dec 20 Sammy AMPS 412 bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
Yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110264

So Miss Sammy co tinues in her bouncy way. Son Brian will grab a couple tests today to make sure she doesnt dive bomb, and we are sticking with the.25 to see if she will do better on that. Thanks again for all the excellent aupport yesterday.
 
Linda, just so you know, we wouldn't normally reduce a dose on a 52. the protocol calls for reductions for under 50. i don't know if nit-picking the 2 points makes a difference, but wanted to make sure you know what it says. generally if a person reduces a dose one time because of circumstances, you go back up to the regular dose and stay with it until you see a number under 50.

the goal of the tight regulation protocol is to get all numbers "tightly regulated" meaning under 120, preferably under 100. as numbers get lower, the cycle will flatten out and become more of a line than a curve. I've bolded and "blued" the parts that relate to the phase you are in now.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top