3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 PMPS 269 +4 231 +6 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning, all!

This morning Tyler's numbers bounced up as seemed to be expected by you ladies. Good Job! His AM injection was 1.0u as requested, and yes to answer your questions, I do use u100 syringes.

I woke up at 4:30 as usual, to do the deed, but after that I severely overslept!

My poor buddy's ears look a little rough this morning. I did use some neosporin

My question is, since you ladies decided I should drop him down to 1u, do I hold on that now, is this his new dose? I have to work my second job to night, and I will not be able to repeat last night's shenanigans.
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284

Hi Brian,

Oh the dreaded bounce.....Jersey bounces a lot, and they can sometimes take several cycles to clear. It looks like Tyler didn't bounce too high, though, which is a great sign.

I'm sure the experienced users will be along soon to give you additional information on the dosing. In the meantime, the short answer is that you do hold the 1.0 unit dose (unless Tyler falls below 50 again).

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284

Yeah, the bounce. Hopefully when I go home for lunch, he has lowered a little. Thanks for the info!
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 - definitely a bounce this AM

Hi there :cool:

In answer to your question regarding holding the dose, I'd say yes, hold the 1u for now, unless Tyler throws you a number below 50 (in which case you reduce).
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 bouncing #'s

Thanks Sandy!

His +8 raised to 336! But this is still residual from the bounce, correct?
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 bouncing #'s

it's not residual from the bounce, it is the bounce. he could still be going higher - we haven't seen it in Tyler before so don't know what he'll do. but the bounce is just something we wait through. they can last up to 72 hrs - as cats get used to low numbers they'll clear bounces faster and faster, but in the beginning they can last a full 3 days. so if you see high numbers for 3 days, don't despair. he will come down.

the second post hereapplies to Tyler right now.
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 bouncing #'s

Thanks, Miss Julie!

Mister Tyler is such a good boy! His ears are glowing and he still purrs the entire time we do his glucose tests. He may be beginning to think I'm a sadist and probably has dubbed me with the new nick-name "Pokey McPokerton," but he tolerates it well. He still came to sleep in the bed so, he must not be too upset with me.

I also like your way with words. "Mr Liver will send Kitty to the moon." I saw your picture of Anya and Punkin and they look just like my cousin's cats, Mr. Morris Kitty and Chino!

You have been a tremendous help. You all have. I will hold on and keep you all updated.
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 bouncing #'s

You'll hear a lot about "patience pants" while your here. They are a must when we're dealing with bounces. It can be so frustrating when we see good numbers followed by bad numbers. The patience pants help us remember to just hold steady. Kitty will respond to the insulin when he is darned good and ready! :-D
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 bouncing #'s

Boing Boing Boing
cat1.gif
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 PMPS 269 - ok range?

ok, PMPS was 269, held him at 1unit as suggested.

PS: Easy Touch syringes are garbage! I guess you pay for what you get. Looks to me like a design flaw, I get air every. single. time.

BD or Reli On? What's the word, birds?

I'll check back later, around 10pm or so, I have to go to second job.

Till then, you can see Tyler in my signature, I put up an album of him and Marla, my other kitty. Turd (yes, that's his real name and he lives up to it) has been an on again, off again roommate, throughout their lives...
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 PMPS 269 - ok range?

It's kind of a personal preference on the syringes. I never had a lot of trouble with air using the Relions, but from what I have read here, the BD's are a little more consistent on where the lines on the syringes are.

The other option a lot of people like are Terumo Thin Pro, but again, some people say they don't have any problem with air bubbles with them, while others say they get more bubbles.

I do know the Terumo's have the smoothest operation from the ones I've used anyway. This can be great once you're used to it, but if you're not careful, the slightest nudge against the plunger will waste your insulin

The pictures of Tyler are priceless!! You must be a photographer in your spare time! Loved seeing how he and Marla snuggle together too...and Turd?? Gotta hear that story!! (Or did the phrase "you're such a turd" get said so many times the name just stuck? :lol:
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 PMPS 269 - ok range?

I use the Terumo Thin Pro usually. Right now I'm using Publix syringes which are awful. I really like the Terumo. The needle is shorter so I have no concerns about sticking it too far and hurting Cobb. And like a Chris said, it has a very smooth plunger. I have no problems with air bubbles as long as I draw the insulin slowly.
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 PMPS 269 +4 231

Thanks for the info, I will give those syringes a try! Sometimes, the Easy Touch pulls more than a whole unit of air and it is very difficult to get the air out due to the build, so it is easy to waste lots of that liquid gold.

his +4 was 231, so numbers are not terrible today. I will get a before bedtime reading later. His poor ears are still glowing from last night. I treated them, but still look a bit red.

You all are going to start to think your names are Thank You, as much as I throw it around, but yeah... Thanks! I'm still stoked about finding this place. I can't wait to see what Tyler's future is going to be like with the guidance of you wonderful people.
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 PMPS 269 +4 231

tyler's baby pics are just adorable! the hat and necklace are pretty sweet too!

his numbers aren't too bad today, considering he bounced and had a dose reduction both. let's see how he does on this.

i loved the Terumos - that smooth plunger is awesome, but i know a few people didn't like it. it glides easily and if you're used to the stiffer plungers, perhaps it seems too smooth. once i found them that's all i used. some syringes are awful for bubbles too. i have no idea why, but they seem to create bubbles no matter what you do.

thanks for admiring my furry ones. :lol: but you shouldn't have. because now i feel compelled to share a couple of videos with you. ;-)

hehe punkin, anya, and the bag
[youtube]1veWyjmIbi8&NR=1&list=UUH_FWfGYs5Od_jgknJ7BmOw[/youtube]

oh no, and i'm not done yet. here's punkin and the catnip:

[youtube]cK3sriI9LBw&list=UUH_FWfGYs5Od_jgknJ7BmOw&index=5[/youtube]

now i'll have cured you of admiring my cats! :lol:
 
Re: 3/26 Tyler AMPS 195 +5 284 +8 336 PMPS 269 +4 231

What magnificent beasts... I mean, look how he gave zero cares whilst sitting in that bag, all the while, Anya was doing her best to distract him from his goal... Which is to sit and do nothing and be impressed by nothing while he meditates! Nope, I'm not cured! I love animals!

I'll get that before bedtime reading up soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top