12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (skip),+2 164,+3.5 157,+6 119, +10 143

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday, dipped low & reduction.

Yesterday recap:

AMPS: 75
+3: 49
+3.5: 46
+4: 47
+4.5: 44
+5: 43
+5.5: 47
+6: 43
+6.5: 42
+7: 38
+7.5: 38
+8: 55
+9: 58
+11.75 129 (no appy, cypro & delayed shot)
PMPS: 133 (1 hr late, finger-fed a bit)
+2: 107
+4: 56
+5: 55

Good morning, LL!
Happy Caturday!
Sending vines to Zener, Shadow, and ALL others in need.

Ripley is doing ok this morning.
Perky, appy is so-so, peed inside the LB, not a full poo (tiny one, but not hard).
After an exciting day yesterday (no rest for my DH!), Ripley earned a reduction last night. But due to zero appy we delayed her evening shot by one hour -- her appy suddenly perked up by +3 or so, and by +4 her bowl was licked clean.
Today she's been exhibiting normal, happy behaviors (some talking, a lap-sit, headbutts, PDLB), but she's only had about 1/4 of her typical bfast. She doesn't seem to be feeling off (last night she didn't look good -- sad, sparkleless eyes), just tired and resting. And still drinking more water...

I'll be home today to monitor (ie, hover), except for a couple of errands (one of which is to buy a new part for my non-working computer -- typing from phone is not ideal.. Sorry for lack of visits, but ive been keeping up... Hopefully I'll discover my inner tech-savviness and have a working machine later...)

Anyway, thanks for all of the support and visits yesterday (and all of the kudos for DH).
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +3 48, +4 42, +5 39, dose advise

Today so far:
AMPS: 106
+3: 48
+4: 42 (fed 1t. MC)
+4.5: 40 (fed 1t. higher MC)
+5: 39 (fed 1-2t. MC+ 1/4t. HC)
+5.5: 41 (fed 1t LC + 1/4t. HC)
+6: 45 (no food)

She just got a 1/4-unit dose reduction last night ~ should I continue with her current dose, or reduce again tonight?
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +3 48, +4 42, +5 39, dose advise

Hi Josie ~O) ~O) ~O)

Wish I had some dosing advice for you. I suspect the shed has some influence on what's happening today, and the lack of appy. I'd see how the day goes, re-evaluate as pmps nears. Maybe consider skipping a shot, let the shed drain some, or perhaps a BCS? The no appy would be a concern for me. I hope she will eat better. Good though that she is perky and no outwards signs that things are not well. Maybe it's just one of those appy days....

Wishing you much luck. Eat up little one.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, dose advice

Holy moly! Question: are we seeing the results of her shed being so full and not enough fuds in her belly? If so, how would this be prevented in the future? Amy just went thru a similar thing and this is exactly the kind of fun stuff Twice likes to try :roll:
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, dose advice

Hi, Michelle ~ Thanks for the input ~ I was thinking of skipping tonight to drain the shed a little... we'll see where the rest of the day takes Ripley...

HI, Kim ~ There are several different possible factors (full shed, eating less, infection clearing, storm, loud football on tv... ;-) ) ~ maybe one or a combo of all are affecting her numbers. I was just trying to explain to DH what Trixie went through last week, and trying to compare if this is a similar situation. Kitties.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, dose advice

I agree that numbers today could be from the depot of the last higher dose built up and the lack of eating.
You DH did an excellent job, yesterday :)

I'm sending eating vines to Ripley
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
Let's see how the day plays out before deciding on a dose for tonight.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45

I'm glad Ripley is feeling perkier today. I hope her appy gets better. I think the low numbers are affected by her not eating as much as normal.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45

Great job, Will!!! \M/ \M/ \M/

Someone is on a mission today. I'm so glad she is feeling better and eating. And she has our Ripples Dipples sparkle in her eyes!!!

Hope those numbers start coming up a little more.....I don't like 40s surfs...I know you don't either.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45

Wow...it does look like Ripples has pulled a page from Trix's book! Last weekend, I did several back-to-back BCSs and dose reductions, and Trix was still dropping too much. I finally did skip a shot, even though it was a very shootable number, just to let the shed drain, and that really seems to have help Trix level things off. Of course we'll never really know for sure if it was the skipped shot or if she would have put the brakes on naturally, but for now Flat Cat Trix is back.

