2/28 Jersey PMPS-188, +2-318

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
4:00 a.m.: Jersey got into the closet, found "da bird," and woke me up as she dragged it around the house meowing. She's such a brat!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114572

Yesterday's numbers:
AMPS - 92 (no shot)
PMPS - 318 (.10 unit)
+2 - 258
+4 - 554

For those who have been trying to help me interpret the numbers....I think I'm catching on but want to make sure I'm getting it right. Last night, we had our first 500+ number. :cry: Would this most likely be a bounce due to her low morning number?

Today, we had an AMPS of 330. We started the new vial of Lantus (....so much easier than the pen....). I'm keeping my fingers crossed for good numbers today.

I'm a newbie still, but I believe I should be sending out healing vines to others???? I'll stray from the jargon today and just say that I hope all of you and your little ones have a fantastic day with good numbers, good health, and lots of love. I wish I had enough knowledge to help all of you as much as you're helping us.

Shelly

P.S. My sister sent me this link to the Sad Cat Diary. It's hilarious, and I can't resist sharing: http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q...&mid=FE234DB3DF2869319D2FFE234DB3DF2869319D2F. I hope that's not against the rules!
 
Re: 2/28 Jersey AMPS 330 - Was that a bounce last night?

Jersey could be bouncing from the skipped(?) shot from the morning of the 26th. I don't see a dose amount, and she went down to 96 that morning, which makes me believe that you skipped, and that's fine as it's a new #, and being new yourself, you're not comfortable with that. Yet. We've all been there. :lol: I freaked out when I saw a 66 the other morning. Needless to say, I retested in 10 minutes and got a higher # which I was more comfortable shooting, and which I posted on the SS.

On the other hand, perhaps Jersey got into some contraband without your knowledge (if you have a multicat household, and/or have dogs, too that are free fed). Contraband thievery can happen if you're not on top of it. :lol: That would've spiked her # last night, especially if it was dry food.

Bounces will clear. If her #s don't improve with this current dose, please ask for dosing advice before increasing. Her #s will come down, but it'll take time. You're doing a wonderful job! :-D
 
Re: 2/28 Jersey AMPS 330 - Was that a bounce last night?

Good Morning Shelly!

Welcome!

Just stopping in to say hi. I don't have any advise for you as I am relatively new too (2 mo's), but I like to pop in and give my best to fellow FD travelers. This site has really helped me, so I am glad you have found it and seem to be settling in nicely! I learn a lot by reading other people's condos and checking their SS's. I'm not creeping...I'm learning! hahahah

I hope you have a fantastic Friday!

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/28 Jersey AMPS 330 - Was that a bounce last night?

Thanks, Angela. We did skip the AM shot yesterday; it was an extended work day, so no one would have been here to check her. I hated to shoot low for the first time on a day like that.

We definitely have a multi-critter household. Two indoor civies, two outdoor civies, dogs, goats, chickens.....All of the cats (indoor and out) have been switched to low-carb canned food. Thankfully, Jersey can get into all the contraband she wants, but it won't do her any good. She'll still be eating the same, ol' yucky stuff she gets in her food bowl. :-D Our only problem is that my husband fed her high-carb FF from the hypo kit the other morning. I have now shown him all of the can labels again, explained the difference, and put big X's on the top of the high-carb foods (which are stored in the hypo kit). He must have been half asleep when he pulled that can out - we don't even store it close to the regular food.

The good news is that Jersey was feeling great - even at that high number. She loves da bird (thanks to those on the board who recommended it) and was firing around the living room chasing it yesterday evening. I'm trying to get a ketone test, but the little bugger has been very elusive in terms of her potty habits....probably because she knows I'm waiting and she's trying to make my life more difficult. :lol:

Thanks again!
Shelly
 
Re: 2/28 Jersey AMPS 330 - Was that a bounce last night?

Thanks for your welcome, Rebekah. I, too, spend a lot of time reading others' posts and looking at their SS's. I agree with you - it's not creeping. I actually prefer to call it lurking! :-D

Shelly
 
Re: 2/28 Jersey AMPS 330 - Was that a bounce last night?

Let me clarify a bit. There's a difference between numbers soaring due to a skipped shot/fur shot/reduced dose versus a bounce. It's no surprise that numbers are likely to go up if you don't give a shot since there's not enough insulin available to keep numbers in a good range. On the other hand, if numbers drop low, drop fast, or are in ranges that your kitty's body regards as lower than normal, there's a good chance you'll see numbers spike upward. Numbers rise due to the liver and pancreas releasing a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones.

