2/6 Cobb AMPS 257 +4 300 +9.5 437 PMPS 376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Well, last night was quite unexpected!! But every time Cobb decided to go green it catches me off guard!

Here's a quick recap:
PMPS - 124
+2.75 - 82
+4 - 75
+5 - 95 --> regular feeding time of 1/4can of low carb
+7.5 - 147
AMPS - 257

I'll take the AMPS! If that's as far as he's going to bounce, you'll hear no complaints from me! Given our history, I don't expect this dose to stick, but we'll see. It looks like our 5th cycle is our magic cycle. If we don't see something by then, move on.

Cobb handled the numbers well. Not begging for food. Looks like not leaving food out is more calming (for everyone). I may look into a different feeder that keeps the food a bit more protected and sealed. All P's in place.

Happy Fursday!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 2/6 Cobb AMPS 257

That was a beautiful surf last night for Cobb!! Not too bad of a bounce this morning, either. Hopefully the dose will stick...so far, so good. Have a great day, Suzanne!
 
Re: 2/6 Cobb AMPS 257 +4 300 +9.5 437

Hi there :cool:

I would hold the dose for now, being that he saw green last cycle and he is (hopefully) at the peak of this bounce and going to correct course from here.

As far a a feeder, we use the Petsafe 5 compartment feeder it is a lifesaver. BK never bothered it, however his relatively new roomie, Little Man Jake, goes on a daily mission to break into both his and BKs feeders.
(that's a good price Chewy,com has there , I should get a spare. . . or 2)
 
Re: 2/6 Cobb AMPS 257 +4 300 +9.5 437

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hi there :cool:

I would hold the dose for now, being that he saw green last cycle and he is (hopefully) at the peak of this bounce and going to correct course from here.

As far a a feeder, we use the Petsafe 5 compartment feeder it is a lifesaver. BK never bothered it, however his relatively new roomie, Little Man Jake, goes on a daily mission to break into both his and BKs feeders.
(that's a good price Chewy,com has there , I should get a spare. . . or 2)

Thanks! Just wanted someone to second my gut! :razz:

Looks like the 5th cycle is our "if you haven't seen anything by" cycle.
 
Re: 2/6 Cobb AMPS 257 +4 300 +9.5 437

Ugh. Cobb is not liking these high numbers! He has been a slug-a-bed today. Anything I can do to make him feel better?
 
Re: 2/6 Cobb AMPS 257 +4 300 +9.5 437

you know that R is always an option if you get to the point you want to try it. just say so.

nice surf last night though! woot!
 
Re: 2/6 Cobb AMPS 257 +4 300 +9.5 437

I'm definitely thinking about it.

Given the past 24 hours...when would you have given R? At the 257 this morning or when he hit 300?

I'd like to get a grasp in when to use it before I do.
 
Re: 2/6 Cobb AMPS 257 +4 300 +9.5 437

it's a little bit tricky. my first reaction would be with the 300, but then that would've been at +4 and the Lantus would've had a nadir coinciding with the R's nadir, so i'd have probably nixed that.

Even though it looked like a bounce was definitely in the works, to start out trying it I probably would've suggested you wait til +6 and shoot a 0.1R then, or even at the 437, in order to bring it down a tad before the preshot.

I wouldn't have started with the 257 to begin with just because it's not that high, and in case he's very responsive to the R it might not have been a good idea. some iaa cats are very responsive to even a small amount. i'd have wanted to chat about timing with Sandy, too.
 
Hello again :cool:
julie & punkin (ga) said:
you know that R is always an option if you get to the point you want to try it. just say so.
My thoughts exactly.
cobbsmom said:
I'm definitely thinking about it.
Given the past 24 hours...when would you have given R? At the 257 this morning or when he hit 300?
R can be used in different ways, to either bring numbers down a bit, hold numbers steady or to prevent a trip to the stratosphere.
(Like following a 'no-doubt-about-it' type of fur shot, should one come about.)

The first step however is to do a few trial R curves, starting with 0.10u, monitoring and evaluating the effects.
When you learn his responses, and with input from other R users, knowing when and when not to use R will follow.
Step by step you feel your way through,

In the absence of a ketone crisis you have the opportunity to choose a time.
It could be a PS time or a time after nadir, preferably at the front edge of a bounce.
Following a dose increase, using R on the PS of a cycle where you would typically see action from a new dose should also be avoided

In any case, not knowing how Cobb will react and considering we don't yet know why he is a big gulper, along with the previously mentioned criteria I recommend a trial only if his BG is greater than 350. Better to have a nice 'wide berth' to accommodate the possibility of the unanticipated - for safety sake.

With a kitty like Cobb, R can come in very handy but only if you have it on hand when the opportunity arrives.
 
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
With a kitty like Cobb, R can come in very handy but only if you have it on hand when the opportunity arrives.

And to think, I almost picked up a vial when I made my Walmart run on Wednesdsy night. Smh...

So you would have used it when I got the 400+ result to bring it down, hopefully, a bit for the PMPS. That makes sense.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top