1/29 Champ AMPS 103, PMPS 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Champ must have read his condo yesterday and gave me a sunny yellow PMPS just to allay my fears...Nothing wrong with me, mom. See, I can give you a yellow if that will make you feel better. He got right back down to the blue floor last night and started off today looking really good!!! :thumbup

I was working on three hours of sleep yesterday so never go around to visiting condos. I finished work, made dinner, and then started to fall asleep on the couch. My daughter got home from work right when I was nodding off so I got to talking with her and never got to get that nap. At least I got a good six hours of sleep last night.

For any of you that inject any medications other than insulin, such as Adequan, I wonder if you've ever done what I've now done twice. I always give Champ his Adequan injection at his morning shot time, just as a routine so I don't forget to give it to him or wonder if I DID give it to him. He gets one shot every other Monday. I have to use a syringe that holds 50 units for the Adequan because he gets 33 units which means I have one syringe that is filled with insulin and the other that's filled with Adequan. I always fill the insulin syringe first. When filling the syringe with Adequan, it fills really quickly just about by itself. You just have to insert the needle, start pulling out the plunger, and it just fills itself up really quickly with no air left in the barrel to expel (wish insulin did this!). On Monday, for the second time, after filling the insulin syringe, I picked up the other syringe for the Adequan and started to fill it. I couldn't figure out why it wasn't filling up as quickly as normal and why it wasn't self-filling all the way to the top of the barrel. After I passed the 10 unit mark, I finally realized I was filling it with insulin. Now, this is the SECOND TIME I've done this. The last time, I wasted 15 units of insulin. This time, I just couldn't bear to throw it away. Instead, I took the plunger out of a clean insulin syringe and squirted some of the insulin into the barrel and then laborously (is that a word?) finally got all the air out. Insulin must be very viscous and thick because it was HARD to get all the air out and keep the insulin in. Anyway, I was able to fill three syringes with fat 1.5 units so at least I saved some of it. I know you're not supposed to prefill Lantus syringes, but I figured I could use this as an experiment to see if it caused Champ's numbers to increase. The prefilled syringes were used Monday night and both shots yesterday. Personally, I think it turned out to be just fine with no deterioration in the insulin's effectiveness. If I ever wanted to go away for the weekend (yeah, right), I would feel comfortable prefilling the syringes and leaving them in the refrigerator (I put them back in their originally packaging with the cap on, not touching the plunger so it wouldn't expel any of the insulin). With Terumo syringes, that pesky air bubble is so hard to get out sometimes and I wouldn't trust a pet sitter to have the finesse or take the time to get it out. I'm not advocating anyone prefill their syringes, just relaying what I've seen.

So, as the camel would say, HUMP DAAAAAY!!!
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79

Hi guys .. yay for champ on making you feel better! And look at him go this morning .. that's a strong green right there champ! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79

Gorgeous day for Champ. What a sweet boy to toss you a yellow, too :lol: !!! I'm glad to hear your experiment worked out...good-to-know info! Have a great day, Patty!
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79

Champ looks good today, a lagoon visit already! :mrgreen: I don't know anything about prefilling syringes, other than BD recommends not to (they are the only syringes I can get) but I've never needed to anyways so it's all good. I'm glad you got some sleep, and I hope your day goes great! :-D
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79, +3.5 43

Nice numbers for Champ today. I hope he surfs a little higher. Wow on accidentally using insulin in the other syringe. I'm glad you were able to use it.
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79, +3.5 43

When Champ starts racing me from room to room as I move around the house, I know it's time for a poke and some food because he's probably low. Yep!!! I opened a fresh can of his FF Elegant Medleys and gave him a good spoonful. He loves that first spoonful out of the can because it's the one with the most gravy. Guarantee, he's going to be in my office in a minute, sit on his little rug, and start cleaning his face. Champ is a very predictable, and very clean, kitty!!
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79, +3.5 43

AND a kitty that wants you to give hime some more of the good stuff. Looking good!
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79, +3.5 43, +5 87, +8 86

The insulin looks like it is working... Wow.

It must be lot to remember with multiple medicines. I would have to keep rechecking to do it correctly. It takes all my effort in the morning to remember to refrigerate the insulin, give the shot and feed and help the kids get ready.
 
Re: 1/29 Champ AMPS 103, +2 79, +3.5 43, +5 87, +8 86

Beautiful day for Champ!! Of course he didn't really need to drop quite so low, but they do have to keep us on our toes, don't they? (seems like I read that in the cat rulebook)

Sure looks like Tess, Champ and China read the same book this morning though! I love to see those low 100's at pre-shot (well...usually...LOL)

Hope you have a nice quiet night and Champ will just keep surfing along...but maybe in the 80's..not the 40's!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top