3/16 Jersey AMPS-443, +3-274, +6-268

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Good morning, LL!

Shawna, Mariko, Carla, Sienne, Rachel, & Julie - Thank you all for stopping by my condo last night. I appreciate your support!

Rachel, the tips you gave me about the Vaseline are very much appreciated. Jersey wouldn't lick any off my finger, but I did mix a little bit in her food (which she devoured this morning).

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115493

Yesterday's Numbers:
AMPS-222, .50 units
+4-290
+6-288
+7-218
PMPS-408, .50 units
+2-307
+5-268

Today:
AMPS-443, .50 units
+3-274

Jersey has been throwing a few reds the past couple of days - since I took over shot duties again. I think she knows that I would make that connection between the numbers and the shot-giving and is doing all of it just to spite me. :-D

I do have a couple of questions about her numbers:

1. I have a feeling Jersey has been going lower at night (perhaps into a few blues), and I just haven't been able to catch those lower numbers. The night I especially have a feeling about is Friday (3/14). I'm wondering if she might be hitting nadir a bit later than the "standard" +6. Is there a specific time you might recommend that I grab a test? (I know I need more night tests overall. Shame on me!) I did get a +10 this weekend based on Carla's recommendation.

2. Jersey hung in the yellows Saturday (3/15), and then threw the 408 at PMPS. Were the yellows Saturday a bounce? I know, I know, you all have explained bounces to me a million times already! :oops: I'm just used to Jersey's bounces being in the 300s, so these 200 bounces are a little new to me.

Jersey girl was ravenous this morning and ate everything in sight - except for the Vaseline off my finger. She also stalked the outside civie from window to window this morning. She then decided she wanted to do a glucose test on me for her +3. That reading may actually be a combination of her blood and mine. :lol: It's going to be one of those days......

Sending out thoughts and prayers to all who need them!
Shelly
 
Re: 3/16 Jersey AMPS-443, +3-274, Nadir Question

Good morning Shelly ~O)

To me, it doesn't look like she was getting any big lows you may have missed. Her Friday morning cycle was weak, as though the insulin wasn't given (I know it was tho), and she trended up throughout the day. Her evening dose tried to do it's job, but it almost looks like her depot is a bit drained and now not catching up (forgive me that I have missed a couple days and haven't gotten caught up yet). Have you been thinking about an increase soon?
I'm going to go take a peek at your last few days and see if I'm missing something.

As for nadirs at different times than +6...most definitely. The nadir 'average' is about +6, but with many kitties, it can wander from +2 to +10 :lol: And changes from day to day. That's one reason the random tests are so helpful. They 'fill in' the blank spots and help you to see where that nadir may have been on a given day. A +6 is typically a great test, but you want to shake things up here and there and get some of the 'forgotten' times too.
 
Re: 3/16 Jersey AMPS-443, +3-274, Nadir Question

Thanks for your reply, Kim. It's always so helpful to have someone else look at the numbers for me. I've missed some time on the boards, too. The short version of the story is that DH took over shots this week, and I've wondered if he and I dose in the same way. I know he has occasionally overlooked air bubbles that I catch (and vice versa, I'm sure). It's certainly possible that we gave Jersey a fur shot Friday morning, too.

Since we had a bit of an off week, I was hoping to hold the .50 through this weekend and then look at increasing Monday evening when I would be home to test.

Thanks again, Kim!
Shelly
 
Re: 3/16 Jersey AMPS-443, +3-274, Nadir Question

Hey Shelly!!

I think you are seeing a bounce this morning, but not due to any "unseen" low overnight...due to the drop of 101 points from the PMPS to +2 last night. Remember, it's not just low numbers that cause bounces, but big, quick drops too.

I think the 408 last night was probably a bit of a delayed bounce from the PMPS cycle on 3/14 too. Jersey dropped from 441 to 298 in 2 hours...that's a huge, quick drop too.

The problem now is figuring out a good dose going forward. If it had been me, I would have increased to .75 on 3/12. Jersey had been on .5 for 11 cycles, and although it would have been important to hold that dose for 6 cycles after the bounce (3/8-3/11) on the 12th, with nadirs in the pinks and yellows, an increase would have been a good idea at that time.

