Doug N Libby
Very Active Member
11/2 Hershey
HAPPY MONDAY!
Most is well here (all P's in place), but Hershey's numbers continue to perplex me. Hershey is even eating the new can of Wellness Beef & Chicken. I don't know if this can is any different from the can he snubbed, but I'm glad he's eating it, since it's all I have in the house right now. :roll:
QUICK CATCH-UP: You may recall he got the reduction to .4u (10/26 PM), dropped below (50) a couple of times and was harder to get up/stay up, so got the shave to .3u (10/29 AM). He dropped below (50) twice and got a shave to .25u (10/31 AM), which totaled a .25u reduction from the .5u he had been on. We've had varying shot times throughout this, too, making it more of a challenge to try to figure out what's going on.
In 6 unimpressive cycles at .25u, he only saw a little green (86 in the 5th cycle). His shot time had gotten so far off that yesterday, 11/3, his AM shot had to be delayed until we could get home from church at noon. Last night, he saw green (63). (scratching my head big time)
He doesn't like having his shot time moved, but we're going to have to do a lot of moving to get him back close to regular schedule by Sunday. On Saturday, we had thought about increasing his dose but decided it could be unwise to increase AND be moving shot time, so now thinking we might should give the .25u another week.
QUESTION: Been second-guessing myself all day. His numbers could be off because he wants more insulin. Or, they could be off from the appy changes and shot time changes. Or from something else Hershey doesn't want to share with the class. Today, I've been wondering - could his numbers be running high because .25u is too much? If so, and since we're moving shot time all week, would it make sense to decrease to maybe .15u this week while we're moving shot time, to make sure we're not giving him too much, and increase after all of the moving, if necessary?
STORY: Not long after shot time last night...somewhere around midnight this morning - Hershey was playing like crazy with a little blue mouse. He was batting it around and diving on it. You know Hershey doesn't like for people to see him playing, so I sat completely still and made sure he didn't see me watching him. A little while later, I saw a cat tail from under the rocker/recliner -the chair is too low for a kitty to get under. (Some time ago, Oreo crawled under the recliner while it was reclined and got his head stuck in the underside of the chair. Traumatic for us both!) I thought it was Oreo, Joseph came to help get him out and it was HERSHEY! Apparently, he went sliding under there after a toy and got stuck! Glad he was feeling good enough to play, but I can do without the theatrics!
Thanks for visiting us, for double-checking my thinking and for any thoughts you'd like to share!
Have a great night -
Libby (& Hershey, too!)
AMPS (102) +11.5 - Shot .25u at 11:15am + 1/8th tsp Miralax
+2 (186) - fed
+5.5 (257)
PMPS (260) +12 - Shot .25u at 11:15am +1/8th tsp Miralax
+2.17 (252)- fed
HAPPY MONDAY!
Most is well here (all P's in place), but Hershey's numbers continue to perplex me. Hershey is even eating the new can of Wellness Beef & Chicken. I don't know if this can is any different from the can he snubbed, but I'm glad he's eating it, since it's all I have in the house right now. :roll:
QUICK CATCH-UP: You may recall he got the reduction to .4u (10/26 PM), dropped below (50) a couple of times and was harder to get up/stay up, so got the shave to .3u (10/29 AM). He dropped below (50) twice and got a shave to .25u (10/31 AM), which totaled a .25u reduction from the .5u he had been on. We've had varying shot times throughout this, too, making it more of a challenge to try to figure out what's going on.
In 6 unimpressive cycles at .25u, he only saw a little green (86 in the 5th cycle). His shot time had gotten so far off that yesterday, 11/3, his AM shot had to be delayed until we could get home from church at noon. Last night, he saw green (63). (scratching my head big time)
He doesn't like having his shot time moved, but we're going to have to do a lot of moving to get him back close to regular schedule by Sunday. On Saturday, we had thought about increasing his dose but decided it could be unwise to increase AND be moving shot time, so now thinking we might should give the .25u another week.
QUESTION: Been second-guessing myself all day. His numbers could be off because he wants more insulin. Or, they could be off from the appy changes and shot time changes. Or from something else Hershey doesn't want to share with the class. Today, I've been wondering - could his numbers be running high because .25u is too much? If so, and since we're moving shot time all week, would it make sense to decrease to maybe .15u this week while we're moving shot time, to make sure we're not giving him too much, and increase after all of the moving, if necessary?
STORY: Not long after shot time last night...somewhere around midnight this morning - Hershey was playing like crazy with a little blue mouse. He was batting it around and diving on it. You know Hershey doesn't like for people to see him playing, so I sat completely still and made sure he didn't see me watching him. A little while later, I saw a cat tail from under the rocker/recliner -the chair is too low for a kitty to get under. (Some time ago, Oreo crawled under the recliner while it was reclined and got his head stuck in the underside of the chair. Traumatic for us both!) I thought it was Oreo, Joseph came to help get him out and it was HERSHEY! Apparently, he went sliding under there after a toy and got stuck! Glad he was feeling good enough to play, but I can do without the theatrics!
Thanks for visiting us, for double-checking my thinking and for any thoughts you'd like to share!
Have a great night -
Libby (& Hershey, too!)
AMPS (102) +11.5 - Shot .25u at 11:15am + 1/8th tsp Miralax
+2 (186) - fed
+5.5 (257)
PMPS (260) +12 - Shot .25u at 11:15am +1/8th tsp Miralax
+2.17 (252)- fed