hes drinking so much today :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114925

hes just not himself :-( hes drinking lots today and which is obviously resulting in him wee weeing.hes just lolling where he drinks.ive checked for ketones and thats ok.ive got to go to work in 2 hours and hate leaving him.my mums going to call in on him half way through my shift to make sure he has his tea.its so awful.i just don't know what to do.its easier having a child as at least you could take them to hospital to get them right.our vets haven't a clue about this insulin so its tough going it alone.
 
When the kitties are in the higher numbers, they will drink and pee more. All I can say is hang in there. I read about cats all the time on this board start to act more like their younger selves once their BG numbers are more normalized.
I'm glad you have your mom to check in on Bailey. I used to have a neighbor that I could ask to check in on J.D. and that was a relief.
Think blue, Bailey. I hope you come home to see some blue numbers, Anna.
 
Hi Anna,
Thinking of you and Bailey. It is so hard to leave for work when our kitties are not quite right. Hope his numbers come down soon and you some see of the old Bailey return.
 
Hi Anna,

I just wanted to stop in and introduce myself. I'm Shelly, and my cat's name is Jersey. We started on Lantus about the same time you did, and we're still seeing bad numbers, too. I've been told to be patient; it's really hard to be!

I don't have any words of wisdom for you, unfortunately, but I can relate to your situation. I have taken Jersey to two different vets, and neither one of them seem overly knowledgeable about feline diabetes. As a result, we're doing this on our own....with a lot of help from the individuals on this board.

I hope you start to see great improvements with Bailey in the coming days. I'm sending positive thoughts and prayers your way!

Shelly
 
Just sending along our prayers and support, too. Unfortunately, diabetes is a dance the does require patience, as you now, and when our loved ones feel yucky we just want to fix it NOW. We all know how you feel. You're doing an awesome job, Anna...Bailey will start feeling better soon. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Anna,

It is definitely frustrating. We can all sympathize! Hang in there. Bailey will start to feel better soon. Cobb spent months in numbers that were WAY too high. Take a look at his spreadsheet...the red and black are awful. But as we got him more insulin (safely), his numbers are improving little by little.

Hang in there! You're doing really well!

~Suzanne
 
Until your kitty's #s get better, he's going to do this for a while yet. It's perfectly normal, and it will get better as you continue to take care of him. Just hang in there.
 
I can't add any more to what the others have added! It is normal for a unregulated diabetic to drink more and pee more. I know that when Spot's numbers are higher than usual, he also drinks a lot. Hang in there and keep posting!
 
Hi Ana & Bailey,
Just stopping by to say Hello! My kitty Shadow has some really HI numbers too, Since I started working with everyone here, we have brought her down a bit! One of the best pieces of advice that I got for my own soul, was "Your Kitty didn't get diabetes over night, controlling it will not happen over night too!"
 
Piling on the vines for you and sweet Bailey. I know it's hard not to worry. I hope he finds his way to lower floors soon. I'm glad you found us to help!
 
Hi Anna! just checking in on you and Bailey. I'm thinking it's in the middle of the night for you and wondering if you've got any more #s to add to the spreadsheet. Is your mum testing him mid-day?

You're at 8 days now with no dry food - that's super. I'm so glad you caught the 182 yesterday morning. Looking at the protocol:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Bailey is doing some bouncing. That 182 looks like it's caused a bounce. You'll want to hold this dose for a bit - bounces can take up to 72ish hours to clear, so that would be the morning of 3/8 - and see what he comes down to when it clears.

Continue to check for ketones as you can. The excessive drinking and urination are part of the high numbers. As long as he's still eating ok and not behaving sickly, there's not a lot to be done right now. Punkin used to lay against his water bowl when his numbers were high. i absolutely hated to see it. If he's acting sickly - vomiting, refusing to eat, or sitting in a "meatloaf" position with his head down, feet tucked under him - please say so.

Here's the description of a New Dose Wonkiness & Bounces - i think you've already seen it, but just in case it would be helpful to see it again.
 
Hang in there (and in here) Anna! :cool:

I remember those days well - below is my boy when he was unregulated . He needed more that a bowl for his water needs

It took 21 months and a good bit of work but he made it. I can't remember the last time I saw him drink water.
For some inspiration, click on the 'Black Kitty OTJ Party' link below my signature.

Don't despair!
It will get better.
 

Attachments

  • BK pre insulin 2 01-27-08-1314 (400x218).jpg
    BK pre insulin 2 01-27-08-1314 (400x218).jpg
    75.5 KB · Views: 218
another thought - exercise can help improve blood sugar. if you can get him playing at all, that would help. i got a harness & leash for punkin (he was an indoor kitty the last several years of his life) and took him outside on walks. he dragged me under bushes and even tried to pull me under a fence one time! walking a cat isn't quite like walking a dog! but that's one thing you could do that might help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top