10/03 Durielle AMPS 137

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105051

Durie has not had another bad episode of constipation again. I'm in Canada, so there is no Miralax sold here.The closest product I can find is this one http://laxaday.com/ but I don't know if that's the same formula.

She's doing well, her current insulin dose is tiny and sometimes she's up but other times she dips low (77 at AMPS Sep 30, no shot). So it's hard for me to risk her health by upping the dose.

I have been advised in a previous thread to test her daily at +5,+6, or +7. I have more strips now thanks to DCIN, so I will test her 3 to 4 times daily to see what the insulin is doing.

Otherwise, there is news on a possible placement for Durie. The folks at HART in Maine have offered her a spot in their diabetic room. http://www.hartofme.com/

It seems like a great placement option, especially considering that in the year I've fostered Durie no one's seriously come forward to offer a new home.

The only concern may be around the travel. I believe Durie is tough enough for a trip from Toronto to Maine (by plane, involving a ground trip from Toronto to Rochester/Buffalo, then a 2-day stay while waiting for travel clearance, then a quick plane to Portland, and a small ride from there to HART).

Does anyone have knowledge of HART, and can you tell me any info about them? They are recommended by DCIN, but I've been encouraged to do my own 'reference' checking.

Also, does anyone have experience with rehoming diabetic kitties? The two main options are cargo air travel, and the other is for me to drive her there (10-12 hrs ride... not ideal for me, but if it's best for Durie I would do it).

Thank you for reading this long post, and for any advice/suggestions.
 
Glad she is feeling better. :smile:

As for Miralax (Polyethylene Glycol 3350) the Canadian equivalent is RestoraLAX.

Lax-A-Day® looks to also be Polyethylene Glycol 3350, so you should be able to get whichever is cheaper. I get a generic equivalent of Miralax which is rather inexpensive. Look for Polyethylene Glycol 3350 as the ingredient.
 
I would start with the 1/8 teaspoon and see how it goes.

Found this in another condo....
Some people here use Restoralax (called Mirilax in the US) for constipation, available in most pharmacy shelves. Add 1/8 tsp to water and mix into food. It draws water into the poops, so you want to make sure she's getting lots of water. You might have to play around with the quantities a bit. Some use 1/4 tsp and dial it down if that's too much. It also might be a question for your vet.
 
i can't help with the questions about transporting or rehoming a diabetic cat. hopefully someone else can. you might add the ? to your post or edit the subject line to reflect your question. hopefully that will get the right people seeing it.

i am wondering, though, now that you're getting some more strips and can get mid-cycle tests, have you considered shooting some of those less-than-100 preshot numbers? cats tend to have a flattening of the cycle when you shoot those lower numbers. you do want to be checking the mid-cycle to make sure they're safe, of course. it's up to your comfort level, but for many cats, this is the path to going OTJ.

take a peek at Tootoo's SS)

if you have questions, just ask.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top