12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMBG 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
Dec 13 viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109851&p=1160224#p1160224

Sammy continue with her pattern of the Daily Bounce, but this morning she is WAY low.
Dec 13, PMPS 423
PM +10 77
AMPS 56

Advice??? I will be home for the first 4 hours if I give her insulin this morning. i am thinking a tiny bit, not a full shot, as that 56 is really low. I will test again in a few minutes too
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

I agree with Kim. If you can stall (don't feed) for 20 min. and then re-test we'll be able to know if this is a dropping number or not.
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

If you haven't shot, I would not on a 56.
Can you afford to stall without feeding to see if the number starts coming up?
Right now you are looking at a number that seems to be falling.

A lower dose might not give you what you are hoping for due to the way that a depot type insulin works.
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

She could be surfing here. How long between first and second test? If you will be home until at least +4 to monitor I would go ahead and shoot. Or u could do a reduced shot but still need to test again in half an hour after.
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
If you haven't shot, I would not on a 56.
Can you afford to stall without feeding to see if the number starts coming up?
Right now you are looking at a number that seems to be falling.

A lower dose might not give you what you are hoping for due to the way that a depot type insulin works.

I can give her another 10 mins and test again, then its do or die time
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

It looks like it was not a fast drop. More slidey.
But I would go with the pros on this. Twice does this pattern alot to me but ECID
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

when you say you'll be gone after +4, do you mean constantly for hours, or would you be able to come home every hour or intermittently?
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

Linda,
I want you to know that I have never used Lantus.

Kim does, and Julie and Sienne have for years. I understand the protocol, but I would definitely defer to them when it comes to dosing and whether to shoot or not.
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

from a +10 of 77 to a +12 of 56 - that's not a huge drop that would worry me too much. it's not a rise, but we want flat numbers with these kitties on Lantus.

i'm watching to see what the next test brings.
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 56

julie & punkin (ga) said:
from a +10 of 77 to a +12 of 56 - that's not a huge drop that would worry me too much. it's not a rise, but we want flat numbers with these kitties on Lantus.

i'm watching to see what the next test brings.

She is at 50, i am not going to shoot. I have her eating now (had to garnish it with some dried chicken to get her going). She is extremely grumpy, which is out of character for her. Going to watch her like a hawk.
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMPS 50

that's understandable that you want to skip. i don't blame you. especially if you were going to be gone non-stop after +4.

you can take off the 911 now. glad all is well.
 
Linda,
I removed the 911 and changed AMPS to AMBG to let people know the emergency was passed and no shot was given.

Carl
 
Re: 12/14 Sammy PM+10 77, AMBG 50, +3 76

Sammy is holding in the greens... she is at 76 at at 3.5 hours past normal shot time with no insulin . Interesting day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top