10/5 Julia AMPS 146, +2.5/38, +3/57 Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last Post

Happy Caturday LL!

Julia is doing great! She's up and talking each morning and misses Dad terribly as he's in the hospital (but will be fine). He's her sleeping buddy and she is always next to him. She's even been sleeping in his hospital bed while he's gone. When we left off on our last condo we were going to increase the dose but we had some interesting events happen. Julia had been having runny poo's for a bit and we finally figured out it was the Fancy Feast appetizers. She ate better at each meal if she had some FF appetizer mixed in but we couldn't figure out what was with the liquipoo until we ran out of the appetizers. It was an easy fix and the poo patrol would now be proud. :lol: Meanwhile I noticed that once we stopped the appetizers Julia started going into the 50's on S0.5 when she hadn't done it before. She earned a reduction with a 48 on Thursday but I may have had an extra drop of insulin in there (trying to measure the 0.25) on Thursday night. She has been officially on 0.25 yesterday and today.

Today
+12/157
AMPS @ +12.5/146 Shot 0.25
+2.25/68
+2.5/38 She told me she was low just like the last time she hit the 30's. No other symptoms.
+3/57

I hadn't had time to get on here to ask when she earned the last reduction from the S0.5 so, when I went down to 0.25 it wasn't down a full 0.25. What should I be shooting now? Any recommendations? Another reduction? I don't know if this 38 is still leftover depot or new dose. Either way I'm so glad we stopped giving her the appetizers as we've seen her numbers improving a great deal. I hadn't considered that the FF appetizers (chicken only) could affect her numbers that much but now we know. Sending healing vines and prayers to all in need.
 
I don't think this is just an overly full depot. I would suggest dropping the dose to a fat 0.1u. The pre-shot numbers are still a little high. You might also try giving Julia a snack at +8 or +9 to see if it pulls the pre-shot numbers down.
 
I think you can take it down another drop to a S0.25. Let's see what others have to say. The 38 was pretty early in the cycle, so please keep feeding her and keep testing for a while.
 
Thanks ladies! We're hanging out at 102 at +4.25. We have to run out but I'll give it about another hour. She hasn't eaten since the 57 @ +3 (had more HC/20%) so if she can hold the numbers without food I think we're good. We'll be at +5.25 by that point.

This is a silly question but is there a difference between fat 0.1 and a skinny 0.25? Dosing insulin like this is harder than any eye chart I've ever had to read and I've had 3 eye surgeries. :lol: I'll have to go look at the dosing pictures again.

And we'll definitely try feeding at +8 or +9 to see what her preshot numbers do. Great idea!

Thank you for the help!
 
Elizabeth - What a great problem to have!

I would love to get Rex down to 0.25 - Congratulations!
Also, great discover about the the appetizers
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top