12/28 Ole AMPS 448 +3 503 +6 401 PMPS 481 +2 407

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Active Member
Hello all,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110734#p1168210

Ole's PM tests
+3 514
+8 490

He has been on 2 units for 4 cycles, shall I increase to 2.5?

Yesterday, I was at work all day, and my well intentioned Alex ordered more Alpha Trak supplies, so we will stay with that monitor for several more weeks. We will most likely switch when supplies have been depleted. I will pick up ketone strips today.

Ole is well, with his 5 P's within normal parameters. He has not played fetch at night though, even though I ask him to. He spends some time out side everyday and likes the sunshine.

Take care,
Rebekah
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448

Good morning, Rebekah! I think you meant that Ole has been on 2.0u for 4 cycles.

Here's the dilemma. Ole had a nadir of 281 on 12/26. It's hard to sort out if the current numbers reflect a bounce or if this is where Ole's numbers are. It can take roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear. Where the concern comes in is that you don't necessarily want to increase the dose when a bounce is breaking so it's helpful to be able to sort out when there's a bounce.

If you want to increase, just make sure that you are able to monitor the way you have been, especially early in the cycle. If you have plans for the day and won't be home, then I'd hold off on the increase. If you're going to be around, then you'll be there to catch a drop.
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448

Hey,

Oopsie. I corrected my error, yes, 2 units for 4 cycles.

I'll hold him at 2 units for the day.

Thank you!
R
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448

Hi!

Could somebody explain the Bounce to me? I kind of get it, but don't really understand the how's and why's. I perused the health links but didn't find anything. Also, are the BG's of an Alpha Trak so very different from a human monitor?

Thanks again!
Rebekah
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448

We think the AlphaTrak is about 30 points higher than a human meter. When the readings are above 200, that is not a big deal. When the readings get below 120 or so, then it becomes a big deal. A 50 on an AT is a major hypo, while a 50 on a human meter is a normal number.
Liz
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448

I hope Ole slides down today. You might want to put "bounce ?" in your subject line to get some expert answers.

From what I understand a bounce is when a cat's bg gets lower than what it's body is used to. Then the liver sends out signals for the bg to increase. A cat's body can be used to high numbers (300s and 400s) and when they drop down to normal numbers (100s) the liver panics. Once you find a good dose, the cat's body gets used to lower numbers and doesn't usually bounce from normal numbers. A bounce can also happen from a fast drop, say 100 points in an hour, even if it's normal numbers. I hope this makes sense. If I'm not right, someone please correct me.
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448 +3 503

All the info posts that you'll ever need are in the yellow starred stickies at the top of this forum. Jill's done a wonderful job collecting info so it's all in one place.

The New to the Group sticky has a number of links at the bottom to specific topics. The one that describes a bounce is in the "New Dose Wonkiness" link here, second post.
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448 +3 503 +6 401 PMPS 481 dose ???

Hello all,

Ole has been at 2 units for 5 cycles. Should I increase by .5 for the 6th cycle, or wait until tomorrow morning. Hes BG's have been between 401 and 503 today.

Thank you.
Rebekah
 
Re: 12/28 Ole AMPS 448 +3 503 +6 401 PMPS 481 dose ???

I decided to increase Ole's dose to 2.5

I hope Ole can find his way to better numbers.

Thank you,
Rebekah
 
Rebekah

I saw you increased which is fine. Just be sure you monitor in case he clears the bounce and gets a little more active with the increased insulin.

Sometimes when the bounce has been going on a few cycles (ECID), you will see numbers go up much higher. We call this the "high before the break". If you see such an occurrence, you would probably want to hold off a cycle on the increase just to be sure because when the bounce is clearing, and there is extra insulin from a dose increase, they can come down really fast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top