11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107, +3 120 (AlphaTrak)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonetsMom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107955

Good Morning everyone...

Monet's favorite number must be 125 ... Got that BG reading again this morning. Continued with his baby shot of .10 of a unit.

:?: Question for you experts: after sharing Monet's SS with Vet on Monday, he sent me an email saying he wants to see how Monet does off the insulin. I had rather that decision be made by the advise of you guys....you have not lead me wrong yet!
In fact you are the only reason Monet is where he is today with his progress!

We started Monet on the .10 dosage on Nov. 6 with the PM shot and have continued that dosage twice per day. Prior to that his last shot was on Nov. 1 (AM shot) at .25 of a unit at which time we were only giving Monet the .25 when his BG was elevated because we were waiting to receive the syringes with the 1/2 markings so we lower the dosage to .10
I know some of you mentioned last week that he might be close to doing an OTJ trial so I wanted advise from you on when / if you thought Monet was getting close ??? I definitely do not want to rush anything, just wanted to know what to communicate to the Vet as far as what my plans were with the time frame for doing an OTJ Trial run.

Thanks in advance for any advise you can offer in regards to the above :smile:

Hope you all have a terrific day and all sweet kitties get good numbers !
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

I'm not an expert, but I don't think you have enough greens to start a trial just yet. I'm sure someone else will chime in with a more technical explanation. Monet is looking great! Nice work!
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

Hi guys .. no OTJ advice from me either, but wow how exciting! It's probably not far off!! *anti-jinx!* have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

Thanks guys for the info... U both R a lot more expert at this than I am . Definitely do not want to "jinxi" anything ;-)

Based on last weekends testing I think Monet does drop down around the + 3 time (both AM and PM). I really wish I were home during the week so I could test him more (still no luck with the DH testing by himself). I feel Monet is having more Green numbers than what's being reflected on his SS , but I am just not home to capture those . We do feed Monet 4 to 5 mini meals per day but never close to shot time ( at least 3 hrs prior to shot time). Since we figured out he is dropping around the +3 time in both the AM and PM, we definitely do two of his mini meals around those times to prevent dropping too low. Since we test with the AlphaTrak 2,
I know that these readings are perhaps as much as 30 points higher than on the human glucometer that most people on this board seem to use. Wish I had found this board prior to Vet's recommendation of buying the AlphaTrak 2 . The test strips are so expensive grr_red

Any ways...Thanks for the info and your words of encouragement !
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

Hey Rise!!! That boy is looking good and I think your vet is pretty close to right.

From the modified protocol on "Reducing the Dose":

f kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

(The bold is mine).

One more day and Monet will be there, unless of course, he drops below 80 between now and then. So I think I'd let it ride tonight and both cycles tomorrow and if all looks good, start the trial on Thursday morning. What do you think????

If everything looks good tomorrow night (major paws crossed and anti-jinx), we'll give you the OTJ trial instructions. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

See, this is why I'm not an expert - lol! Looks like you're closer than I thought! Fingers, paws and tails crossed Monet holds steady!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Tara

I think you probably forgot she's using an AT. If she was using a human glucometer, I bet most, if not all, of those numbers would be :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

Oh my gosh Marje reading this just gave me chill bumps :smile:

Just seeing those words "OTJ Trial instructions" made me realize how fortunate Monet and I are that we found this board !!!
After seeing over the past week all the precious sweet kitties that did not make it , my heart feels guilty getting excited about Monet's progress. I so wish there was something I could do to help all kitties get better. You and the others on this board with your experience and knowledge are doing something, you are saving kitties every day just as I believe you have done with Monet!!!

I totally agree with any advise you guys give me now. .. . I trust you !
In fact, to make sure he is not dropping below 80 ( on AlphaTrak I'm assuming?) I am thinking I will take Thursday off from work and stay home so I can test more frequently that day . If numbers stay OK , then start the trial on Friday morning. I will actually be home all day on Friday so based on your instructions, I could test any time that day through all weekend.

Sounds like we have a plan.. . Thanks so much for your help !
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

Tara .... U r 2 funny :lol: Definitely keep those Fingers, paws and tails crossed for Monet!
Thanks for the support !
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

Don't EVER feel guilty about Monet's progress!! Yes, it's sad when we lose our kitties, but we also thrill in the success of others. We all really celebrate the lucky ones that are able to go OTJ...even those that haven't been on this adventure as long as others. Each is a reason for joy and give others hope that one day, they too will be one of the lucky OTJ kitties!!

