be around the travel. I believe Durie is tough enough for a trip from Toronto to Maine (by plane, involving a ground trip from Toronto to Rochester/Buffalo, then a 2-day stay while waiting for travel clearance, then a quick plane to Portland, and a small ride from there to HART).
Does anyone have knowledge of HART, and can you tell me any info about them? They are recommended by DCIN, but I've been encouraged to do my own 'reference' checking.
Also, does anyone have experience with rehoming diabetic kitties? The two main options are cargo air travel, and the other is for me to drive her there (10-12 hrs ride... not ideal for me, but if it's best for Durie I would do it).
Thank you for reading this long post, and for any advice/suggestions.
Durie has not had another bad episode of constipation again. I'm in Canada, so there is no Miralax sold here.The closest product I can find is this one http://laxaday.com/ but I don't know if that's the same formula.
She's doing well, her current insulin dose is tiny and sometimes she's up but other times she dips low (77 at AMPS Sep 30, no shot). So it's hard for me to risk her health by upping the dose.
I have been advised in a previous thread to test her daily at +5,+6, or +7. I have more strips now thanks to DCIN, so I will test her 3 to 4 times daily to see what the insulin is doing.
Otherwise, there is news on a possible placement for Durie. The folks at HART in Maine have offered her a spot in their diabetic room. http://www.hartofme.com/
It seems like a great placement option, especially considering that in the year I've fostered Durie no one's seriously come forward to offer a new home.
The only concern may be around the travel. I believe Durie is tough enough for a trip from Toronto to Maine (by plane, involving a ground trip from Toronto to Rochester/Buffalo, then a 2-day stay while waiting for travel clearance, then a quick plane to Portland, and a small ride from there to HART).
Does anyone have knowledge of HART, and can you tell me any info about them? They are recommended by DCIN, but I've been encouraged to do my own 'reference' checking.
Also, does anyone have experience with rehoming diabetic kitties? The two main options are cargo air travel, and the other is for me to drive her there (10-12 hrs ride... not ideal for me, but if it's best for Durie I would do it).
Thank you for reading this long post, and for any advice/suggestions.