2/10 Scooter AMPS 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Hi Folks:

I think I may have had a fur shot again yesterday morning based on Scooters numbers. They were back to blue and yellow last night. possibly even green.
I am going to review the shot video and notes again. :-D Kept his dose at 4.5 since I won't be home all day.

Scooter is happy as a lark with another sunny day! Little does he know outside in the sun is sub zero temps. He seems to only want super supper food right now.

Thank you all for your input and experience ladies I could not do this without you all! :-D

It is nice to have the some of the Canadian women's hockey on TV down here. Love the Olympics!

Linda
 
Hi guys .. bummer on the possible furshot .. oooo .. scooter is a lucky kitty to get a peak of sunshine today! Have a great day guys!
 
Those darn fur shots, they are so annoying! Hopefully more got in than you thought ;-) Scooter, you coming down to blue today to hang out with my Chyna? It's so good he's so happy! Have a great Monday :-D
 
he kinda looks like he's bouncing from the blues, but clearing the bounce in just a few hours.

for a little encouragement linda, scroll through his ss from the start of Lev until now. squint a little and just look at the colors change. he's gone from a mostly red/black ss to a yellow & blue ss, with just bits of pink now. what a huge improvement he's made!

you've got 9 cycles past the furshot - unless you really think you gave a furshot yesterday morning, i think you could go ahead and increase him again - see if he can get down into the greens. i think you are mostly around to monitor. you don't want to wait too long because they get used to whatever range they are in and it takes that much more insulin to move them. Over 3.0u is considered a larger dose and a 0.5u increase is recommended.

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs).

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Hi Linda,
Good luck with the dose increase. I hope it will get those numbers lower. Julie is right: Scooter's SS looks so much better now. Keep up the good work. Those fur shots are annoying (nobody knows that better than I-- the fur-shot expert :lol: ). Every time I give one I say: "oh no, just when he was doing so well." And my DH says: fuhgeddaboutit.

That was some rough women's hockey game today (Canada vs. Finland). I kept waiting for curling to come on and it never did. Bummer!

Have a good day and evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top