Re: 1/2 Zeke AMPS 125;+1=95;+3.5= 46 DOSE ADVICE
Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Yesterday AM you saw a pink number.
One of two things -
Could have been a bounce.
Could have been due to the skipped shot the night before.
Carl, I believe the pink was a food spike (7%) exacerbated by the fact he hadn’t had insulin in 24 hours. The night before I only gave him 2%. I believe that’s possibly why he didn’t jump higher that evening. If I had only given him 2% at shot time perhaps he wouldn’t have spiked so much. Who knows.
he flirted with a reduction even after 2 helpings of 7%-9% snacks before he saw the 50's.
This is something I was wondering about. The idea was that the 7% would help to get him surfing but he’s dropping so much that I have to give him 9% to keep him safe. Although the 9% is still within the allowable carb percentage for a diabetic cat, I was just wondering that since he’s going so low (though not enough to earn a reduction) that perhaps this is an indication that he’s getting just a little too much juice. On the other hand, he’s still rising to blue so a lower dose may cause him to go higher. I know dosing adjustments are based on the nadir, but I don’t want to see him start creeping up to higher blues if I reduce prematurely. Perhaps I should try giving him 9% at +1 instead of waiting until it looks like he’s dropping too fast? Maybe then he’ll surf the mid 60s to 80s. Thoughts?
I understand the 46 today may be due to not keeping breakfast down.
But I'd still take the reduction.
My thought is if it was due to his getting sick at shot time, then why not hold the dose and see what happens tonight? If I find that I’m continuing to have to feed him higher carbs then perhaps I could cut the fat out and try a 1.0u tomorrow. However, my concern about reducing too quickly is still in the back of my mind, so” I dunno” what I want to do.
Laura, I think you mentioned that after the Holidays you would not be around to test as often during the day? Is that still on the immediate horizon?
Yes. We’ve moved his shot time up so I can be around for a +3, maybe +4, before having to head out to work. Tomorrow, my schedule is still flexible so I can hang out later if needed (like I did today) but by middle of next week, it’s gonna be more difficult to do that. For that reason, I’m inclined to hold the dose now and see if he earns the reduction legitimately sometime within the next three days. If I find that he’s still dropping enough that he needs the 9% or higher to keep him safe then I’ll be more inclined to try the reduction next week.
Thoughts/concerns?
BTW – HAPPY NEW YEAR, Carl!!! So happy to hear that you found a new companion. Polly is one very lucky little kitty. I'm so very happy for you both.