Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32
I'm glad to hear testing for IAA and ACRO is on the horizon.
Not to mention the general 'once over'. Fingers crossed Cobb and you 'click with the new vet.
cobbsmom said:
Tell me...what would we be doing differently if you had a diagnosis in hand? Increase his doses more quickly?
I do not have first hand experience with Acro however I do know of one very important difference between an IAA kitty and an Acro kitty.
An IAA diabetic kittys pancreas have been damaged and can't provide insulin enough to meet the kittys metabolic needs, same as a non IAA diabetic kitty.
So, we make up the difference by injecting insulin. If the numbers go too low, we whip out the food and guide the cycle to safety.
A kitty with Acro needs insulin because of a tumor (pituitary I believe) that is secreting a hormone that somehow interferes, preventing insulin from being used for proper metabolism of sugars. The pancreas are fine - functioning and producing insulin - however the insulin getting highjacked somehow by the hormone. Additionally the hormone production waxes and wanes. Attempting to feed low numbers can be tricky because a functioning pancreas will react to food by - producing insulin.
That's my extremely layperson limited knowledge explanation of basic differences between the two conditions. Wendy and Julie can further elaborate since they both have first hand experience with Acro. Have a look at Neko and Punkins ss then compare to BKs.
Speaking of testing, BK is due for blood work in a few weeks and has and appointment sometime in February. When I made the appointment I requested he be re-tested for IAA. I have a feeling the result will be the same. One way to find out
