Low BG HELP Please reply to other thread.11/26 Oiverl

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Oliver's BG at 3:30 was 73 is this something to be concerned about? What should I do if anything? He will get PM shot at 6:30.
Have call into vet earlier and he is going to call me back.
Kelly
 
Re: Low BG HELP

since it has been 9 hours since Oliver's shot, he is most likely on his way up by now. I would feed him a couple tsp. of his regular low carb food and test again in 30 minutes to be sure he is no longer dropping.

I'm working so can't stay around. There should be other folks around to help, but just in case, here is our sticky on Handling Low Numbers.
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Hi Kelly! 73 is not dangerously low, especially considering that it is at +9 (9 hours after the shot). If you take a look at the pattern starting to emerge on your spreadsheet, usually by now his level will start to go up again.

If you saw a drop to 73 very early in the cycle when there are still many hours to go until the lowest point, it would be more cause for concern.

It looks like Oliver may have been sliding down all day from a pretty high AMPS. Another test between now and shot time will help you see whether he's started going back up or still sliding down.

(Good job on the subject line, btw, it caught my eye right away and I'm sure others will be checking in too!)
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Libby and Lucy said:
since it has been 9 hours since Oliver's shot, he is most likely on his way up by now. I would feed him a couple tsp. of his regular low carb food and test again in 30 minutes to be sure he is no longer dropping.
I agree! 73 is not dangerous but a little low-carb snack won't hurt if you think his BG may continue to drop.
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Kelly--

Could you retest Oliver 30 minutes after your last test. I suspect that Libby is right and numbers are heading up but it makes good sense to be sure that Oliver has read the rule book!
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Thanks guys much appreciated and I will recheck and post in a bit. Fed him some wet food so lets hope that will help.
Glad to hear that a 73 is not scary low. Hope he stays lower and away from the 441 AMPS. Could this mean that his depot is filling up faster then most?
Then what?? UGH LOL

Hugs Kelly
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Ok almost time for PMPS his level is at a 73 still that is after 2 Tbs of food a few hours ago.
Vet called went over the last few days of #'s and he stated if its still lower go to 1 unit.... and recheck more often in evening.
Any thoughts or suggestions PLEASE! Thanks
So scared of him going Hypo :(
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Have you shot yet? Oliver certainly is surfing here. I'm not completely sure what to suggest you to do, but since you've never shot nearly this low before, my first inclination is to tell you to skip - safety first.

Do you have lots of test strips on hand? Do you have high carb food and/or karo? If you feel comfortable with shooting a reduced dose and are prepared for testing, you could go that route, too. If you do shoot a reduced dose, you want to start with testing early on - +1 and +2 - to see where things could be heading.

Hopefully some more experienced eyes will come along shortly and weigh in, too....
 
Re: Low BG HELP

If you do give any insulin tonight you will need to monitor BG for a while since this is the lowest you have shot before.
 
Re: Low BG HELP

That's a nice rise for the PMPS, you have a rising number now. He's on his way up, this is lower thant what you are used to but if you have supplies and can stay up it may bet a good time to start shooting lower.

Cutting the dose in half is too big a reduction, technically Oliver hasn't even earned a reduction yet. Unless your vet meant to do it as a one time BCS (Big Chicken S***t Shot), we sometimes do that rather than skipping all together.
 
Re: Low BG HELP

I am bumping this up... This is within his first week of lantus and the dose hasn't had time to build the depot. I am thinking a reduction is required anyway.

Thoughts.
 
Re: Low BG HELP

I agree it might be best to start back at 1 unit since it was never tried. She was on 2 units of Pro Zinc and her vet told her to start at 2 units of Lantus

Considering we don't know if Oliver might have gone really low last night (and the 400 this morning was a bounce) I think the safest route is to fall back and punt (go to 1 unit, hold for 3-5 days and re-evaluate then)
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Sorry, i didn't see in the notes column that you had been on PZI. 1U is more common for starting on Lantus and when switching we often play it safe and start lower than the dose used for the old insulin. It is easier to find the right dose easing up the scale rather than coming down, especially it is better on the beans nerves!
 
Re: Low BG HELP

The bean being me? LOL I am a nervous wreak. It went up to 97 (monitor is 20 pts low) so IDK prayed and went with the 1 unit.
It was so small I felt as if it was a furshot. not sure so it is what it is... I am so frustrated. Oh well I guess live and learn a bit. 1 unit or No unit was my choices right? LOL
He ate well, I will check at bedtime and in the night. See how its going.
I am Ok with starting at 1 unit tomorrow too, I will see what the #'s are in the AM. Post and we can decide.
Thanks for all the advise and info. You guys are great. I am so appreciative and so is my dear Oliver.
Kelly and Oliver
:YMSIGH:
 
Re: Low BG HELP

Remember, we talked about this before Kelly...Your meter is a human meter (which most of us use) so we understand those numbers. Since you're not using an Alpha Trak, there's no need to worry about it.

You're doing fine!..we all go through the crazies on our first lower than expected number!
 
Re: Low BG HELP

good job kelly. you're doing fine.

would you get a +1 (test Oliver's BG one hour after the shot) and post again? edit the subject line of your first post in this thread and put the number in the subject line so people can see it.

what we want to see is a number coming up. this is the kind of situation where you will need to monitor so we can make sure your sweet little buddy stays safe.

do you have karo syrup or cat food with gravy in case you need to give him some carbs to bring up low numbers?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top