Now, if this is a bounce off the big drops, which is a pretty good guess, we're at that point where we don't necessarily want to increase during the bounce, but also don't want him staying in those higher numbers any longer than necessary.

Let's see if some of the other more experienced eyes chime in today and see what they have to say, and then go from there. Hopefully they'll drop by!

I think you're doing a great job of testing, so just keep doing what you're doing. Grab tests at odd times now and then, but mostly, I think you're doing fantastic!! :-D
 
Re: 3/16 Jersey AMPS-443, +3-274, Nadir Question

I was going to mention what Kim did, that the nadir can move. It is different for every cat and can move from day to day. I've noticed with Furball her nadir used to be around +5 to +6, but now it is sometimes +7 or +8. When you have time, it is always a good idea to get some tests in at times you don't normally test. This will give you an idea of whether she may be going up or down. Good luck if you increase the dose tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/16 Jersey AMPS-443, +3-274, Nadir Question

Nadirs are not always mid-cycle. It's very much an ECID thing. If you look at Gabby's SS, you see her nadir is typically at around +3 or +4, except when it isn't.

I don't think you're missing anything at night. I do suspect you're seeing a bit of new dose wonkiness. I'm suggesting that based on your observation that your DH may not have been measuring the same 0.5u as you measure. I agree that it's looking like Jersey could use an increase but I'd give yourself at least 4 cycles with you doing the measuring before increasing.
 
It''s hard for anyone to be totally accurate. Just last night DH was drawing the shot, i checked it and saw a big bubble he hadn't seen. Have you seen the OptiVisor? We have the #4 w/ the extra loupe attachment. It really helps for accuracy.
 
Hi Shelly and Jersey,

I haven't had too many experiences with bounces (yet), so I can't really offer any useful feedback. But I do want to comment that I can relate to Jersey wanting to do a glocouse test on you. Though for me, it's usually Faolan who is more than willing to test my blood. :lol:

Good luck with the bounces!
 
You've gotten tons of good feedback here, so I'm just going to say it looks like Jersey is doing a great job breaking her bounce today! Hopefully she won't re-bounce when all is said and done...but these kitties have minds of their own, and the are in charge of this sugar dance (not us)! Like you, I prefer to do increases when I know I'll be around to monitor the first cycle or two. Good luck with the increase when you go for it.

Have a great day, Shelley!
 
Jersey is doing a nice slide, and hopefully with the increase you will see some nice slides to lower floors :-D . I'm glad I could help with the tips...Chyna didn't want the vaseline off my finger the first time either so I rubbed it on her paw and she licked it. The next time she ate it right up off my finger. Now she considers it a "treat" and sometimes tries to go after the finger that is trying to put it on her ear for blood beading glucose testing :lol: . I know using vaseline too often isn't recommended though, something about not digestible? So I change it up with the oil, and I'm thinking of trying the unsalted butter that Wendy has mentioned once or twice ;-) . I hope it helps for the hairballs for you. Have a great day!
 
Oh looks like she's doing nice on breaking that bounce.

Don't worry, it had to be explained to me about bounces and I think I still didn't get it. Other than when numbers just wanted to do what they wanted to. Our cats can read the condos I swear. :lol:

I hope you end up having a great day. Thank you for visiting me. :)
 
i'm not seeing any lows in there either, and i'm not sure you're missing them. nobody can stay up all night and test - a person's gotta sleep!

i think we're just looking at not enough insulin yet. could be the difference in how you and DH are measuring is a factor.

to get a really cool fashionable look while drawing up a dose, you can also stack reading glasses on top of each other. :shock: i'm a quilter and one of my friends does that - i used to snicker at her until i tried it once - and OHMYGOSH, you can see every detail of everything with them! just don't let the fashion police see you. :lol:

i think sienne's suggestion to wait 4 cycles with consisten measuring and then increasing is a good one. normally you don't want to wait too long on a dose that isn't getting Jersey into greens because Glucose Toxicity can develop - they get used to higher numbers and then it takes even more to get them down. generally it's a good idea to re-evaluate every 6 shots to see if you should increase or hold a little longer.

whether there is bouncing going on or not - i'm not seeing it, but it's kinda a moot point. if you're looking at nadirs in the 200's, you need more insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top