3/7 bailey uk amps 362, +4 205 (is this how i do it)

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114949

no hes not vomiting or sickly.hes still eating but yes laying by his water bowl.julie and punkin,its reassuring to know that this is usual behaviours.theres is absolutely no one else that bailey would let do the blood tests.he trusts me with his life (literally) but anyone else hasn't got a chance so whilst im a work I cant test.i just have to do them when I can.
at little happier moment for me.....................ive just got home for lunch and he was sat in the window waiting for me to come home.he hasn't done that in a long while :-D x
 
Re: 3/7 bailey uk amps 20.1 (is this how i do it)

The subject line is largely correct. You will need to edit to put the pre-shot number in non-metric format. If you look at all of the other subject lines, since the majority of the members here are from the US, we use US format for test results. You should have AMPS 149.
 
Very nice - the subject line, the numbers, sweet little Bailey's picture, and that he was waiting in the window for you :-D !!!
 
Re: 3/7 bailey uk amps 20.1 (is this how i do it)

Hey Anna!!!

The spreadsheet does convert it for us un-educationated Americans thank goodness, but just times your number by 18 and it'll make it easier on us. They've been telling our school children that the US was going to convert to metric since I was a little kid (back when dinosaurs roamed the Earth)...Still hasn't happened!!

I'm sure it's a pain for you though to have to remember to do it, but you'll get used to it after you've done it awhile too.

On behalf of the people of the United States of America, we're sorry!! :oops: :roll: :lol:

Nice to see a sunny yellow for Bailey today! He looks much more manly in yellow than in pink or red, but Hey Bailey!! BLUE is for boys!! Come on down!!!

He may still see those blues too! We don't have enough data yet to say that he "Usually" nadir's later in the cycle, but he's so close with that 205...just another 6 points! It'd be great if you could get a +6 or +7 today too, but I know it may already be too late. (I'm awful at converting time zones) If it is too late, now might be a good time for a +11 too (again, time zone's aren't my thing....lol) The +1's and +11's are the "forgotten" tests, but can help a lot going forward in learning more about how Bailey reacts. Just every once in awhile it's good to get those to add the little pieces to the big puzzle that is Bailey's chart.

You're doing great..and it's great that Bailey seems to feel better too. Wonderful to hear he was watching for his mamabean in the window! Lunch with your best friend..who could ask for more?

Keep up the great work and hope you're having a fantastic Friday!

Edited to add...there's no way to know before you get other tests in, or do your PMPS, but it's possible you might get a higher number than you might be expecting (or praying for) Remember, Bailey's liver has been used to living in high numbers for quite some time, so although a 205 isn't a "low number", it's a pretty big drop from 362 in 4 hours, so it's possible Mr. Liver is going to panic and release those hormones and sugars he keeps stored for emergencies and you're going to get a "bounce". If it happens, try not to worry. Although annoying and disappointing, it's normal, and as Bailey gets better regulated, and Mr. Liver spends more time in lower numbers, he'll start to re-learn that it's ok to be there and start to panic less high, as well as clear them faster. When China first started, if we got a low, or had a large drop (from like 400 to 250 fairly quickly), she'd bounce back really high and take a full 72 hours to "clear the bounce". She still bounces, but not so high, and can usually clear the bounce in one cycle. Bailey will get there too!
 
chris and china im so glad I saw your message before I did Bails +6. it made sense why I then got 364 2 hours later!

I don't need to work out the US numbers a lovely member on here set me my spreadsheet up so it converts it automatically.good job as my brins like mush at the moment!im having enough problems just functioning without working out numbers.lol

il just be so glad when I have more days like today and hes back to his little chirpy,playful self.hes only 8 so its tough to watch.i just keep thinking hes another day on to getting right and regulated.
hes going to the vets in the morning for a overhaul.kidney,liver and fructosimime check.ive tested for ketone and there are no sign.he has to be sedated as he gets o stressed.my poor boy but I HAVE to know if all his little things are ok.then I can just crack on and keep doing what im doing! 'rest my mind' if you like!

this site is an absolute godsend!
 
Just something for you to consider on the fructosamine test.

It can be a helpful tool to tell you where Bailey's numbers have been in the past couple of weeks, but when you're home testing, it's usefulness is diminished since once you have a few weeks worth of test data, you're already going to know where his numbers have been. It's another charge you're paying the vet to do that you can do at home though.

Yes, the spreadsheet is great! We're really glad it converts the numbers for us! I was just saying that when you post here, and have to post the US numbers instead of the mmol numbers, you can just take the number you get, times it by 18 and that'll convert it for us dumb americans....LOL

Like if you get a 5.6, times it by 18 and you get a 100.8, so round to 101. Most computers have a calculator built in, so it makes it easy to do.

If he doesn't show you some better numbers during his PM cycle tonight, I think you might want to go ahead and add something like "increase dose?" to tomorrow's condo. Maybe even tonights since you'll be home (I'm assuming) for the weekend to get tests. He could still be in the bounce though, so getting lots of opinions is the best, safest way to go. If you do it tonight, just delete the part of your subject line in the first message that says (is this how I do it) since it only allows you to put so many characters in the Subject line.

For some reason, on today's +9, the US numbers are showing 22.3 instead of 401, so it's coding as a green color instead of the icky red that it is though. I'm no tech person so I can't help you there!
 
Hi there :cool:

Glad to hear Bails is playful and chirpy - that's huge!

I'm with Chris regarding the fructosamine test. Save your money for something that is of value - something Bailey needs, like test strips. .
You may have noticed the folks in LL burn through them :lol: . . .

Bring along your ss or your meter, or both. (The meter I use provides a 14 day average).
You have more that 14 days of data - ask the Dr, what more a fructosamine panel going to do? (besides leave your wallet lighter)

Great job mixing up your test times .
I'll bet you feel better knowing that Bails is seeing other colors besides pink and red.
Those tests at different times have created a picture that is much easier on the eyes :cool:
(On the IS tab your AM+9 is populating in mmol/L instead of mg/dl and the color is green instead of red - hopefully someone can assist)

Keep up the good work Anna :thumbup
 
Anna, I just want to say you're doing awesome in working this all out! Bailey is one lucky kitty cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top