11/4 Hershey - Pls double-check my thinking

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
11/2 Hershey

HAPPY MONDAY!

Most is well here (all P's in place), but Hershey's numbers continue to perplex me. Hershey is even eating the new can of Wellness Beef & Chicken. I don't know if this can is any different from the can he snubbed, but I'm glad he's eating it, since it's all I have in the house right now. :roll:

QUICK CATCH-UP: You may recall he got the reduction to .4u (10/26 PM), dropped below (50) a couple of times and was harder to get up/stay up, so got the shave to .3u (10/29 AM). He dropped below (50) twice and got a shave to .25u (10/31 AM), which totaled a .25u reduction from the .5u he had been on. We've had varying shot times throughout this, too, making it more of a challenge to try to figure out what's going on.

In 6 unimpressive cycles at .25u, he only saw a little green (86 in the 5th cycle). His shot time had gotten so far off that yesterday, 11/3, his AM shot had to be delayed until we could get home from church at noon. Last night, he saw green (63). (scratching my head big time)

He doesn't like having his shot time moved, but we're going to have to do a lot of moving to get him back close to regular schedule by Sunday. On Saturday, we had thought about increasing his dose but decided it could be unwise to increase AND be moving shot time, so now thinking we might should give the .25u another week.

QUESTION: Been second-guessing myself all day. His numbers could be off because he wants more insulin. Or, they could be off from the appy changes and shot time changes. Or from something else Hershey doesn't want to share with the class. Today, I've been wondering - could his numbers be running high because .25u is too much? If so, and since we're moving shot time all week, would it make sense to decrease to maybe .15u this week while we're moving shot time, to make sure we're not giving him too much, and increase after all of the moving, if necessary?

STORY: Not long after shot time last night...somewhere around midnight this morning - Hershey was playing like crazy with a little blue mouse. He was batting it around and diving on it. You know Hershey doesn't like for people to see him playing, so I sat completely still and made sure he didn't see me watching him. A little while later, I saw a cat tail from under the rocker/recliner -the chair is too low for a kitty to get under. (Some time ago, Oreo crawled under the recliner while it was reclined and got his head stuck in the underside of the chair. Traumatic for us both!) I thought it was Oreo, Joseph came to help get him out and it was HERSHEY! Apparently, he went sliding under there after a toy and got stuck! Glad he was feeling good enough to play, but I can do without the theatrics!

Thanks for visiting us, for double-checking my thinking and for any thoughts you'd like to share!

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (102) +11.5 - Shot .25u at 11:15am + 1/8th tsp Miralax
+2 (186) - fed
+5.5 (257)

PMPS (260) +12 - Shot .25u at 11:15am +1/8th tsp Miralax
+2.17 (252)- fed
 
Re: 11/4 Hershey - Pls double-checking my thinking

hi libby!

the trouble with having lots of factors going on is that it's hard to tell what's causing what.

just looking at his ss, without considering shot time or food, i would keep the dose the same. i don't see evidence of it being too much. what it looks like to me is that he's bouncing a little bit. on 11/12 he got down to the 80's in the afternoon, then bounced from that straight up to the 300's. hovered around highish numbers yesterday and cleared the bounce during the night last night. those were the 60's you caught. well done, btw! nothing like middle-of-the-night checks!

now he's bounced from that and you've got the yellow mid-day today. the happy thing is that he's clearing the bounces fairly quickly.

it looks like it's a pretty good dose - nadirs in the 60's are awesome. so if he were mine, my thinking would be to hold the dose and finish adjusting your time of the shot. the protocol calls for holding doses when you've got nadirs in greens.

that's my 2 cents worth! and no charge. ;-)

eta - i think that i was in my Back to the Future mode when i wrote 11/12. i've closed his ss, but i think it was 11/2. since 11/12 hasn't happened yet. :lol:
 
Re: 11/4 Hershey - Pls double-checking my thinking

I agree with Julie....I think I'd give this dose a chance especially since tonight will just be his tenth cycle.

I'm just wondering if maybe you'd rather just skip a shot and get him back on time. That way you could take any possible Wonkiness, due to changing shot times, out of the equation.

Glad he's ok! Wow...scary!!!

Super to hear from you all and hope you're all doing well.
 
Re: 11/4 Hershey - Pls double-checking my thinking


These bouncy kitties are going to make their beans pull all their hair out. ;-)
 

Attachments

  • bounce-cat.jpg
    bounce-cat.jpg
    63.3 KB · Views: 179
Re: 11/4 Hershey - Pls double-checking my thinking

julie & punkin (ga) said:
the trouble with having lots of factors going on is that it's hard to tell what's causing what.

- Hey, Julie - Thanks for coming over. You're absolutely right about lots of factors. It muddies the waters and leads me to extra second-guessing. Thanks for putting fresh eyes on it. And, thanks for not charging for your $.02 worth. ;-)

- Hey, Marje - Good to see you. I'm always hesitant to skip a shot because it takes him so long to recover from it. Of course, he doesn't like moving his shot time at all... :roll:

- Hey, Anne - Thanks for stopping by and for the kitty meme :smile:


PMPS (260) +12 - Shot .25u at 11:15am +1/8th tsp Miralax
+2.17 (252)- fed
 
Re: 11/4 Hershey - Pls double-checking my thinking

Hi Libby - it's great to hear from you. I'm with the others. I'd hold the dose, at least until the other factors are eliminated, and you can truly see what is going on. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/4 Hershey - Pls double-checking my thinking

A little while later, I saw a cat tail from under the rocker/recliner -the chair is too low for a kitty to get under. (Some time ago, Oreo crawled under the recliner while it was reclined and got his head stuck in the underside of the chair. Traumatic for us both!) I thought it was Oreo, Joseph came to help get him out and it was HERSHEY! Apparently, he went sliding under there after a toy and got stuck! Glad he was feeling good enough to play, but I can do without the theatrics!
Hi Libby, oh my with Oreo getting stuck and also Hershey under the recliner. Yes, nice to see Hershey play but without the theatrics. I have a recliner, and once my GA Mikey also got stuck. I keep the footstool up now with Katie's gymnastics. :lol:
Sounds like you have some good advice on Hershey's dose. Hope he does well on this dose.
Thanks for stopping by to meet Katie and for showing her off to Jessica. :-D Huga from us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top