10/8 Hoot AMPS 273, +3.5/180 Syringe and dose ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
10/6 Condo

10/6 Recap: (Didn't do a 10/7 condo)
AMPS - 272
+3 - 245
+6 - 191
PMPS - 229
+2.5 - 179
+4 - 170
+6 - 185

10/7 Recap:
PMPS - 218
+3 - 165
+5 - 149
+7 - 224
PMPS - 229
+2.5 - 178 (couldn't get anymore readings due to meter errors :-x :-x :-x )

Morning LL ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)
I would say Good Morning......but not so far :-x
STUPID FRUSTRATING METER :-x :-x :-x
Hoot is doing good, but just as frustated as his Mama Bean :-x Appy good and all 5 P's are good tho. I'm always thankful he is sooooo forgiving. cat_pet_icon
There should be an Attitude scale like Good, Bad and Dangerous nailbite_smile Because we are approaching Dangerous around here :roll: :lol:
I called Relion to see when the new meter would get here and they said tomorrow :roll: So I will be going to Walmart to get a new one today!
Always good to have an extra ;-) After the fact :roll: :roll:
Anyway, I missed doing a condo yesterday, just one of those days ;-) His Bg's are running a bit high which is actually good timing with all the meter issues we're having.
I am also trying to figure out when I will switch his syringes from Relion to Terumo. I have 3 Relions left so that will take me to Thursday morning which I will be home all day for the next couple of days. I also need to do a dosecrease sometime too. Any suggestions when and how I should do all this??
Thanks for letting me vent this morning :lol: I'm feeling better :smile:
Thanks for the visits on Monday:-D
Sending ♥vines♥ to all in need today :YMHUG:
Have a great day LL :YMPEACE:
 
Hi guys .. wow, bummer on the meter errors! It looks like a nice drop for hoot this morning .. hopefully he just cruises along .. have a great day guys!
 
Sorry to hear about your meter trouble. Hope you and Hoot have a great day!
BTW, I really love Hoot's photo. It's one of my favorite photos on the site. :-D
 
Sorry to hear about your meter trouble. Hope you and Hoot have a great day!
BTW, I really love Hoot's photo. It's one of my favorite photos on the site. :-D
 
Bummer on the meter! But, you can always return the replacement meter to the store unopened! Tell them the new one had arrived when you got home and you don't need 2. ;-) A backup is good though, now you know why.

Good luck w/ the Terumos. Do you have calipers and a good magnifier? They help a lot. Marje did a great condo on using calipers. Terumos are really hair triggered and take some getting used to. (Try to find a "good" Terumo where the 0 line matches up w/ the end of the barrel.) Draw up a full unit and see what reading you get on the caliper. Here's what I got and have base my dosing on that, since the lines can really be all over the place. Once you get what you think is an accurate unit then half, quarter and even eighth units are merely dividing the mm in one unit.
Caliper mm = Units
1.500mm = 1.00U
1.125mm = 0.75U
1.05mm = 0.70U
0.90mm = 0.60U
0.75mm = 0.50U
0.60mm = 0.40U
0.525mm = 0.35U
0.45mm = 0.30U
0.375mm = 0.25U
0.30mm = 0.20U
0.225mm = 0.15U
0.15mm = 0.10U

Keep a couple old Relions and draw up your dose w/ colored water. Make a drop on a hard surface (a smooth ruler is great as you can actually measure the drop size) and compare the size drop you get from the Terumo according to the caliper. You'll need to play around w/ this, I found what I was seeing as .25U on Monoject syringes actually read as .5U w/ the Terumo/caliper. I just indicated the change on Tess's SS when I switched (mid January this year, before that I was counting drops, the caliper is much easier!)

BTW, be sure to turn off the caliper! The batteries are hard to find. If you are shooting the same dose you don't even need to turn it on once you have the dose locked in. You only need to use the digital display when you are adjusting the dose. Oh, and I usually have to set the display a couple of hundredths over what i need, as it shifts a little when you lock it down.
 
Oh, Pam, I feel for you!! I am using old Relions waiting on my Terumos. I have been experimenting to make sure I am keeping a constant dose and it is frustrating :-x How frustrating with the strips....I first had a 54 reading this am, then a few minutes later a 200 something!

Work your juice Hoot!! Did you hear your momma mention a dosecrease?!? :-D :-D

I love Ann's explanation on drops and calipers!! :-D I printed it out and will experiment more tonight~

Hope the rest of your day went much better!

Jane
 
How frustrating with the meter errors. I hope the new one works better. Good luck with the switch to new syringes.
 
the meter issue sounds really aggravating! hoping you got one today and one arrives in the mail tomorrow.

your subject line is asking about dose . . . but i'm not seeing a question. i looked at Hoot's ss - you have nadirs in the 60's three days ago, you're pretty close to a good dose. i think, however, if you've got questions on your meter and syringes being accurate, i might wait to get those straightened out before changing the dose. it's not a great idea to have too many things in flux at the same time.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

this'll bump you up - perhaps others will have thoughts as well.
 
I read back through several days to try and catch up on the meter problem. I hope you get it ironed out.

Ann gave you the info I was going to post for you on doses using the Terumo syringes and calipers.

When I switched from MJs to Terumos, I tried, at first, to compare drops but it was difficult. I ended up borrowing a micropippetor so when I did switch, I didn't have to adjust my doses.

I agree with Julie that I'd deal with one thing at a time. If you change too many things at once, you won't know which thing was the one that brought numbers down.
 
Pam & Hoot said:
10/6 Condo
I also need to do a dosecrease sometime too. Any suggestions when and how I should do all this??
Thanks for letting me vent this morning :lol: I'm feeling better :smile:
Thanks for the visits on Monday:-D
Sending ♥vines♥ to all in need today :YMHUG:
Have a great day LL :YMPEACE:

the bold part is what i was seeing, ann.

good luck with the new meters/syringes! let's hope they're all accurate!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top