12/14Oliver+3.5 47+4 75+4.5 46+5 79+6 69+7 64+8 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109937

Oh Boy here we go again. I know i cant shoot until its up right?
Huge bouncing last few days? Is this normal or should I be concerned about it being something else?
He is looking at me like lets go mama, I am feeling wonderful :) time to eat!!!! Hes all spunky and loveable. :)
I am happy for these #'s but what do I do for him now? Cant feed or shoot? I will check until its above ??? What is a good # right now with things so wonky?

HELP
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 HELP

Are you going to be home today to test and do you have supplies?
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 HELP

I am home for the most part today, I do have Christmas get together this evening but will cut it short if I have to.
I never fails :P
I do have high carb foods, treats and plenty of test strips.
What else do I need?
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 HELP

I am getting that it takes a long time for the insulin to take effect (especially for Oliver) then he can go either way though so thsi I am not understanding? but I guess this is a bounce again?
SO shooting and testing a bunch and feeding well should keep #'s at a more balanced level later this afternoon?
Fingers crossed
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 HELP

J.D. bounces a lot :?
Oliver is coming down from a bounce.
Have you fed yet? If not, I would test again and see if he's coming up a little or maybe surfing along in the same number range.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 +.5 69

69 now so up a bit but would be considered surfing huh?
I have not fed ??? Should I and shoot the 2 units then or just wait a bit longer?
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 +.5 69

I'm not much of a fan of stalling. A lot of times the cat keeps going lower because they are missing their breakfast (or dinner) and the care giver keeps waiting for the numbers to go up. It also messes with your shot schedule as you would have to shoot 12 hours after the time you finally shoot.

You can shoot the full amount, or if you are not comfortable with that, you can shoot a BCS (one time reduced) shot.
This is your lowest Pre-Shot, but it is good that it happened when you can be around to monitor and feed him when needed.

I think you can shoot the full dose, but it's up to you. You hold the syringe.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 +.5 69

I may as well and keep track today. i am hoping to get there some time. Right?
Ok thanks and will keep ya updated.
Should i check what an hour later?
then every couple hours through out the day unless very low?
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 +.5 69

I would start with a +1 and a +2. Whenever you are shooting a lower number than you are used to, you should start with a +1 and a +2 and go from there depending upon the numbers. Keep asking for advice and posting if the number is low, K?
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 +.5 69

Feed him a good meal, and I'll check in with you in a little bit.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver AMPS 66 +.5 69

He ate VERY well! Is getting shot now and will be posting through the day.
Thanks Dyana :) Helps and means a lot.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69

Kelly --

There is a sticky that will give you some background on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. I'm not trying to discourage you from asking for help. I just want to make sure you know where to find information since you shoot in the (relatively) early morning and Dyana or one of the other experienced folks may not always be on the Board. What it looks like to me is that Oliver's bounce broke during your PM cycle.

If this were me, I would test every 30 min. until you know where Oliver's numbers are heading. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see I'm doing the same thing this morning. (I also have a cat that likes to go cliff diving!) There could be some momentum behind Oliver's AMPS so, like I said, if it were me, I'd be testing frequently so the numbers don't get ahead of me.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69

Hi Kelly,
Wow, Oliver meant business when he cleared the latest bounce! Good shooting this morning since you will be there to keep an eye on him and keep him safe :-D
And now that it is a more reasonable hour on a Saturday...yawn!!..lots of the LL folks will be waking up and coming online :smile: Please post your tests so we can quickly see what's happening, and have a great day!!!
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69

kelly, it looks like you went ahead and shot. would you make sure that you get a +1 and post it?

thanks! we just like to know everything's going ok!
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 HELP

Please give Oliver a tablespoon of high carb food and then test again in 20 minutes, and post the number.
Thanks.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 HELP

I did give him the high carb food already and he ate will check again in a min or so.
Have had fraud charges on my CC and been on phone
UGH to much going on! :( Scared and mad at teh same time .OMG
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

going up will post in an hour or should i do something else?
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

