Libby and Lucy
Member Since 2009
A discussion in a condo today made me realize that there are many misunderstandings about the Tight Regulation Protocol, its history, and what the modifications mean. So we can keep our history alive, I wanted to start a thread where we can address some of the questions that often arise.
Here are some examples from today (names removed).
Slightly OT, but a pet peeve of mine that I see ALL the time on FDMB - there is no "Tilly Protocol." Tilly was a cat, not a protocol.:lol: Kirsten's page is not called the Tilly Protocol, it is called Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats.
In LL, some tweaks have been made over the past 6-7 years, mostly by Jill & Alex and jojo and bunny(GA) and Y but it is an ongoing effort. These tweaks are based on what we have found to work best for the majority of cats on this board - hundreds of them! For the most part, we are more aggressive than what is written down in the original protocol. We can be more aggressive because we are testing more than the published protocol (which is published for vets).
For example:
Nadirs under 200: hold doses for 5-7 days. Why? Day 1 & 2 - may see higher numbers due to "New Dose Wonkiness," Day 3 - this would probably be the day to see a lower nadir, if there is going to be one, Day 4-6 could be bouncing. If good numbers don't return, increase the dose. Use your own data to determine how long to wait before deciding the good numbers won't be returning.
Nadirs over 200: who cares if there is bouncing, cat needs more insulin, increase after 2-3 days.
One of the main things that *is* different in LL practice versus the written protocols is the concept of shaving doses instead of reducing by 0.25-0.50u. We try to reserve that practice for cats who have shown that full reductions don't hold for them because it is very aggressive.
Here are some examples from today (names removed).
To clarify, there is ONE Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus and Levemir. In LL, we have made some modifications over time, as have others, but it is all the same protocol. To further clarify for those who don't know, Kirsten (Tilly's caregiver) is the Roomp in Roomp/Rand.The protocol (name removed) is referring to is the Tilly Protocol. Take a look at the tab with the TR Protocol and you'll see 2 different links in the text. One goes to the Rand/Roomp, which is based on the Tilly, but with slight modifications. Our own is slightly different as well. So there are actually 3 versions of a very similar protocol.
Here's the full link to the protocol used by the German board. The Roomp & Rand (U of Queensland) is the original TR Protocol. Both the German board, that Kirsten Roomp is involved with, and this board have made modifications to the original 2009 TR Protocol.
- Actually the order is:
- 1) German Protocol - started in the early 2000's, and slight revisions have been made over the years by the German laypersons who created the protocol. We have made some of our own modifications too. Here is the spreadsheet of what was probably the first FDMB cat to use the German TR protocol in 2006: George.
- 2) Rand protocol(s) - Dr. Rand has published a couple of protocols over the years, mid 2000's. Now Rand's previous protocols are gone and replaced by
- 3) Roomp/Rand Protocol - a collaboration between members of the German Diabetes-Katzen forum and Dr. Rand, recently published in 2009 but was already in use before then.
Slightly OT, but a pet peeve of mine that I see ALL the time on FDMB - there is no "Tilly Protocol." Tilly was a cat, not a protocol.:lol: Kirsten's page is not called the Tilly Protocol, it is called Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats.
In LL, some tweaks have been made over the past 6-7 years, mostly by Jill & Alex and jojo and bunny(GA) and Y but it is an ongoing effort. These tweaks are based on what we have found to work best for the majority of cats on this board - hundreds of them! For the most part, we are more aggressive than what is written down in the original protocol. We can be more aggressive because we are testing more than the published protocol (which is published for vets).
Not quite true. The other versions DO account for bouncing, they just don't say it that way.One difference is that we give weight to bounces and hold doses through them.
For example:
What this says is:Phase 2: Increasing the dose
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl. (emphasis mine).
Nadirs under 200: hold doses for 5-7 days. Why? Day 1 & 2 - may see higher numbers due to "New Dose Wonkiness," Day 3 - this would probably be the day to see a lower nadir, if there is going to be one, Day 4-6 could be bouncing. If good numbers don't return, increase the dose. Use your own data to determine how long to wait before deciding the good numbers won't be returning.
Nadirs over 200: who cares if there is bouncing, cat needs more insulin, increase after 2-3 days.
A second is that the Rand/Roomp and Tilly both have you feeding when faced with a low-preshot number on Lantus. (That would be different with Lev, because of the later nadir that many cats have.)
Actually what Kirsten says is this:Lastly, the R/R offers the possibility of split dosing when faced with a lot preshot. we discourage that.
Basically this says "you can try these things, they might work, but in most cats they don't work as well as consistent dosing." Our Dealing With Low Numbers sticky is basically saying the same thing - the idea is that you need to learn to shoot consistently, but if you are not ready to do that, then you can stall based on our guidelines. You will probably find that stalling doesn't work, but most people need to see for themselves that shooting on time works better than the alternatives.Try reducing the dose the first few times to see what happens - in all likelihood the cat will have higher BGs as a result. A second alternative is to feed the cat, wait 1 to 2 hours, test again, and when the BGs start rising, give the normal dose. A third alternative is to split the dose: feed the cat, give most of the dose immediately and give the remainder 1 to 2 hours later when the BGs start rising. However, in most cats none of these alternatives have shown themselves to work as well as consistent dosing. You will have to learn how your cat reacts to Lantus/Levemir before you determine the best way to deal with this problem.
This isn't really a difference either. Kirsten notes: "(N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way)." We have observed and made note of what cats usually fall into the category of cats who might do better when allowed to go below 50: long term diabetics.A third difference is when you take reductions.
One of the main things that *is* different in LL practice versus the written protocols is the concept of shaving doses instead of reducing by 0.25-0.50u. We try to reserve that practice for cats who have shown that full reductions don't hold for them because it is very aggressive.


