12/12 Zeke - +9.5=323;AMPS=264;+1=284 Dose increased

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/12 Zeke - +9.5=323; AMPS=264 Dose increased

Well, after the +9.5 reading last night (323) I left a note for my DH to go with the increase to 1.75U this AM. Didn't occur to me that Zeke might actually be dropping come AMPS. DH shot the increase like instructed - DARN IT! If had been up for the AMPS I would not have increased. Isn't that what you would have advised? Zeke's bounces these last two days were not like in the past. He usually clears them within two cycles. I thought yellow was gonna be the best he could do on the 1.5U. We'll see what happens today. Maybe I'm getting worked up for no reason at all. Still, I wish we would have waited to see what this cycle would have been like without the increase. Please let me know whether or not you would have advised me to do just that so I'll know what to do in the future if faced with the same situation.

I'll be taking a +1 & +2 to get an indication of what I might expect this cycle.

Thanks
 
I think that in your shoes, I would have written the same note. My guess is that Z saw the note and thought "what can I do to mess up her plan?" ;-)

But I think you're okay with the increase. The AMPS was lower, but not drastically so. Your test plan for this cycle is a good idea.
 
laura, i think it will help you not be on such a roller-coaster of emotions nailbite_smile if you take a long-haul perspective on Zeke's diabetes. There is no quick fix and he will go up and down in dose many times. he may be diabetic for years - there is no way to know. i can feel your frustration, but i think it will help you cope if you remind yourself this is just part of it. you didn't cause it and you can't hurry things along to fix it - following the protocol is the best you can do for him.

None of us can look at what's going on with Zeke and say to do this or that with positive certainty about the outcome. we're making our best advice based upon the protocol and what we've seen in other cats and how we've seen Zeke respond in the past.

there is no point in second-guessing yourself on what you've already done. You've been worried that you decreased too soon since you took the decrease. It was a reasonable decision to wait the 72 hrs for the bounce to clear and then increase. The thing to do now is to assess how Zeke does with this, make notes in the ss of what you see and what you might want to try the next time. it looks like he took a little more than 3 days to clear the bounce, for one thing. I wouldn't say that the best he could do on 1.5u was a 264, however. He's still coming down, so we don't know where he will finish. Every cat is so different that your job is to figure out how Zeke responds when you do this or that and have those responses inform you when you are faced with a similar situation in the future.

There's a reason people say this is a marathon and not a sprint - ya gotta pace yourself to last a long time. :-D

hang in there! at least you've got good company for the ride! :YMHUG:
 
That is great wisdom from Julie, Laura. Sometimes stepping back and taking a long view really helps to put things in perspective.

One method that I find to be effective - When you look at your spreadsheet, reduce the zoom so you can't see the numbers, but just the colors.
Now take a look at September for instance. Lots of pink there, and not much green? Compare that to the past month? Lots of green, right? Bottom line? Zeke is doing much better than he was just a few weeks ago.:-)
 
I don't change the zoom, but i do the same thing carl. when i look at cat's ss, i'm noticing overall changes in color in the ss. i just scroll through without looking at individual numbers, and you really can see the overall picture of the cat's BGs by the color changes.

of course i'm looking at individual numbers when talking about dosing, but you can get an overall picture of how the cat's doing when you look at the colors.
 
Thanks Julie & Carl. Getting your perspective is very helpful. I appreciate your thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top