Kelly, I have to run to the post office and I will gone about a half hour (snow outside). Carl said he could help watch over you, so you are not alone. Please keep posting your numbers. Don't feed too much, so he doesn't get too full. You want him to be hungry if you have to feed him again.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

you want to check him every 30 minutes for a while. i'll keep checking in with you. what time did you check him last?
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

kellykramer said:
going up will post in an hour or should i do something else?
Like Julie said, try to test every 30 minutes. His numbers might dip up or down that quickly.
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

Wow Suzanne!! When Oliver breaks a bounce, he does it in a big way!!

Keep giving a little high carb food (about a teaspoon or 2 so you don't fill him up if you need him to keep eating later) and recheck every 30 minutes...We need to get him up a little more and then we'll back off on the food some and see if we can get him up on his surfboard

He's earned a reduction back to 1.75 tonight too unless he bounces high (300+ usually) but we'll go through that later
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

just to explain a little bit more - when you're doing the "low number dance" numbers can wobble back and forth as the carbs wear off, especially in the first half of the cycle when the insulin is most active.

so you want to check every 30 minutes. if Oliver is under 50, squeeze out the gravy only of the high carb cat food (that's where the carbs are) and give 1 teaspoon of the gravy.

recheck in 30 minutes. if he's still under 50, repeat. if he's over 50, don't give him anything.

recheck in another 30 minutes. if he's still under 50, repeat. if he's over 50, don't give anything.

if you can absolutely count on Oliver to always eat, you can give him a teaspoon of low carb food each time he's over 50. that can help him surf along in the green numbers. some cats are pickier eaters and can't be counted on to eat. if so, keep him a little hungry so that if he goes under 50 you can count on him eating the gravy.

you keep up this dance until he's past the nadir and has 2 rising numbers over 55 or 60 that you haven't fed. so at least 1 hr past giving him carbs AND rising numbers.

the link Sienne gave you has this all on it.

oh yeah, and keep reposting so that those of us who are watching you, and waiting to see if you need more help, don't nibble off our fingernails! :lol:
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

Julie did a great job explaining what you will commonly see called the "lather, rinse, repeat" process during a stretch of low numbers. So far, so good, and I think the next test is coming up in 5 or 10 minutes?


Carl
 
:12/14Oliver+11.5 66 AM 69 +1 67 +39 +3.5 4+ 75

+4 75 now going up due to HC foods.
Hope it keep going up a bit then stays steady! But that is very unlikely with my boy!
I say work that juice now and boy did he take that too literally!
 
Re: 12/14 Oliver +11.5 66 AMPS 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47

Great! This is good for future reference, as far as how he deals with higher carbs/gravy.

recheck in 30 minutes. if he's still under 50, repeat. if he's over 50, don't give him anything.

recheck in another 30 minutes. if he's still under 50, repeat. if he's over 50, don't give anything.

if you can absolutely count on Oliver to always eat, you can give him a teaspoon of low carb food each time he's over 50. that can help him surf along in the green numbers. some cats are pickier eaters and can't be counted on to eat. if so, keep him a little hungry so that if he goes under 50 you can count on him eating the gravy.

Per what Julie wrote, at this point you can either feed a tsp of LC food, or not feed anything, and test in 30 minutes. If his numbers stay above 50 then, then you can give him a tsp of LC and take a break from poking his ears for a little while.

When this happens during the first half of a cycle, it usually requires more testing and feeding than if it were to happen after his normal "nadir" time.

Carl
 
Re: 12/14Oliver+11.5 66 AM 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47 +4 75

Until numbers are well into the 50s or above, I'd continue to use HC.

Shooting & Handling Low Numbers Sticky said:
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
    (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Re: 12/14Oliver+11.5 66 AM 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47 +4 75

Ok will do goingto check again soon. have not gave any more food. I will post and get suggestions in like 15 min. Thanks
 
Re: 12/14Oliver+11.5 66 AM 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47 +4 75

back to 46 now
Fed a lil more HC food.
Will recheck in about 15 again.
 
