3/9 Trixie PMPS 283 +2 303 +3.75 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I think we finally cracked the code! We'll need to test this out for a few more days, just to be sure, but thanks to the reminder from Mariko the other night, we moved Trix's insulin shot location from roughly her right shoulder area to roughly her right hip area. Years ago, we settled on the right shoulder because when we tried shooting elsewhere, her response was, well, not a happy one. And she still isn't thrilled with a non-shoulder shot, but we'll get used to it. After shooting closer to her hip, we had a lovely flat green day, despite having Paw Lickin' (which historically has spiked her), in the fuds mix, and we had a nice flat blue evening/overnight despite the fluids. Sure, I'd love a lower AMPS...but given the circumstances, I am thrilled with this one!!

Of course, it could be a fluke, so we'll continue getting some overnight tests until we are confident that this is the approach that will prevent those exhausting overnight drops....but hopefully we are finally THERE!

I'm going to continue holding her dose at 2.00U for now, until we know for sure we've got this thing stabilized.

BTB for me now...I love daylight savings time, but trying to do all the "+pokey time" math on top of the loss of an hour on top of the craziness of last week, I am one worn out bean!

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 - Cracked the code??

How wonderful. I hope moving the shot location continues to work. Enjoy your btb.
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 - Cracked the code??

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

WOO HOO! The code is cracked. That is great, and I so hope this is the solution. Very nice numbers yesterday, it is great to read that there was a steady cycle yesterday. Excellent! Good idea too I think on holding the dose.

Enjoy that BTB. I am so with you on this DST thing.... Have a great day too. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 - Cracked the code??

Yikes! I may have been thrilled with that AMPS, but not so much with that +3.25. I think that's probably the Paw Lickin' Chicken talking. I love how she's inconsistent with her response to it....typical FD kitty! Well, at least if we've got the fluids thing figured out - fingers and paws crossed - we can move forward with figuring out the right dose with these fuds...

BTW, yes, she is being radiantly Trixie today :-D !
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 - Cracked the code??

:shock: on that +3. oh yes on the inconsistent response... I remember those days. :roll: I am sure you will figure it all out.

WOO HOO! We have radiant Trixie today. :cool:
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 - Cracked the code??

Hi Amy,
It could just be a plain, old bounce. (from the greens). Anyway, I know that you will get the dose, the shot location, and the Paw Lickin' Chicken coordinated. Maybe Trixie just needs to get her body used to PLC. FF T& G used to spike Rusty's bg, but he liked it so much, and when he had pancreatitis I fed it to him a lot because I knew he would always eat it. Gradually it became one of his staples and it no longer spikes his bgs.

So, carry on. I find daylight savings time very difficult so early in the year. I hate getting up in the dark again!! (and this morning the temperature was zero!).

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 - Cracked the code??

That's good to know, Ella, that Rusty finally stopped spiking with the T&G. (Unfortunately that's another one Trix doesn't like, or we'd be feeding it, too.). I plan to stick it out with the Paw Lickin, and hopefully we can get her numbers somewhat in control. She does love it, and it's phos level is much better than the Wellness (which, as we all know, she is NOT fond of).
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 +7 324 - Cracked the code?

I should have given her a pokey break an just let her be, but I was curious. I was hoping to avoid stinkus pinkus, but what can ya do?

I'm off again Wednesday so I think I'll be ble to make a dose decision Tuesday evening...that shoul give us enough data to support possibly taking her back up if need be.

Back to housework....I should be able to catch up on condos this evening!
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 +7 324 - Cracked the code?

Oh wow, Trix girl, what are you doing way up there! That's great you found a food that Trix likes and is low in phosphorus, and it will just take some experimenting with the food and juice. I remember Mags liking that line of fuds and you were the one first trying it. Good luck on the dose decision. As I recall, every time there is a dosecrease threat, Trixie comes sailing down. Have a nice day, Amy.
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 +7 324 - Cracked the code?

Ok Trixie, can you come back down now? You've tried on some other color dresses and blue still looks better than yellow or pink on you ;-)

Hmm that's interesting on how Rusty got used to those fuds and stopped spiking...it gives me hope to use the steak frites that are low phos/carb! I'm glad you're feeling a bit more comfortable with patterns and fluids. :-D . Hopefully now you can figure out the ideal dose and get that sweet girl back in the lagoon. Have fun doing errands, I hope they go fast so you can relax soon. Happy Sunday! :razz:
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 +7 324 - Cracked the code?


Darn those moving targets, shall we send the ropes for Trixie?
 

Attachments

  • cat fairy crystal ball.jpg
    cat fairy crystal ball.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 362
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 +7 324 - Cracked the code?

Hopefully we won't need the ropes....but be on standby! This is pure deja vu...when I messed around with her diet last year, she bounced all over creation. Since the Paw Lickin should be better for her than Wellness, I'm going to attempt to ride this out with increases and persistence...gotta push her kidney issues to the top of the priority list.
 
Re: 3/9 Trixie AMPS 174 +3.25 257 +7 324 PMPS 283 +2 303

She turned around for PMPS :-D , then turned back around for +2 ohmygod_smile ....patience pants, where are you??
 
What good news on figuring out how to balance the fluids with the insulin injection :-D This board is wonderful with it's knowledge and experience. I hope Trixie adjusts to the Paw Lickin'. Cleo didn't really like it, she is not big on shreds. Her favorite is the Maxcat Duck, supposed to be 8% carbs, low phos. She will eat that with no toppings. I throw it in the cycle now and again, (and if she starts out lower than normal). Sometimes it seems to spike her, other times, not so much. It is just a pleasure to watch her eat it!

Hope you are having a good night (or sleep)~
 
Hi Amy,
I'm glad that changing the shot location seems to be working!!
You are doing such a great job, and you are such a dedicated bean.
Trixie is a lucky girl.
I truly understand how difficult and frustrating it is to deal with multiple issues.
I always have this image of a switchboard with several buttons labeled with different diseases when I think about what to feed Lucy or what supplements to add.
If I push one button all the way down, another button pops up. :roll:
 
They sure are tricksters, aren't they?! Just when we think we might have a tiny piece of the puzzle...they mix up all the pieces again. :roll: At least she's coming back down. Hope she keeps on sliding down for you, Amy! Sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top