3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 PMPS 271 +6 83 +7 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning, all!

I found that Tyler does not like the FF Classic: Beef Feast... almost the whole can still in bowl from morning feeding (4:30am). Had to toss it and give the Chicken Feast. He was eating before I left. His numbers are still a little high, but nothing to freak out about.
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 he's waiting for that kibble

Oh, that pesky bouncing....

My crew has decided they don't like Fancy Feast turkey this week, which is just wonderful since I have a case of it being delivered today. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 he's waiting for that kibble

Yeah, mine are jerks like that too. But also I only very recently have removed dry food from the equation. So they hold out for it.

Time is my friend right now and will tell me more soon!
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 he's waiting for that kibble

Cobb held out for the dry food for about a week before he realized it was not coming back. He adjusted to the wet food much better than our attempts to switch him in the past.
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 he's waiting for that kibble

Same here. They have always been real snobs about it. Like the wet food ain't good enough! I can't afford that Purina FortiFlora, so they will just have to get over it! But so far, they aren't putting up a huge fight about it. I think my civie(?), Marla may have an upset tummy from the switch, but she has some sort of problem anyways. Her eyes leak fluid, always has boogies and her BM's are always runny. :cry: The vet said if a kitten gets a bad respiratory infection and isn't treated, they could be stuck with it for life, which in the last 10 years she has been that way. I rescued her from the humane society and she has been that way ever since. No vet has been able to help.

But as far as Tyler goes, he's doing ok. I'll post again after his lunch time reading
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 he's waiting for that kibble

Maybe try some freeze dried chicken in place of the kibble?

I would ask the vet about giving Marla L-lysine and see if he thinks it would help her.

Come on, Tyler! Clear that bounce. Have a great day, Brian.
 
3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 looking a little better

Thanks Marje,

I will check into that freeze dried chicken, any specific brand to look into? I'll try the local shop here before looking online. Also, what about real chicken vs. freeze dried?

His +7 was 275 which seems a little lower than yesterday's lunchtime reading! I think he's such a champ for putting up with me! If it were Marla that was diagnosed, Planet of the Cats would already be in order and the hooman race would be very close to being extinct by now. She would not tolerate being poked and stuck like the Capt.

So according to SLGS protocol, I should try a "curve" on the 5-7th day since starting him on 1 unit, correct?
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 looking a little bett

Real chicken is fine! I think she was suggesting freeze dried to give them the "crunch" they're missing from the kibble. I buy chicken when it's on sale, boil one piece and freeze (or eat) the rest. Chop it up into bite size pieces, put a couple of days worth in the refrigerator and the rest freeze and restock as necessary.

China never liked the freeze dried stuff, but you can usually find it in the dog treat aisle. Any brand is fine as long as the only ingredient is chicken

On the SLGS, yes, after about a week on a dose, you want to do a curve...every 2 hours for one cycle and then adjust dose as needed, but you're testing more than enough to stay on Tight Regulation. TR gives Tyler the best chance to get OTJ completely.

It's totally up to you which protocol you want to use, but TR only requires at least 4 tests per day, 2 pre-shot, 1 mid-cycle and 1 "before bed" test, and you've been doing that much and more. Many people who work full time jobs are doing TR and they do more testing on the weekend to "fill in the gaps" if there are any.

Looking good so far Brian! Tyler's a very lucky kitty to have such a loving daddybean!
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 looking a little bett

That is great news to my... eyes!!!!

I will give real chicken a whirl again, I used to give them plain unseasoned chicken as a treat, but they are weirdos and don't always want it. Sometimes I can mix it in their food and they will devour it, sometimes the eat around it... couple a punks, I tell ya!

About the TR protocol, I'll do my best to be able to keep up with the testing! He's worth every ounce of energy and frustration that has come with this and he is a good patient!
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 looking a little bett

Hi Brian:

Just wanted to chime in and tell you I think you're doing a great job. Usually men just aren't into such intense care of an animal, especially a cat, and it's so refreshing to see one that genuinely cares about his pets. I know we have more such men here on the board, but I just wanted to commend you, as a new addition! Plus, your condos are so entertaining! :-D
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 looking a little bett

Hey, thanks, Tricia!

It has not been easy with my schedule, but I am an animal lover, and I can't stand to see any living creature suffer! Plus, he is not just my cat, he's my friend! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 looking a little bett

Hi Brian! I'm not sure if I've said it, but welcome! Tyler is very handsome :-D . I also wanted to add on the treats, there is more than chicken, you can have beef, whitefish, duck, and shrimp from the brand Purebites that I find at Petsmart. We also recently started Orijen freeze dried, they have boar, lamb, bison, duck, etc. There are other brands too of course, just as long as the ingredient is all meat ;-).

I know the Forti Flora is expensive! I think some people get it cheaper on Amazon but I'm in Canada so it costs too much to ship here, I'm stuck paying full price...I hope that you can get those kitties happy with wet fuds soon :-D . I was lucky, Chyna was like "where have you been all my life, wet food?". Anyways, I hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 PMPS 271 +6 83!!

Thank you, ladies for the kind words! This place is filled knowledgeable, encouraging, and up lifting people! My attitude is so much better, my hopes are high and look at his SS! Since I found this place, I feel like things are going to be ok! He can't tell me how he feels, but you all have a good idea just according to his number and how he may react.

AMPS: 209 +3 262 +7 275
PMPS: 271 +6 83

Hopefully, he will not be below a 50 in the morning! Fingers crossed! Now it is time to get cleaned up and ready for bed! More to come, tomorrow morning!

Good night all! (I will probably check back just before taking a walk with the sand man to see if anyone is concerned about his evening +6
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 PMPS 271 +6 83!!

i don't think it's a concern, but i'd probably get another test when you get back from your walk. if it's going down, then you need to keep checking, but if the number is flat or rising, you can probably go to bed.

about Marla - when we got Anya at 3 months old she'd had diarrhea apparently from the beginning. she was very small, too. we fed her dry like we had fed all of our cats, and i took her to the vet and got meds. he also said if a cat has had diarrhea too long that can end up being permanent. we treated her with a couple of different things (prescription meds) trying to clear up her diarrhea. nothing worked.

punkin became diabetic in December and we found this site the next Feb. Then we switched to low carb canned for both of them. that was the end of Anya's diarrhea. Punkin had also had bladder infections repeatedly and was on special easy-on-your-bladder dry food. vet food of course. when he switched to canned food no more bladder infections.

i'm sharing that thinking that marla may still improve if she gets off the dry and is eating only canned. the L-lysine is a good idea too.
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 PMPS 271 +6 83!!

I definitely would get another test before the sandman cometh. You want to see a rising, non food influenced number before you I-) I-)

I use freeze dried chicken (I buy whole life but pure bites is fine, too) as an enticer. Gracie gets some supplements in her food and she eats the minimeal with the supplement better with the FD chicken. But I also keep boiled chicken breast on hand if shes extra hungry and needs a LC snack.
 
Re: 3/27 Tyler AMPS 209 +3 262 +7 275 PMPS 271 +6 83!!

Thanks, Julie!

His +7 was 115. I did feed a little more when I got home. They seemed to eat a little less than normal throughout today. Marje I did not think about not feeding before testing again and it is too late! I wake up in 5 hours for AMPS, you think that is ok?

I will look into the L lysine, but will ask my vet first, as you originally suggested. I'd love it if Marla's little body was normal, her boogers are rough on her too, she has to sit and intentionality sneeze them out so she can breathe!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top