In Jersey's case, the high numbers were probably due to a combination of a bounce and no insulin. There's a good chance the bounce would have occurred no matter what. If you'd shot, the bounce may not have been quite as extreme.
 
Re: 2/28 Jersey AMPS-330; +3-214 - Was that a bounce last ni

Thanks for your interpretation of the numbers, Sienne. Your explanation makes perfect sense. (Right now it does...later on, I'm sure I'll forget it and have to ask the same questions all over again! :YMSIGH:)

Shelly
 
Re: 2/28 Jersey AMPS-330; +3-214; +5-355; +7-246; +10-242

Numbers today:

AMPS-330, .10 units from new Lantus vial
+2.75-214
+4-355
+7-246
+10-242

PMPS-188; last ate 2 hours ago

We haven't shot under 200 yet. Julie gave me some great advice last Sunday about options for low numbers (http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114295), but I wanted to check in again before making a decision. At this point, we're stalling (no food) until we can get some advice. We will be home tonight to monitor, although we tend to go to bed early. I have four alarm clocks I can set if necessary. :-D
 
Re: Stalling - Need Advice; PMPS-188; 1st time shooting low

Hi Shelly!

Have you rechecked since the 188? Is the number rising or still falling?
You have the hypo kit ready if needed and you said you will be home tonight to monitor, so if the number is climbing you could shoot. You will want to get a +2 and post with that number. If she drops at +2 or is around the pmps #, you'll want to watch closely.
If the number is the same or falling, stall and don't shoot.
 
Re: Stalling - Need Advice; PMPS-188; 1st time shooting low

Hi Kim,

I just re-checked, and it said it was 287 - meter variance????? That was after a 30-minute stall. I checked myself and got a normal reading (78).

I do have the hypo kit ready and will be around this evening.

Thank you so much, Kim. I will shoot and do some early tests.

Shelly
 
Re: Stalling - Need Advice; PMPS-188; 1st time shooting low

If you ever get a test you're not too sure about, I usually did a retest. Sometimes the blood doesn't get sucked up enough..and yes meter variance is a bugger ;-)
Happy shooting!
 
glad Kim was around to help you out!

use the number you actually got before you shot as your pmps. So if you had a +12 of 188, on your spreadsheet, i'd put it in the pmps column, then underneath it in the same pmps column, also put +12.5=287.

i did it like this:
12=188
12.5=287

that lets anyone looking at the spreadsheet know that you actually shot the 287. Your subject line would also have pmps-287. Tomorrow you'll want to shoot at either +11.45 or 12 hrs after the shot tonight. If Jersey is high at amps, say over 250, you could probably shoot at +11.5, bringing you back to your usual schedule.

Our no-shoot number for newbies on this forum is 150 until you have a little more experience. as you are comfortable, you want to gradually reduce that number as long as Jersey can be monitored. Eventually, hopefully, you'll be shooting 60's and Jersey will flatten out and just surf along. That's the path to going off of insulin. We just try to help you get to that point safely. :YMHUG:

happy Friday night! woot!
 
Good morning,

Thanks for checking in with us yesterday, Julie. I've made note of the record-keeping tips you made. I do have a question about the timing.

Tomorrow you'll want to shoot at either +11.45 or 12 hrs after the shot tonight. If Jersey is high at amps, say over 250, you could probably shoot at +11.5, bringing you back to your usual schedule.

If we shot 30 minutes late last night, why would we want to shoot early (+11.45 or +11.5) this morning? Wouldn't we want to shoot a little bit late this morning (+12.15 maybe)? I'm sorry - it's early in the morning, and my mind isn't yet clicking on all cylinders! :-D

Thanks again!
Shelly
 
good morning Shelly ~O)

Your thinking is right that you want to stick as close to 12hrs apart as with Lantus it does make a difference. What Julie is suggesting is that by shooting 15min earlier than last nights shot this morning then 15min early tonight again will get you back on your shot schedule. Or you could do a one time of 30min to get back on schedule. When we stall and it throws our shot schedule out the door, the way to get it back is in increments of no more than 30min/day total. So if you missed by an hour, it would have taken two days to get back. Does that make any sense?
 
I'm with you, Kim! I'm still thinking in terms of my "old" times. When Julie said I would want to shoot earlier, she was basing her comments on my "new" times. For example, if I typically shoot at 5:30, but shot at 6:00 last night, I needed to move back my shot time to 5:45 this morning. I was approaching it from the "Hey, typical shot time is at 5:30, so I'll add 15 minutes to it." Julie approached it as, "Hey, your new shot time is 6:00, but you can move it up by 15 minutes." .....Same concept, just a different way of looking at it!

Thank goodness for coffee. Pot #1 is already in my belly. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top