11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 PMPS/359 - thanks for the great advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Good Morning LL! ~O) ~O)

Tigger's 10/29 condo
It's been a long time since we've posted, things are crazy here (as usual), but everyone's fine. I hope everyone's well on LL, we've missed you!

The kids are moving out today & into a rental in town, for the last 2-3 months until their house is finished & the baby's born. It's bittersweet for everyone, but DD is having a little trouble & needs to be closer to the hospital just in case, plus we old codgers don't have as much tolerance of a very verbally exuberant 4 y/o indoors - esp. Papa who's never been around little ones before! :lol: :lol: :lol:

This is good news for Tigger who's spent much of the last 4.5 months under the bed in our room, unless DGS is asleep or out of the house. They moved in several days before we started Lantus, so we're hopeful the stress reduction may help Tigger's healing process.

Tigger's been on 2.25u for 19 cycles now, & I really like that he's getting some good blue time, & will let his body get used to these lower numbers. I had to artificially keep him up earlier this week - had a medical appt & was away for 4 hours, so I fed him HC on the 4th. I'm reluctant to increase, but his PM numbers are still bouncy. I'd prefer to hold this dose & let it play out some more, but thought I should get more experienced input first. I could increase Friday AM.

I hope after the move to have more available time to post - unless DD has more complications with her pregnancy. I'm relieved she'll be 35 minutes closer to a hospital!

Hope everyone in LL has been well - sending vines & hellos out to all!
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

Hi Suzanne! Long time, no see!

Sounds like it's been a busy and stressful time for everyone at your house! Hopefully now that things are a little more settled, Tigger will be able to relax some and it'll show up in his numbers.

Come on Tigger...Work that juice!!
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

I think your instincts are good re. holding the dose. At the very least, I'd be reticent to increase until the bounce clears.

Are you shooting a drop more at AMPS vs. PMPS? If so, Lantus really does best when you shoot the same amount twice a day. If you shoot different amounts, the depot never stabilizes.
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

Thanks, Chris & Sienne,

Soooo nice to hear from you - I've missed you guys!!!

@ Sienne - NO, no dose differentials, same pen, same calibration, same food @ same times in same amounts. The only potential differential is that sometimes I shoot a few minutes later in the PM (never more than 15 minutes, usu. closer to 10). Good question, though - it looks like something's different on the SS.

My assumption was that Tigger's bouncing from the day's lows at night & clearing after the injection.

@ Chris - Stress is almost over - we're moving the kids today & tomorrow. Just heard this Am too DH's family wants to come for Thanksgiving - our house looks like a bomb went off! No rest for the wicked! :lol:
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

I was wondering where you were!
thegreencanwherehaveyoubeen.gif


Glad to hear that things are settling down, it could have an influence on Tigger's bg. I'd hold too, until you see if there was any stress involve in the numbers.
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

sienne is asking that about the dose because your morning dose says 2.27 and your pm dose says 2.25u. probably one of those things where a typo got entered once and then when you hit return it copies it for you! we love technology! :lol:

congrats on the family news!
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

Welcome back!! We missed you all. Glad to hear things are "improving" on the home front....at least in Tigger's eyes :-D

TIgger is getting some nice green nadirs. The thought is, when you get the nadirs you want, hold the dose and see if they will flatten out. I agree that it's wise to let him clear this bounce and see where he lands. If he is in blue again, I might be tempted, at that point, to increase the dose to get the green back.
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581&p=13523#p13523


tigger has been at this dose for 19 cycles... almost double the minimum number of cycles we suggest before increasing the dose when kitty is seeing nadirs under 100. if you're still following the tight regulation protocol, you can increase the dose at any time. there's plenty of wiggle room.

if you happen to increase the dose as the bounce is clearing please monitor closely.



just my thoughts...
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

I was thinking along the same lines as Jill. The protocol allows for an increase if you want to bring his numbers down. Nadirs are green but you have room to increase. Tigger used to get green almost every day, but he is trending away from that. An increase might help him get back to green more consistently. Of course, you'll need to monitor, but it looks like you do that very well. :smile:

Of course if the bounce happens to be clearing at PMPS you'll want to take that into consideration.
 
Re: 11/7 Tigger AMPS/431 maybe dosecrease?

Whew! What a long day! We got everything, including the kids' 3 cats loaded & over & moved into their temporary home. And managed to do some cleaning here! DH is snoring away already! :lol:

Wow, it's great to hear from everyone - I have much good input to mull over. When Tigger clears bounces (often in PMs), he has a tendency to drop like a lead balloon. I think I'll be cautious, make sure the bounce clears before increasing. I can increase pretty much any day except Saturday & Sunday, so maybe Monday if he's not bouncing.

Jill - duh! Thanks for pointing out my typo - of course that's what kept copying into the AMPS! I couldn't understand what Sienne was talking about!

Ann, it was good to hear from you, thanks for stopping by!

Marje, Jill, & Libby - that's all great input, thanks for the direction. It's good for me to hear this - I get stuck thinking Tigger needs to level out to get better, & I tend to want to hold a blue dose rather than go too green & risk failed reductions. Historically, 2.25 u. has been Tigger's tipping point, but since we've increased the LC% to 5% at every meal, he may be able to go higher, as Marje's suggested before.

Hopefully I'll have more time tomorrow to get caught up with the rest of LL - have missed you guys! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top