12/6 Cobb AMPS 470 +3 498 +5 507 PMPS 467 (no ketones!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Last night's numbers:
PMPS: 507
+2: 417
+4: 357

Well, you can see we had the start of a curve last night instead of staying flat. And then it happened...the thunderstorm struck! And Cobb disappeared into whatever hiding spot I cannot find. :roll:

After the storm passed and about an hour or two before his AMshot, he jumped up on the bed and didn't see upset at all to find the baby. That's a definite behavior improvement. Maybe he's leaving his ornery self behind!

Otherwise, all the Ps are in place. Hope to see some better numbers today or we'll be looking to increase to 3.5u tonight.
 
Re: 12/6 Cobb AMPS 470

Good Morning Suzanne ~O)

Good news on the positive baby bean discovery! And yay to 5P's! I sure hope his numbers start to smarten up for you. :-D
Have a fabulous day!
 
Re: 12/6 Cobb AMPS 470

yes on the increase.

when you get a ketone test can you put it on the ss, either in a cell or in the notes. i don't want to nag you about it, but with his situation it's extra important to make sure he doesn't develop ketones.
 
Re: 12/6 Cobb AMPS 470 +3 498

julie & punkin (ga) said:
yes on the increase.

when you get a ketone test can you put it on the ss, either in a cell or in the notes. i don't want to nag you about it, but with his situation it's extra important to make sure he doesn't develop ketones.

Yes. I will update it. I'm hoping to get one today. Hubby is home to help with the little bean.

Question...with the 20% variance, would you say his numbers have been pretty much the same since I lowered the dose? Did I make the wrong decision to lower it?
 
Re: 12/6 Cobb AMPS 470 +3 498 ???

Hi Suzanne and extra sweet Cobb!!

There are no easy answers to your question, but from looking at your spreadsheet, his numbers on 3 units are comparable to the numbers he was getting at 10 units, so no, I don't think it was a mistake to reduce the dose.

My thoughts are that if he's getting similar numbers on 3 units as he was on 10, his "breakthrough" dose may very well be somewhere in between, but we don't want to go so fast that we miss it. You're already being VERY fast tracked, so just hang in there! Most of us don't increase until at LEAST 6 cycles, and it's much more common to see dosages held for 10-14 cycles

It's good that you're at least starting to see some kind of curve, although not a big one, but not every cat has a perfect curve...matter of fact, most of us don't have a "perfect" curve :-D

Keep up the good work..Hopefully Cobb will respond better soon
 
Re: 12/6 Cobb AMPS 470 +3 498 ???

Chris & China said:
Hi Suzanne and extra sweet Cobb!!

There are no easy answers to your question, but from looking at your spreadsheet, his numbers on 3 units are comparable to the numbers he was getting at 10 units, so no, I don't think it was a mistake to reduce the dose.

My thoughts are that if he's getting similar numbers on 3 units as he was on 10, his "breakthrough" dose may very well be somewhere in between, but we don't want to go so fast that we miss it. You're already being VERY fast tracked, so just hang in there! Most of us don't increase until at LEAST 6 cycles, and it's much more common to see dosages held for 10-14 cycles

It's good that you're at least starting to see some kind of curve, although not a big one, but not every cat has a perfect curve...matter of fact, most of us don't have a "perfect" curve :-D

Keep up the good work..Hopefully Cobb will respond better soon

Thanks Chris! I need some reassurance sometimes when it comes to my fur baby.

I got ketone test strips so hopefully I can get a successful test today.
 
Re: 12/6 Cobb AMPS 470 +3 498 +5 507

try closing him in a room with a litter box with just gravel or dry beans, etc., in it. to me that was easier than stalking punkin.

i like chris' rationale on it - he's not worse. i also wouldn't be surprised if we saw something in between now and 10u that moves him. but if not, then we just plow on. there is a "right" dose out there for him. having had a high dose kitty, i can say that it's not the end of the world. no one wants it, but it is what it is.

you're doing great. feline diabetes can be difficult to manage and we just do the best we can. Cobb knows you love him and i have no doubt you're doing everything possible for him.

don't forget to keep adding water to his food.
 
Re: 12/6 Cobb AMPS 470 +3 498 +5 507 PMPS 467

Well, we stayed in the red today. Boo Cobb.

He's eating well. Lapping up some food as I write. He seems to like the wet food mixed with water - surprisingly so. He's purring just fine. He greets me with purrs for his ear pricks. This evening, he "fought" with my husband -- swatting and play biting. They have a special bond. LOL.

So we've upped the dose to 3.5units. I know I'm being impatient, but I hope we're getting to a dose that works for him.

NEGATIVE for ketones!
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
YAY - you had success! woo-hoo on the ketone test and woo-hoo on it being negative!!

well done!

Thanks! I definitely stalked him and he was like, WTF Mom?! But I got it! Definitely feel better about the dose decrease in that regards.
 
Yippee on no ketones!! Good stalking Suzanne :-D I wonder what goes through their minds when we are trying to catch a pee :lol: :lol: I hope you see a difference with the new dose. Hope you and baby get a decent sleep tonight~
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top