I hope her appy has picked up...I'm glad she's being a happy girl todya!
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, +9 84

Well she's coming up :-D I imagine she will be at a 'typical' pmps, prob. btwn 100-140ish...
I'm tending toward skipping tonight and letting the shed drain some ~ I want her to be ok for Monday, when we both are back at work...
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, +9 84

Oh wow, what a mission Ripley is on! I'm glad she's coming up for you. I'm so glad to hear that she has some of her sparkles back and is perkier! :-D Have a great night, and surf safe Ripley :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, +9 84

Holy moly! :shock: Paws crossed Ripley has some happy appy tonight!
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, +9 84

Do you think Ripley has some GI issues? That sounds like Zener's appy, with sudden appearances and disappearances. Sending vines for your girl.
Liz
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley AMPS 106, +4 42, +5 39, +6 45, +9 84

Sending appy vines for Ripley! She sure has been keeping you and DH on your toes! Hoping she starts feeling more like herself again...sparkle eyes and all!
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (skipping shot)

Ok, Miss Ripley...work that shed, settle down, and give the beans safe numbers for the work week!! And, eat up!!!! Have a great night, Josie!!
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (skipping shot)

Hi Josie,
:o Ripley kept you busy again!
I'm sure the skipped shot will settle her down, and I hope you all get a relaxing evening tonight.

I'm glad Ripley is perkier today.
But I know her on/off appy worries you.
Sending eating vines to Ripley.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (skipping shot)

Hi Josie,

Sending appy vines for Miss Ripley. We are always thinking ahead for our kitties when we know we will have to leave them for hours. Hope that the skip helps her to surf at better numbers for you. DH did a great job!
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (no shot), +2 164, dose tomorrow?

Thanks for the visits :)

Her appy is still so-so. She has eaten some food on her own, so that's good :-D .
Her energy level is so low. When walking to the LB she took a couple of breaks and sat down, maybe to rest.

:?: For tomorrow's dose, do I still shoot the new dose (reduced to 1.25 last night)?
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (no shot), +2 164, dose tomorrow?

I think you may need to play this by ear. I'm inclined to suggest you take the reduction but you'll need to see where Ripley's at in the AM.

One thought, though. I think when you're shooting green numbers, you may want to get some earlier tests -- like a +2. There seem to be several occasions when you shoot green numbers, Ripley ends up with numbers in the 50s or lower. If you get the early tests, you can intervene earlier and it won't be such a fight to get her numbers back up.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (no shot), +2 164, dose tomorrow?

Thank you, Sienne. I'll start getting +2s more often (won't be able to on weekday ams, but I definitely can evenings and weekends).
At what range of am #s would I keep her dose the same?
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (no shot), +2 164, +3.5 157, ?

Holding steady in the mid blues ~ but no interest in food.
If still no/low appy tomorrow am, should I lower the dose? (and prob. start syringe feeding)
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (no shot), +2 164, +3.5 157, ?

she doesn't mean to decide on your dose by the amps - she means if you see a +2 that is lower than the preshot, feed then to prevent Ripley from dropping so low that you then have a hard time pulling her numbers up. does that make sense? you're still deciding on the dose based upon the nadirs, just like you have been. but if you feed early in the cycle you can slow the drop at nadir.

i'm not familiar enough with Ripley to be able to comment on her appy issues, so forgive me if i'm repeating all stuff you already know - but have you tried all the enticements? warming her food, variety of different foods, rotisserie chicken, sprinkles of parmesan cheese, oregano, catnip, fortiflora or even a very tiny bit of the evil dry food that has been pulverized?

if Ripley is still not eating tomorrow and finger feeding or syringe feeding, and some food enticements doesn't get her going, you might keep in the back of your mind the option of asking your vet about an appy stimulant. Cypro and Mertazapine are the 2 most commonly used. I gave punkin Mertz and didn't have trouble with it, but some cats get agitated with it. Zener gets cypro regularly and anne/liz could give you their experience with it. i saw they both posted earlier.
 
Re: 12/7 Ripley PMBG 119 (skip),+2 164,+3.5 157,+6 119, +10

Thank you, Julie.

I just realized that I've been numbering her numbers incorrectly... Old habits...

I going to try to feed her in about 1.5-2 hrs & see if there's interest. She ate a test-treat after the last 2 tests, so I'm feeling hopeful. Going btb and I'll check back later...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top