4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +8 93 +12 59 +14 65 Chubby at the Vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Its our turn.

Chubby hid from us all night, and a few minutes ago I started to hear howling and crying. I found him lying on his side, mouth wide open, drooling and gasping for air.

Its 6 Am, my vet opens at 9.

This is freaking me out.
To make matters worse I have to get to a 10AM appointment. But it looks like thats not going to happen.

He wont eat. He just wants to hide. My poor little guy.

My apratment is fairly cool given the temp outside (its comfortable in here)

Waiting 3 hours for the vet is going to be tough for the both of us.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

Do you have an emergency 24 hour vet nearby? Your ver might have a number on their answering machine for emergencys. Sounds like Chubby is having breathing problems? Does he have asthma?
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

You might have to go the Emergency Vet. I hope not. (((Jay and Chubby))) You're both in my thoughts and prayers. Fingers crossed, and sending snowflakes and feel better now vines to Chubby.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

So sorry to hear, I would take him to the emergency vet if you can! Sending positive thoughts and healing vines your way!
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

I am a vet tech Jay and my advice to you is to get him to a vet right now do not wait to see your vet thats too long of a wait for him with those symptoms
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

(((((((((((((((((Chubby))))))))))))))))))))))
Please update when you can.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

For everyone that's been worried about Chubby, and rightfully so, I don't know what the situation is now but I did receive an email from Jay due to the similarity to Alex's symptoms and in it he stated that ' by 7 he (Chubby) was looking ok'

I'm guessing he did go to his meeting and is planning on taking Chubbs to vet after.

I see that you're all concerned and I don't want you thinking the worst.

Caryl

ETA: This is just a guess as I emailed him back and told him that I thought he should get back and take him to the vet also. I haven't heard back yet.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

JaniceandSpike said:
Do you have an emergency 24 hour vet nearby? Your ver might have a number on their answering machine for emergencys. Sounds like Chubby is having breathing problems? Does he have asthma?

He doesnt have asthma,

I just got back from my 10 o'clock appointment. Obviously something is wrong with him. He is hiding, wants to be alone, and looks like he has been thru the ringer (which he has).

We are going back to the Vet at 3 today
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

Michelle & Scrabble said:
So sorry to hear, I would take him to the emergency vet if you can! Sending positive thoughts and healing vines your way!

I've bene living here only 2 years or so, and I knew I forgot to do something. Finding an emergency Vet that is close by and open 24 hours.

Just got back in from my 10 AM appt, We are going back to the Vet at 3. Clearly he is sick, hiding, wants to be left alone, like he has been through the wringer.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

D and Noisy said:
(((((((((((((((((Chubby))))))))))))))))))))))
Please update when you can.


I just got back from my 10 AM. We are going back to the Vet at 3. He is quiet and resting, but clearly he is not well, Hiding, not wanting anyone or anything near him. I hope the vet can help him out.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

Caryl and Alex said:
For everyone that's been worried about Chubby, and rightfully so, I don't know what the situation is now but I did receive an email from Jay due to the similarity to Alex's symptoms and in it he stated that ' by 7 he (Chubby) was looking ok'

I'm guessing he did go to his meeting and is planning on taking Chubbs to vet after.

I see that you're all concerned and I don't want you thinking the worst.

Caryl

ETA: This is just a guess as I emailed him back and told him that I thought he should get back and take him to the vet also. I haven't heard back yet.


Just got back called the Vet, we are going back in at 3.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

My fingers are still crossed, and they have been all morning (except when typing).
Sending snowflakes to Chubby.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

D and Noisy said:
Thank you Carly for that update! Yes, was very worried.


HOw do you think I feel?

I have him in my lap, trying to comfort him and keep in relatively quiet.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Chubbs is at the Vet.

I came home with an empty carrier.

They are running a battery of tests as he is in pretty bad shape, and I'll find out in the morning what next steps are if any.

On the flip side.

Frankie does real well at 2.75 units when he doesnt eat. He is at 59 at +12.

