2/18 Rocky PMPS 380 +2 386 +4 407

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Well, it would be a better morning if I didn't have a headache and feel like I'm catching a cold. Rocky is doing the backstroke in blue this morning. I'm pretty afraid of any numbers in blue in the morning now... I feel like I must test Rocky every 20 minutes now, instead of every 2 hrs.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113902

Rocky's recap of yesterday:

AMPS 262
+2 328
+8 282

PMPS 264
+2 299
+4 284
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162

Every color that you experience is always a new thing, and it can be a bit intimidating at first, but you'll get used to them pretty quickly, and will think that they're a piece of cake. He's starting the day off very nicely, though. I'll be sending you tons of healing vines, and I hope that you start to feel better soon. Try and have a good day.
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Don't be afraid of blue preshots - one day you will be shooting green :-D

Take care of yourself. DBF and I have both been down with the flu since Thursday - today is the first day my temp registered normal.
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162

Hi Tina,
That's an excellent AMPS number. Just get your +1 and +2 and you will have a good idea of what kind of a cycle it is going to be. You don't need to test every 20 minutes!
Stay clear of colds! Use positive thinking!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +2 115

Hi everyone,

I really liked the higher blue number, but I just tested him again before his regular 2nd meal of the day, and he has dropped to 115. Nail biting time even though 115 is a relatively good number. I hope he can surf this and doesn't feel like diving today. nailbite_smile

I may go back to bed for just one hour and then test him again. Still apprehensive or the morning "blues." Morning greens, if they EVER happen for Rocky, will be a dousy for me.
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +2 115

Tina, blue is good. Blue is your friend. These are nice, healing numbers for Rocky. Don't be afraid of them. Go back to bed and feel better. This is going to be a good day - honest! At least we have nice weather! :-D
 
Re: We're goin' down.. 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +2 115 +4.3 77

I slept through my alarm clock!! I was going to test Rocky at 1pm but woke up at 1:26pm.

I hope he doesn't go any lower that 77.. but it's really not his style once he gets into the greens. He likes to do some real deep digging into the greens. Going to re-test at 2PM PST, which is his +5, instead of waiting until +6.

I want to clear something up too. I was giving a FAT 1.50u before his dive into BG 29 on Saturday. I was measuring his dose so that the syringe plunger was touching the 1.5ou line.

When I decreased Rocky's dose on Saturday night, February 15, and the amount of insulin that he is getting right now, is really more of an accurate 1.50u, with the plunger being enveloped into the 1.50u line marker on the syringe. I hope that makes sense to everyone. The dose that Rocky is getting now looks more like the 1.50u dose in the photo on the FDMB.

The other thing that changed on Saturday, besides getting insulin from the Solaris Pen, is I am now using Relion 3/10 syringes instead of the BD type. I was out of the BD's and to buy any in quantity , Walmart required that I must have a prescription to do so. The restriction did not apply to the Relion syringe with needles so I bought those instead.

I don't think the syringe maker, BD or Relion, should change the line markers because they are the same size of syringe.
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +2 115 +4.3 77 +5 92

Whew... Ok he went UP!! I know I shouldn't be glad for that but I sort'a am this time. This *may be* a first time Rocky touched a green among the blues and didn't go waaaay down.

I still feel like poking his ear again, just to be sure, in 1/2 hr instead of at +6. My poor babies ear.

Not sure what I'm going to do if Rocky is in the low 100s at his next shoot time. But that isn't for another 5 hours so he potentially go WAY UP from this short dip into the green field today.
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +2 115 +4.3 77 +5 92 +7 272

hard to know how one syringe compares to another in dose. we've had people compare the lines on the syringes and found even within one brand there can be a huge variance. that's why some people use the calipers.

great cycle for rocky today! you WANT this! really you do. :mrgreen: well i *think* you do. he is newly diagnosed and has a chance of going OTJ if you can keep him under 120. if that is your goal . . . some people aren't going for that, just for maintenance. have you thought about this and are you clear in your own mind what your goal for him is?

my only concern from your comments is going to be hard to figure out, but i'll just say that when you have a cat in the 20's, a full 0.25u reduction is really mandatory. that's dangerously low and even if Rocky didn't show hypo symptoms we absolutely don't want him to be there again. a cat that's gotten to low numbers and having hypo symptoms is in a crisis - and our task here is to get into normal numbers but to prevent a crisis and keep all of our cats safe. anything in normal numbers (50-120) is basically equally beneficial to his body. there is nothing to be gained by getting into low low numbers and a lot of risk there.

but i know that you've changed syringes, so . . . what is 1.5 on one brand will not be 1.5u on another. i don't know how we can compare them. all i know is that it's essential he got a dose reduction from the fat 1.5u on the BD brand, so i will leave the information in your hands to figure out what to do with it. :-D
 
Re: 2/18 Rocky PMPS 380

Hi Julie,,

Yes, of course my goal is to get Rocky OTJ. I am having a very difficult time in getting him regulated though.. One day he's too low and the next day he's surfing stinky pinkies. I seem to not be doing something right. I worry that the time is past for Rocky to go OTJ, although I had hoped it would happen for him.

I will keep working on it though. That is the purpose of doing the tight regulation for me. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top