12/29 Cobb AMPS 311 +3 380 +7 388 PMPS 408

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

So, after our yellow surf yesterday, Cobb snuck back into the 300s overnight (low 300s) so I upped his dose to 8units. Figured it was better to up and see if we could convince his liver that those numbers are okay.

We're starting at a low 300 today so hopefully we see a dip.

As I mentioned yesterday little Matty is sick so we put him in our room last night. Cobb sat next to his pack and play all night. That was after I watched him take a bath. :razz: All 5 P's seem to be in place.

Hoping this dosecrease gives Cobb the extra push he needs!!
 
Re: 12/29 Cobb AMPS 311

Hi Suzanne,

Not a bad number for Cobb to start his day! And so good to hear how normal he is feeling :-D
Hope Marty gets better soon, and you (& DH) can get more sleep~
 
Re: 12/29 Cobb AMPS 311 +3 380

good call on the dose, suzanne! you're getting the hang of this! I hope matty feels better today. it's hard having a sick baby!
 
Re: 12/29 Cobb AMPS 311 +3 380

i don't know. Cobb is soaking up all the insulin you're throwing at him. could be NDW. could be not enough insulin still.
 
Re: 12/29 Cobb AMPS 311 +3 380 +7 388

you can - and sometimes bounces can take a long time to reach the peak, like taking in a giant breath and more and more and more and then they can jump off the cliff.

in cobb's case, we're likely looking at a high dose condition, and while cats can still have NDW and bounces, it adds other factors from whatever is causing the high dose into the question of what's going on with any given cycle.
 
Sadly I think you're right. I'm going to email the vet in the morning to discuss the tests.

Other than talking about TR and what we've been doing, what else should I include in the email?
 
Email to vet has been sent. Let's see what she says since I'm not following what she told me to do! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
He's your kitty. She works for you. The days of the expert who has inside knowledge not available to the commoner are gone.

I don't think there's anything you need to tell her other than that you'd like a blood draw done and samples sent to MSU to test for iaa and acromegaly because he is on an unusually high dose of insulin for a cat.

If she's smart, she's going to do what you're asking. It's reasonable.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
He's your kitty. She works for you. The days of the expert who has inside knowledge not available to the commoner are gone.

I don't think there's anything you need to tell her other than that you'd like a blood draw done and samples sent to MSU to test for iaa and acromegaly because he is on an unusually high dose of insulin for a cat.

If she's smart, she's going to do what you're asking. It's reasonable.

Thanks Julie. If it is a problem, we'll switch vets. We're talking about that anyway after learning everything I learned here 1 since many things were contradictory to what she said, ie. Daily testing, dry food, ketone testing. I remember asking if we needed to do preshot tests and ketone testing, and we were told no.

Cobb had some interesting/confusing numbers last night. I'll recap in today's condo, which I'll post after his am shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top