Given whats been going on today. I'm going to wait till I feel really comfortable about giving him his dose. I more concerned about Chubby.

I'm like totally bummed out about Chbuby
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Dear Jay, We hope that by now you have had a good report on Chubby's condition. Sending healing vines to your sweet kitty. When in doubt about where to go with an emergency in NYC, try the Bergh Memorial Animal Hospital of the ASPCA: http://www.aspca.org/aspca-nyc/berg-mem ... pital.html They have 24=-hour hospital care and also have after-business hours walk-ins for emergencies. They would also be able to refer you to a clinic in your neighborhood. I lived in Brooklyn for many years and found the emergency clinic at Animal Kind Vet Hospital on 7th Ave. in Park Slope to be excellent. Hope your kitty feels better soon.

Ella
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Thinking of Chubby and you and praying it's something fixable. Try not to think the worst.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

I'm sorry Jay. It is so very clear how much you love your cats.
((((((((((((((((((Chubby))))))))))))))))))
Many healing vines and snowflakes for Chubby.
I'm sorry to hear Frankie's bowls went untouched. Maybe he will eat now that you are home and you will be able to give a reduced shot tonight.
You guys are on in my thoughts.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

sending healing vines and snowflakes for Chubby. I hope you'll get good news soon.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

((((((Jay and Chubby)))))) I am praying for a wise and good vet to figure out what Chubby's problem is and correct it.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Dyana said:
((((((Jay and Chubby)))))) I am praying for a wise and good vet to figure out what Chubby's problem is and correct it.

Frankie and I r too
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Libby and Lucy said:
sending healing vines and snowflakes for Chubby. I hope you'll get good news soon.

Thanks
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Ella & Stu said:
Dear Jay, We hope that by now you have had a good report on Chubby's condition. Sending healing vines to your sweet kitty. When in doubt about where to go with an emergency in NYC, try the Bergh Memorial Animal Hospital of the ASPCA: http://www.aspca.org/aspca-nyc/berg-mem ... pital.html They have 24=-hour hospital care and also have after-business hours walk-ins for emergencies. They would also be able to refer you to a clinic in your neighborhood. I lived in Brooklyn for many years and found the emergency clinic at Animal Kind Vet Hospital on 7th Ave. in Park Slope to be excellent. Hope your kitty feels better soon.

Ella
I wont know till tomorrow after 9:30

Going to make for an intersting day at work
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Libby and Lucy said:
sending healing vines and snowflakes for Chubby. I hope you'll get good news soon.


thanks..it will be good news, I have no doubt
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

D and Noisy said:
I'm sorry Jay. It is so very clear how much you love your cats.
((((((((((((((((((Chubby))))))))))))))))))
Many healing vines and snowflakes for Chubby.
I'm sorry to hear Frankie's bowls went untouched. Maybe he will eat now that you are home and you will be able to give a reduced shot tonight.
You guys are on in my thoughts.

Im going to test him in 15 minutes...I'm not sure about the reduced dose and when to shoot. He ate a bit and has a long way to go before I feel comfortable in shooting anything, let alone a reduce dose.
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 +7 105 +8 93 +12 59 Chubby at the Vet

Sending my strongest Good health vibes to Chubby!!! We are waiting to hear & support you Jay--we are all praying for him to be well soon!
 
Re: 4.8 Frankie AMPS 325 Chubby is sick

Jay said:
Michelle & Scrabble said:
So sorry to hear, I would take him to the emergency vet if you can! Sending positive thoughts and healing vines your way!

I've bene living here only 2 years or so, and I knew I forgot to do something. Finding an emergency Vet that is close by and open 24 hours.

Just got back in from my 10 AM appt, We are going back to the Vet at 3. Clearly he is sick, hiding, wants to be left alone, like he has been through the wringer.

Oradell Animal Hospital is 24/7 state of the art and is 15 minutes or less from Hackensack. It's right next to the Sport's Authority at The Fashion Center in Paramus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top