Amy&TrixieCat
Member Since 2011
Yesterday
Another early condo for Trix...lots to type, and if I wait till right before work, when I usually do my Saturday post, I won't have time. And, I am so discombobulated with the time change.
Anyway, we had a wonderfully smooth fluids session last night...100mls at PM +4.5. Well, so much for my theory/hope that shooting that far away from shot time will keep her from diving, huh? At the time we did the fluids, she was stuck at a yucky flat stinkus pinkus...our first pink since June 2013 (more on that in a minute!). I thought "Well, given this starting point, we probably won't see a green AMPS." Sheesh...not only was it green, but it was lower than yesterday's AMPS ohmygod_smile ! (Yeah, I know...it's weird to complain about a green AMPS...but you guys know what I'm talking about with our current situation being a little odd.) Her SS is up-t-date with last night's activities. And, her AMPS is really that +11.....I didn't have the heart to poke her little ear yet again, not when that last test was so close to PS test time.
For dinner last night, I started feeding her a 50/50 mix of Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken and B.F.F. Tuna and Chicken Chuckles (she's been having the BFF mixed in with her Wellness for quite some time now, so that one isn't new). I knew she loves the Paw Lickin' because I was feeding it for a while last year, but I stopped because it was sending her BGs all over the place. No matter how much I increased her juice, I just couldn't reign them in. When I initially saw that pink last night, I thought...here we go again, we're going to have to drop the Paw Lickin'. I am sure that the Paw Lickin' at least contributed to that pink.
But, then I remembered one thing I've often seen and often said to others...sometimes we have to work the insulin around other healthcare needs. The Paw Lickin' is lower in phos than the Wellness, AND she loves it. I have to admit, it is pure joy to watch her enjoy her fuds and not have have to follow her around with a pack of FortiFlora for layer after layer of sprinklings. She CPCed right away, and didn't even give the kibbleheads a glance. And, as many of you know, I'm thrilled with Wellness as a company anyway, so I certainly wouldn't mind eliminating it.
Sooooo...I am again going to attempt to keep the Paw Lickin' and work the insulin around it. We'll see how it goes....
With that being said, though, I've decided to reduce her to 2.00U for now, even though I suspect the Paw Lickin' spikes her...just till we get things sorted out with the fluids. As you know, I'm not one to hesitate as far as increases go when they are needed, so we'll adjust once we figure out out to get things to settle down with the "liquid gold."
@Mariko, thank you for the support and suggestions last night! Actually, you reminded me of one thing I hadn't tried yet: moving her shot location. In the past, any time I attempted to shoot anywhere other than her right shoulder, she would flinch, walk away, try to nip, get upset, etc. So, I just settled in with that being her general shot location.
This morning, just for the heck of it, I tried shooting closer to her flank...success! She didn't object to the needle going in, but she definitely felt the insulin...she flinched and attempted a "warning nip", but fortunately - as you know - the shot was over in a split second and all was well.
So we'll shoot closer to her tushy again tonight. It very well could have a strong impact on the fluids situation, and if we can get that settled down, then we can figure out for sure what her new "right" dose is.
Of course I'm probably changing too many factors now...fuds, shot location, fluids time. But, this is it for changes......for now.
I'm heading BTB for a bit...a tad more rest before today's wild ride begins. Have a great day, LL!
Amy
Another early condo for Trix...lots to type, and if I wait till right before work, when I usually do my Saturday post, I won't have time. And, I am so discombobulated with the time change.
Anyway, we had a wonderfully smooth fluids session last night...100mls at PM +4.5. Well, so much for my theory/hope that shooting that far away from shot time will keep her from diving, huh? At the time we did the fluids, she was stuck at a yucky flat stinkus pinkus...our first pink since June 2013 (more on that in a minute!). I thought "Well, given this starting point, we probably won't see a green AMPS." Sheesh...not only was it green, but it was lower than yesterday's AMPS ohmygod_smile ! (Yeah, I know...it's weird to complain about a green AMPS...but you guys know what I'm talking about with our current situation being a little odd.) Her SS is up-t-date with last night's activities. And, her AMPS is really that +11.....I didn't have the heart to poke her little ear yet again, not when that last test was so close to PS test time.
For dinner last night, I started feeding her a 50/50 mix of Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken and B.F.F. Tuna and Chicken Chuckles (she's been having the BFF mixed in with her Wellness for quite some time now, so that one isn't new). I knew she loves the Paw Lickin' because I was feeding it for a while last year, but I stopped because it was sending her BGs all over the place. No matter how much I increased her juice, I just couldn't reign them in. When I initially saw that pink last night, I thought...here we go again, we're going to have to drop the Paw Lickin'. I am sure that the Paw Lickin' at least contributed to that pink.
But, then I remembered one thing I've often seen and often said to others...sometimes we have to work the insulin around other healthcare needs. The Paw Lickin' is lower in phos than the Wellness, AND she loves it. I have to admit, it is pure joy to watch her enjoy her fuds and not have have to follow her around with a pack of FortiFlora for layer after layer of sprinklings. She CPCed right away, and didn't even give the kibbleheads a glance. And, as many of you know, I'm thrilled with Wellness as a company anyway, so I certainly wouldn't mind eliminating it.
Sooooo...I am again going to attempt to keep the Paw Lickin' and work the insulin around it. We'll see how it goes....
With that being said, though, I've decided to reduce her to 2.00U for now, even though I suspect the Paw Lickin' spikes her...just till we get things sorted out with the fluids. As you know, I'm not one to hesitate as far as increases go when they are needed, so we'll adjust once we figure out out to get things to settle down with the "liquid gold."
@Mariko, thank you for the support and suggestions last night! Actually, you reminded me of one thing I hadn't tried yet: moving her shot location. In the past, any time I attempted to shoot anywhere other than her right shoulder, she would flinch, walk away, try to nip, get upset, etc. So, I just settled in with that being her general shot location.
This morning, just for the heck of it, I tried shooting closer to her flank...success! She didn't object to the needle going in, but she definitely felt the insulin...she flinched and attempted a "warning nip", but fortunately - as you know - the shot was over in a split second and all was well.
So we'll shoot closer to her tushy again tonight. It very well could have a strong impact on the fluids situation, and if we can get that settled down, then we can figure out for sure what her new "right" dose is.
Of course I'm probably changing too many factors now...fuds, shot location, fluids time. But, this is it for changes......for now.
I'm heading BTB for a bit...a tad more rest before today's wild ride begins. Have a great day, LL!
Amy