This is how I feel about it...China may never be OTJ..and if she never does, she's still so much healthier and happier than she was, so her quality of life has improved 1000%! She's been a faithful friend to me through many tough times and has been a real comfort to have around during this stressful time with Mom. If she's lucky enough to go OTJ in the future...well WOO HOO!! If not, I don't in any way feel like she's "putting me out" by having to keep track of her numbers, watch what she eats, and keep her as healthy as possible. That's all part of the "contract" I enter with any animal I adopt...To care for them the best I can...Not "if it's convenient"

If Monet goes OTJ, you'll be an inspiration to the other newbies who think they can't do it..They can't home test (their cat will never let them..or will hate them forever). They can't get them to eat wet food (oh yes you can if you have to!)..and look at Monet...OTJ very quickly, and if it can happen to you, it can happen to them!

Monet's doing so great....We love it when any of our kitties go OTJ...and China's looking forward to coming to Monet's party too!! (anti jinx)
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

You mean I missed the ALPHA TRAK 2 in the sig and the (AlphaTrak) in the header? DERP! ohmygod_smile It's amazing Buster is still alive - LOL!! :lol:
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

OK Chris ...enough all ready ... You got some tears out of me just reading your post ;-)
You are one very special person ! in fact, I am just so overwhelmed with all of you guys on LL ...
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING THERE FOR ME AND MONET :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107 (AlphaTrak)

It's great to be one of the lucky ones who make it across the otj finish line.... and every one would love the opportunity.....
but... the part to remember is once a diabetic, always a diabetic....
we are lucky enough to have diet controlled diabetics....
but unless we get even luckier.... we might be back doing the dance again some day in the future.

It is a commitment to our beloved furbabies.
This is the best community you could have for such support.
That's what I remind myself of all the time.
This place is the best!
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107 (AlphaTrak)

Rhiannon I definitely hear what you are saying and it is so true ! I hope one day soon Monet can join the OTJ club.

BTW ...I just watched Shadow's OTJ video... too cute !
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107 (AlphaTrak)

Hi Risé'
I'm keeping my fingers crossed that Monet's numbers will hold and you can start an OTJ trial soon. BTW Monet is a beautiful kitty.

Will
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107 (AlphaTrak)

Hi Will and Clyde ...thanks for the well wishes ...looking @ Clyde's SS he is going to be right behind Monet !
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107 (AlphaTrak)

Oh Rise!!! You just have such a beautiful heart :-D Twice and I are cheering for team Monet and I would be pleased as punch to see him kick the juice :-D
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 (AlphaTrak)

MonetsMom said:
...I am thinking I will take Thursday off from work and stay home so I can test more frequently that day . If numbers stay OK , then start the trial on Friday morning. I will actually be home all day on Friday so based on your instructions, I could test any time that day through all weekend.

Sounds like we have a plan.. .
Hi there! I think that is a fantastic game plan for you & Monet! I wish you all the luck! Paws, Fingers, Hand, Feet, Toes, Eyes and T's crossed!!!!
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107 (AlphaTrak)

Thanks so much Kim and Kat for your kind words and good wishes... It means so much to me :smile:
 
Re: 11/12 Monet AMPS 125 PMPS 107 (AlphaTrak)

I agree, Rise, that you have a VERY beautiful heart and wonderful, positive outlook.

So...you don't want to start the trial on Thursday? Tomorrow would be seven days on this dose in normal numbers. That means he could get his last shot tomorrow night. Sorry if I'm being dense here .......about waiting until Friday to do his trial.
 
Hi Marje ... I was just afraid of rushing things . . . If you think it is OK I would be thrilled to start trial on Thursday instead of Friday! So plan now is one more day of injections and then start his OTJ trial Thursday. Just let me know I need to do beginning on Thursday ;-) I am so excited for Monet. Thanks for all your help !!!!
 
I have to work tomorrow but you should shoot as normal tomorrow unless he drops below 80 in the daytime cycle. If he does, post for help on what to do and to get OTJ instructions.

If all is good tomorrow and he stays above 80, one of us will post the instructions for a trial on your condo tomorrow night. :-D :-D :-D
 
Rise' - how exciting!!! we knew she was close.

Don't be sorry for one single second that Monet is doing so well. my sweet punkin died in May, and i'm still here to volunteer and celebrate all the victories. we are a community and every one of us will cheer Monet on and are hoping beyond hope that she goes off. We're just glad for each kitty that does well. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Marje ... I too have to work tomorrow and will not be able to test after AM test and shot. That was one reason why I was thinking you might want me to wait until Friday to begin OTJ trial. I could take Thursday off from work and be at home so I could test numerous times after the Thursday AM shot. Just let me know what you think would be best ;-)
 
Oh Julie , first of all thanks so much for your well wishes for Monet !

Secondly, I have to apologize to you for not realizing that your sweet Punkin had passed away. I have posted several times to you referring to Punkin as if she were still living. I am so deeply sorry for your loss and for me not knowing. What a jewel you are to still be participating on this board and offering your support and assistance to others!
 
how could you know, rise'? you don't need to apologize. I wasn't offended. on the contrary, i heard your well-wishes and appreciated them. no worries! :YMHUG:

i'm just very excited to see monet doing so well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top