do you think +5 was a bounce and if so do i reduce?

Status
Not open for further replies.
A lovely PS this morning indeed! :cool:

The +5 is likely a bounce - we don't know how much blue he sees and also there is a possibility that this mornings PS was actually a rise from a lower number.
And what a different picture emerged with the additional tests on yesterdays AM cycle. Well done!
You can see that for that cycle the nadir was +8. He may be a late nadir type. If you could swing a +10 on a PM cycle sometime it would be great.

Glad to hear you are testing for the presence of ketones - if you ever see even a trace indicated on the strip post for assistance immediately.

A quick 'housekeeping' item -
We refer to the daily threads here in Lantus Land as 'condos' ;-)
Please create one new thread each day, starting your daily thread with date, kitty's name, and AMPS.
Your thread will be bumped to the top of the list when you or anyone else posts on your thread.
This keeps all your questions, comments, and replies in one place and makes it easier for us to spot you.
 
do I link everything like I have done today or just start a new topic completely with kittys name etc .im sorry so many questions.theres so many things to learn.i checked for ketones this am but that was ok.he seems a little more perky this evening and was meowing ready for his tea :-D still not himself but much better than last night.
it helps ease this awful mess a little knowing youre all here for support! thanku <3
 
You are doing great ! :cool:

Learning about treating Baileys FD is daunting at first but will get easier.
adhering to the posting conventions used in LL provides consistency and efficiency for those who are willing to help.

For today you can simply edit the subject of your first comment on this thread to read:
3/5 Bailey UK AMPS 182, +5 376
going forward, each day you start a new condo with the subject line presented in the same manner - month/day Bailey UK AMPSxxx.
In the body of your first post of each daily condo you link to the previous days condo, as you did today.
This makes it easy for those willing to help to quickly and chronologically go back in time and spot important information.

edited to add - regarding your question, you reduce according to the TR protocol-

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Since Bailey is newly diagnosed (less than 1 year) if he dips under 50 you reduce.
 
thanks sandy.il try my best tomorrow am.eek! im not very good with computers I have to say but learning as I am about lantus every day! again this sounds like a crazy question but do you think with changing his food to wet he might need less lantus hence bounces?? obviously now I wouldn't change it as I know ive got to stick to this so you all an see whats happening.its trying to do tests when needed as im at work 9 hours a day.ive cut out my social life at the mo to get him right!!! it needs to be done!
 
hi anna!

great job getting in those extra tests - i know how hard it can be in the middle of the night. it does really help us see better what's going on.

and how about that 182 this morning!?! WOOT! Yes, i think he's bouncing, as you suggested. Some cats will just barely touch down into lower numbers and then off they go back up high. the more time they spend in lower numbers, the more they get used to it, and then the bouncing lessens.

i'm glad you're "hanging in there!" :lol: you must not have that expression in England. To us in the US (Canada too?), it means to persevere and wait through the difficult times hoping that things are going to get better. Do you have an equivalent expression? English isn't English everywhere, is it!? ;-) :-D

edited to add: just to clarify, cats can bounce from just about any number. just because they are bouncing doesn't mean they got into significantly low numbers, it can be any range of numbers that they aren't used to. So a cat accustomed to 400's can bounce from hitting 250. Dosing decisions are based upon the lowest numbers the cat gets to on a particular dose.

also, how he feels is very important. High numbers can definitely make a cat feel yucky. But if he begins to seem sickly in that he doesn't want to eat, or you think he is behaving differently than the past week or so, please say so. that might mean a change in tactics.
 
...do you think with changing his food to wet he might need less lantus hence bounces??
With the switch to low carb (LC) canned food, there is a possibility that Bailey will need less insulin. However, less Lantus doesn't mean fewer bounces. One does not imply the other. Cat's bounce when their numbers drop into low numbers, if their numbers drop quickly, or if they drop into a BG range that they haven't been spending a whole lot of time in. The bouncing is a normal part of the process. The more time Bailey spends in normal BG range, the less likely that bounces will occur and/or the bounces will clear more quickly.
 
You're doing great Anna, getting those tests in! We totally understand it's not fun to stay up late or have to get up in the middle of the night, but it's really important for Bailey, and so we can get the whole picture.

I was trying to figure out what time you test him (Your AMPS) and when you leave for work. You said the other day "his before bed test is the am shot as its 1am". We might be able to help you figure out something if you can tell us what your schedule is as far as what time you have to leave for work, and what time you can get home on days you work (IF you can) and when you get home. We have quite a few members who also work full time jobs, and sometimes it takes a little "creativity", but the people here can come up with some pretty good ideas!

I had another question for you too. What food are you feeding Bailey now?

We're all here for you!!

 
weeing alot,drinking alot today!just feel like im losing him

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114925#p1210228

I inject bailey at 1am and 1pm every day as I work shifts so some days I can work a 4am-12pm or 1pm-9pm,even a 10am-7pm or a 7am-4pm(that's all in one week) but whatever happens at 1pm.I know I will be home.because of the fact the 1am shot is at night ive put it down as the pmshot on the spread sheet if that makes sense.

hes behaving very differently this week,very lethargic,lolling places,not wanting to know,having to hand feed him,then hed just lie down at that point cos he didn't have the energy.i check for ketones most days and theres no sign.the last 2 days theres been the occasional meowing for his dinner and coming to me for a cuddle like he always used to do but then he goes back to just lolling about.its tough to see when he used to be so inquisitive and playful.
hes eating encore 100% natural with chicken breast. I do some days feel like im losing him.hes not been same at all the past few weeks.he used to play lots and now he doesn't seem bothered and just sleeps.it makes me sad :-(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top