Lovey 12/31 AMPS 382 +6 193 Reduction and New Dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110882

Hi all. I got a little scared with Lovey dipping to 66 the other night. I was giving a pretty fat 2. I reduced but I am not sure if last night's cycle was a bounce. I gave a fat 1.75 one night and Lovey hit 125. I got afraid so I went to more of a 1.75 but was pink. Do you think last night was a bounce?

I think I might need a magnifying glass to help measure. My husband thought I gave between 1.50 and 1.75 and I thought it looked like 1.75. I have 20/20 vision. Does a fat 1.75 touch the 2 line at all or does it hover above it?
 
Re: 12/31 Lovey Another Reduction/Dosing question?

I would not have dropped Lovey's dose to 1.75u based on the 125 on your AlphaTrack. That's a good place for the nadir to be!

As for measuring, when it comes to fat and skinny doses, as long as you're consistent with how you're measuring and what you're calling the dose, you're good. There are photos in the New to the Group sticky to give you an idea of what some of the doses look like to at least one person.
 
Re: 12/31 Lovey Another Reduction/Dosing question?

This is why I dose with calipers :-D I found some syringes can be off (in the same lot) by almost 0.5u.

No two people will draw a f1.75u to look the same and I bet even when you draw it, there is some variability even if the zero line is consistent...which they aren't. Whether a f1.75u touches the 2u Mark also depends on the syringes. Some syringes, like Relion, have very thick markings and so it could. Others, like Monojects and Terumos, have thin markings so it might not. The more important thing is that your f1.75u be as consistent as you can get it give syringe inaccuracy. And any dose for that matter.

I've found that Gracie is sensitive to even a .05u dose change so I just had to find a way to be more consistent given the huge inaccuracy of syringes.

I don't know if the pink last night was a bounce or wonkiness from the dosing but I tend to think it is a bounce given the drop yesterday.

If you think you can dose 1.75u more consistently, I'd stick with that. It will also give you a dose to go up to if she fails the reduction because the last good dose is not the one that got her to 66 :-D Let's see what she does today .
 
Re: 12/31 Lovey Another Reduction/Dosing question?

Thanks Sienne and Marge. I appreciate the feedback. I have monoject syringes. The information has been helpful. It seems for Lovey that a little more or less insulin means a big difference. When I did 2 units I usually would get yellow nadirs but when I did a little more I got green nadirs. Let's see how she does today.
I will try to draw up a more consistent dose.
 
Re: 12/31 AMPS 382 +6 193 Reduction and New Dosing?

Monojects are one of the most inaccurate syringes because there is insulin in the hub which is an unmeasurable amount and varies from syringe to syringe depending on how far the needle extends into the hub. It was the one that I measured with scientific equipment (micropipettor) and was consistently about 0.46u off.

Whether you go with f1.75 or 1.75u, I think what is most important is that you pick one and stick with it until she either earns a reduction or fails this reduction and dose it consistently as you can.
 
Re: 12/31 AMPS 382 +6 193 Reduction and New Dosing?

Hi Marje, thanks again for the information. Yes, I noticed the insulin before the 0 line.


What syringes do you think are most accurate? (terumos, ? )I found the monojects on American Diabetes wholesale. Should I change syringes now or do you think the dose will be too different?

Is it difficult to learn to use calipers? You need to measure one unit first and equate to a distance in millimeters.

Thanks for the input. Have a Happy New Year!
 
What syringes do you think are most accurate? (terumos, ? )I found the monojects on American Diabetes wholesale. Should I change syringes now or do you think the dose will be too different?

Is it difficult to learn to use calipers? You need to measure one unit first and equate to a distance in millimeters.

I've used Relions, BDs, Walgreens, Monojects, and Terumos. None are accurate but I like the Terumos the best by far. I order them from ADW, U100, 0.3cc, 31g, 1/2u markings, and they have only one needle length. The dosing could be different when you switch but many of us have already made the switch. The Monojects have a hub at the tip that fills with varying amounts of immeasurable insulin so I would avoid those.

It takes a little bit to learn to dose using the calipers but maybe this post on Dosing with Calipers. Please let me know if you have questions.
 
Happy New Year to you and Lovey :-D

Good luck with getting Lovey's dosing just right. Those syringes can be so off from one to another!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top