Re: 12/14Oliver+11.5 66 AM 69 +1 67 +3 39 +3.5 47 +4 75 +4.5

The drop back down is not unusual. That's why the text Sienne quoted says "DO NOT become complaciant." :smile:

Feeding more HC was exactly the right move.
 
Re: 12/14Oliver AM +3.5 47 +4 75 +4.5 46 +5 79

+6 79 now what do I want ot give him a little LC food? If he will take it? Or wait to see how the #'s do in 30?
I have a Christmas party to attend. In 3 hours. Hoping we can get to some comfortable level before then? Or i will have to make appearance and leave after dinner.
Had a sitter for a bit for him but that fell through. :(
If I do go I will leave out food I guess and see when I get back to shoot.
 
Re: 12/14Oliver AM +3.5 47 +4 75 +4.5 46 +5 79

You can feed him some LC and test again 30 minutes later.
He is past what "should be" nadir, so hopefully he'll stay at this level or just a tad higher and not mess up your plans this evening.
 
Re: 12/14Oliver AM +3.5 47 +4 75 +4.5 46 +5 79

I think give him a teaspoon of LC and then test in 30. If he stays around 79 or above, try going without feeding for an hour and test again. If he is rising then, you should be good to go, but post again with the numbers.
 
Re: 12/14Oliver AM +3.5 47 +4 75 +4.5 46 +5 79

gave him LC food and tested again he is at a 64 so I will get ready and test in an hour and let ya all know for furture advise on my evening.
I will only be gone 2 1/2 hours at the most.
Will be uncomfortable about it so maybe less. Just depends on the levels before I leave.
Thanks all so much I really appreciate all the advise and the dedication to animals you all give. Makes my <3 melt.
Oliver is my life so to speak. So I am always concerned about his well being.
This site has made it less stressful and easier to understand and respond to his needs.
Hugs
 
It was 88 and we are on our way to the party please send good vibes to my boy. I will leave HC food sitting on the sink and water incase (Finger crossed) he seems to know when he needs it. I will be home before PMPS and post Thanks again everyone.

Kel
 
Kelly,
What a nice day (maybe a bit stressful for the beans) for Oliver!
I hope you were able to go out and have a relaxing good time. Leaving out food was good, and I'm sure he'll be fine when you get home.
 
What an exciting day Kelly!!

Makes me have to wonder if Oliver actually was getting into more dog food than you caught him getting in to...or other contraband, but sometimes they do just break a bounce like this too...all the sudden, NOSEDIVE!!

I think it's probably a safe bet you're going to want to take the reduction tonight back to 1.75 ..and depending on how your nerves are after today, I wouldn't be surprised if you took a BCS either if he's still pretty low at PMPS, but hopefully he'll be on his way up by then and you'll be comfortable giving the reduced dose. Of course don't be surprised if you see a crazy high number sometime soon either! It's probably been quite some time since Oliver's liver has seen numbers that low and you can pretty much bet he's going to bounce again....but I think you see now why we are so big on just being patient when we think they're bouncing!

Hope you had a good time at your Christmas party! It's important to take care of yourself too (yes, I'm actually saying that, even though I find it really hard to do for myself)

Good luck with the reduction!
 
Hi all back and it is a 318 at PMPS SO shot a 1.75 :) so all is good we are in bed cuddling and plan to go to sleep very soon. I will get up in a few hours to check again on him .
Thanks for all your kind words. I did have fun at the party. Hubby dropped me off and went back. I am here with my boy hanging out, Which is one of my favorite thing to do. IK I am a crazy cat lady. LOL JK kinda
;-)
 
glad you got to go to your party!

i didn't know i was a crazy cat lady til i came here. before that, i just liked cats. then i was normal, but that's gone now! :lol:
 
I think we all have a touch of "cat crazy" to some degree. :lol:
Works for me !

Glad your party was fun. Sleep well.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top