2/7 Zeke AMPS/165 - Curious? Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good Morning LL ~O) ~O)

Sending healing vines to all that need them

Well, so far, the dosecrease hasn't been all that great. I don't understand why he was doing better on a lower dose. His PS numbers are slowly starting to come down but overall much higher than they were on the 0.5u. And the rest of his numbers are higher and he's speding less time in green, more flat blues and even yellows he had not had on the most recent 0.5u. Could this be his liver protesting to more inuslin? I'm just really confused_cat . I'm too scared to test this theory and take him back down to 0.5u. So then I guess the alternative is to consider another dosecrease back up to 1.0u. What do you think?

Zeke's Condo from 2/4
 
hi laura!

i don't see anything that says that this dose is too much. he got down to 58 last night. his cycles are showing normal curves. if the insulin dose is too high the curve is often inverted. this all looks normal to me.

with that 58, i'd continue holding the dose and ignore the higher numbers for a few more cycles. you're dosing based upon the nadir - and a 58 is perfect. so far it looks good.
 
Sorry I don't know dosing, but Julie did so that's all good :-D I just wanted to say hello! Zeke looks great in blue today! Have a great Friday :razz:
 
Happy Friday!

Maybe Zeke just needs a little extra time to settle into this dose. If the numbers are coming down, even slowly, I'd want to wait to see where this takes him. Patience pants time! C'mon Zeke, work that juice!
 
I'm in no way an expert, but Zeke's cycles kind of look like some of China's.....He's dropping down so fast at the start of the cycle that I have to wonder if the fast drop might be causing a little bounce at Pre-shot times?

Something to consider I suppose!

You might try giving a little higher carb food early in the cycle and see if you can slow down some of those fast drops
 
I would agree with Julie, and see what happens after holding this dose a few more days, and see if he settles down some with it, and then go from there if he doesn't.

Hoping that he starts to show you some better #s very soon. Have a good evening. :-D
 
Thank you all for stopping by and providing your insight. I'm still very confused as to why his numbers are worse on 0.75u than they were on 0.5u. Is there no medical/physiological theory? Has anyone ever tried going back down on the dose after something like this has happened? The 0.5u was doing really well. Unfortunately, I thought I saw "failed reduction" and just panicked. I didn't want Zeke to lose the momentum he had going so I thought why not just take him back up to "snap him back" into green. Well, going back up just seems to have worsen the situation. It's just very puzzling.
 
Is "because he's a cat" a good reason?

I know it doesn't make any sense. I doesn't for China either, but it happens quite often. This morning was her 4th cycle on an increase and her numbers are going up. It's not the first time either.

It would be so much easier if they'd just react the way they're "supposed to"...but then I guess they wouldn't be cats
 
In spite of the fact that we say the cats must be reading their condos when they respond to dosecrease threats, I don't think they really do - so I guess they don't know they're supposed to go down after an increase. :lol: OR maybe they do know and, as Chris said, they are being cats - always contrary! Either way, we're having the same experience, so I don't know what to tell you except hang in there! Not a lot of help, I know. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top