3/29 Tyler PMPS 276 +1 279 +3 281 +7 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Hello, all.

Today seemed a little backwards compared to yesterday. His AMPS was lower and his +7 was higher, also today, he decides to eat all of his breakfast. And by the time I crawled out of bed this morning at 10am (severely overslept!), he was starving![u/] After his +7, since he was so hungry, I fed him a 1/2 a can just now (at noon), and is already devoured.

Mostly, this week I have fed him 1 can of Fancy Feast for breakfast, 1/2 or 1/4 can at lunch, 1 can for dinner, and maybe 1/2 or 1/4 can before bed. He was a little picky yesterday, but I am still experimenting with the approved FF & Friskies flavors. I know they don't like the beef feast, and I have 7 cans left, they looked at me like I had lost my dern mind!

He's bouncy, but is acting normal (for a cat). I was hoping for a lower +7 since his AMPS was low, but ehh, we got what we got!

Before I took him to the vet, he was losing all his muscle mass, but I thought he may just be showing his age. I've never owned a cat, so I didn't know that 9 isn't old for a feline! and what made me realize he was not ok, was several failed attempts to jump on my bed (which is pretty high up). Since he's been on insulin, he has been very playful and has grown his muscle mass back...

RFGpyON.jpg
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler AMPS 154 +7 256

Ah, the unpredictable, confusing world of FD. Gotta love it....NOT! Kitties' BG patternss are like the weather - wait and while and they'll change! confused_cat

So glad to hear Bonk is getting his muscles back. I'm sure it's because of the great care you've been giving him. I'm also sure there's a scientific explanation, but I'm not smart enough to know what it is! :lol:

Bonk, please stop showing off your leg muscles with the bounces. If you would just level off in blues, you'd make your bean pretty happy! :-D Of course, nice safe greens would be better!

I hope you're enjoying your Caturday, Brian.
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler AMPS 154 +7 256 +10 270

Thanks Tricia,

Is Bonk another one of the many slang terms used around here, or did you perhaps get Tyler confused with a different kitty?

His +10 is 270! Climbing again this afternoon. I am not sure what to expect for the rest of the day since things seem so back and forth with this guy!

If numbers look similar tomorrow, should I bump him up by 0.25 unit?

Thank you all in advance for any of today's advice!
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler AMPS 154 +7 256 +10 270

aacckkkk wrong way, little buddy!

great to hear that he is regrowing his muscle mass - fantastic!

for dose tomorrow morning, let's see what he does tonight first.
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler AMPS 154 +7 256 +10 270 PMPS 276

Alright, dudettes; his PMPS is 276, not great, but not purple, either!

Going to get a +1 to see if he rises after his pm injection like he did yesterday. I hope not, but if he does, we'll fix'em. I have faith that with the help we are getting here, my buddy may be able to get some blues & greens within a week or two, which might put me in the blues'n greens! (a little joke, I stuck myself a few times and found that I'm pretty normal... well, my BG readings were normal, anyways) ... :lol:

Stay tuned, kids! I'll be back soon with another update, but first a word from our sponsor!

cat-freaking-out-grabbing-sock-crazy-1381355815y.gif
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler AMPS 154 +7 256 +10 270 PMPS 276 +1 279 :/

Well crap... he is still on the rise, even after evening injection. Will test again in an hour.
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler AMPS 154 +7 256 +10 270 PMPS 276 +1 279 :/

The +1 is just a food spike Brian. The Lantus hasn't had time to "kick in" yet, but the food has!

Lantus usually starts to kick in around +2..except when it doesn't, so you may still see some better numbers tonight.

I think that Tricia just got you confused with another man/cat team that started about the same time you did. His name is also Brian, and his cat's name is Bonk!

Hang in there...this too shall pass, and if it doesn't, you'll just increase the insulin. We just want to make sure he's not still bouncing off the blues before suggesting an increase to 1.25

Come on Tyler! Work that juice!!
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler PMPS 276 +1 279 +3 281

Recap for today:
AMPS 154 +7 256 +10 270
PMPS 276 +1 279 +3 281

Thanks, Chris!

I'm leaving the house for a little while. When I return, I will check Tyler again. I might change his name to Trooper, because he's such a good patient! He doesn't hiss, or put a fight. He just sits and purrs the whole time; every time. I thought he's get tired of me since I started pokin' him so many times.

Tonight wraps up my first week, so here's a real tough lil' guy talkin' trash to his reflection,
t2SrIU0.gif
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler PMPS 276 +1 279 +3 281

hahaha funny videos!

from the guidelines on the Tight Regulation Protocol page:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.


After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

What I see on Tyler's ss is that this dose has gotten him into low 100's and high green numbers. The numbers you're seeing today are a bounce, which is normal. I'm ignoring those - dosing is based upon the nadirs we see on a dose.

Looking at the protocol it says to hold 6-10 cycles if the nadirs are less than 200. it also says when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for 10 cycles. I'd be inclined to hold it another 2 cycles (total of 10) and see if, when the bouncing clears, he's going to get back under 100.

what do you think?
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler PMPS 276 +1 279 +3 281

Thanks, Miss Julie!!!

I misunderstood that info a bit when I read it! I thought it meant his lows for the day, not during a cycle! Totally makes sense now! Sounds good to me! So we hold the 1.0 unit!

I'm away from home, but will get a test in when when I return!
 
Re: 3/29 Tyler PMPS 276 +1 279 +3 281

Hey Brian

Really from +10 to PM +3, he's flat as a pancake. I don't think there is any food spike in the +1 number.

I'm guessing his +2 was somewhere in the same range. We usually say if the +2 is the same or similar to the PS, you should be prepared for a typical Lantus cycle which looks like this:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

However, if he's bouncing, he could continue to bounce or start to clear. So I'd just be sure I get a before bed just so you can tell where he might be headed.

Have a great night.
 
Thanks, Marje!

+7 is 269... it's still hanging around the same as most of the day.

As usual, I will start a fresh condo in the morning, and play it by ear...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top