10/3 Bob AMPS=249 feelin' a little blue today...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL!

Bob seems to be acting well, but his urine output is pretty large. I know his numbers are still pretty high, but they always have been and really the only time I saw it consistently large was when he was first diagnosed. Does anyone know what that means? He seems to be eating and drinking as usual and he's been playful and "relatively" normal (for diabetic Bob). I'm just very sad because I was looking at him last night and he's just not the same cat. He's thin (compared to what he once was) and his coat doesn't look good and he's just not the same. It breaks my heart. He's too young to look so sickly - he's only 9. And, of course, he's acting ok, but not like he used to. He did cough a little bit at 4:50 this am. Weird it seems to happen at the same time.

I'm going to increase his insulin to 3 units tonight. I had him on 2.5 while I was gone to Texas. However, before that, he was on 2.75 for over a week. maybe he just needs more insulin with the dry food. It still makes me nervous because he still goes low (for him) every 3 days.

Well, I'm going to focus on the positive. I could have lost Bob a long time ago to something else and he's still kicking! I appreciate this board because I know you all understand. I'm praying for us all.

Hope everyone has a great day. Happy Fursday! dancing_cat
 
The early morning coughing just reminds me of J.D. when he doesn't eat over night, he'll throw up bile at 5:00am. Sometimes nothing comes out. Often, I never find it because it's clear and or seems to disappear if I don't get up and see where he did it.

Sending feel better vines to Bob. Give him some skitches from J.D. and Ginger and I.
 
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: We know how hard you have worked to get Bob down and eating wet food, don't give up . It just takes time. Is there any way you can get some mid cycle tests in? You really need to see how low he goes at nadir. It might brighten the picture up for you.

Looking thin is probably good, too many of us are used to seeing overweight cats as normal. His coat will get better as you get the numbers more under control too. Brushing might help too, if he likes it. I can actually use brushing as a reward for Tess she loves it so much. Good luck on the increase.
 
Hi Dara,

I hope that Bob starts to act more like his old self - always so worrying when they act different. Cleo also loves being brushed. Hearing the drawer that holds her "beauty products" open can make her come out for me sometimes.


Bob is a young guy! Now that his mum is home, hopefully he will pick up. Does he eat during the night? If Cleo has no food during night, she is like JD, and will cough/throw up clear spit. Her tummy doesn't like being empty. I always leave a least fav food at night. Then I know none of the cats will scarf it up! :lol:

Jane
 
Thanks for the encouragement guys!

I'm pretty sure Bob eats his wet food all night long. They eat the wellness turkey (with lots of water) all night long. There is usually a couple of TBS of wellness left in the morning. I'm pretty sure he's eating and drinking during the night.

I will brush Bob more - I bought one of those crazy furminators but maybe I'll get something softer that he will like more. ;-)
 
Dara, you're doing everything you can to help make Bob healthier. I think some nadir tests is a good idea and will help you see how well he is doing. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top