11/13 portia AMPS 225+3 217+7 240 PMPS 208

Status
Not open for further replies.

portiarita

Member Since 2013
Hi Julie,
Yesterday's condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108031

That makes perfect sense. I dint realize the nadir moved around so much. Ill test a +3 and a +6 today and see where she stands. Thank you so much for looking up someone's spreadsheet to help me understand. There's so much to learn. I have another question and I understand that there is probably no right answer but when the cat is on an insulin like lantus, is it normal for there to be such a variation in BG levels? I thought (somewhat naively I suppose) that the goal was to keep them somewhat steady through the day but by looking at other people's SS I see that thats not the case and like Gabby, it can go from 200's to 70s in a single cycle. Is this is how it is for most cats?

I love our snuggle time. She always sleeps near my leg so sometime when its cold Ill put my leg under her and she allows it. Its adorable. When she was healthy (a year ago), she would wake me up every morning by meowing and wanting to snuggle in my neck under the blanket. It was the cutest thing I had ever seen. She doesnt do that anymore (not since her pancreatitis started). But I love her so much, Ill take anything.

Thanks for your help Julie!! Portia sends you many head butts:)

Rita
 
Re: 11/13 portia AMPS 225-questions about cycle

The "ideal" Lantus cycle is flat -- in other words, there really isn't a curve where the nadir is a lot lower than your pre-shot number. There are certainly days when Gabby's cycle is flat (or flatter). Usually, after a cat is diagnoses, you see more variation in the cycle. There are times when the pancreas isn't really working so your kitty is dependent on the insulin you're giving. If the pancreas is healing, it may "sputter" and produce some of it's own insulin so you get more variability. Between finding a good dose and the pancreas stabilizing, the cycle may flatten out. However, there are some cats to get to a flat cycle quickly and some who seem to want to continue to bounce. Every cat is different (ECID).
 
Re: 11/13 portia AMPS 225-questions about cycle

Hi Sienna,
That makes sense. I guess its ust going to take and patience to figure out what's portia's curve is. The other question I had is how important is the timing of the insulin? Meaning, if I get delayed by 30 min will that dramatically affect her BG curve or is that hard to say?

Rita
 
Re: 11/13 portia AMPS 225-questions about cycle

we like to keep on time with a 12 hr schedule as much as possible, but life happens. so just do the best you can.

cats respond differently to time changes - many wouldn't be very affected by a 30 minute delay, but whatever time you shoot, you need to shoot 12 hrs later. we shift the schedules back gradually when we get off-schedule (like 15 or so minutes per cycle). after the point you know your cat well, you might be able to adjust times differently, but as you are starting, working backwards by 15-20 minute increments is a good idea for safety.

i'm glad Sienne saw your question - Gabby is her cat, if you didn't pick up on that. You'll learn a lot by looking at other people's posts and peeking at spreadsheeets. The other new cats right now are Frank and Mary Grace. As people are giving them advice you might learn something that applies to Portia.
 
Re: 11/13 portia AMPS 225-questions about cycle

Hi guys .. This low yellow isn't a bad starting point! Glad you got your questions answered .. and don't worry, those small habits Portia once did, will soon come back :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/13 portia AMPS 225-questions about cycle

Hi Julie,
Thakns for pointing out who's new. Ill keep an eye out.

Peter. I really hope so but she's still a snuggle bug so Im happy about that

Have a great day!!!

Rita
 
Re: 11/13 portia AMPS 225+3 217-questions about cycle

At least with Gabby, I don't worry about being 30 min. early or late for a shot. As you learn more about managing Portia's diabetes, you'll have a sense of how sensitive (or not) she is to the timing of a shot. Some cats are very sensitive and others, not so much. Again, it's an ECID thing.
 
Re: 11/13 portia AMPS 225+3 217-questions about cycle

Hi Sienna,
I hope Portia isnt very sensitive either but I guess we wont know till we do:) She just threw up the poor thing. Not sure why. She has concurrent pancreatitis and has been taking anti nausea meds for so long now. Hasnt thrown up in several months and she just threw up. Hope everything is ok and that this was just some random thing. Its always something right!! Portia just loves to keep me on my toes!

Rita
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top