3/30 Jersey PMPS - 166, +1 - 132, +3 - 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Good morning, LL. ~O)

I haven't posted since Thursday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116172

We went to Little Rock Friday so we could attend the Cher concert Friday night. I ignored the wonderful advice I received here and took Jersey girl with us. Jersey has never been happy about riding in a vehicle, but I was absolutely shocked at her reaction Friday. She traveled well but was so scared when we got to the hotel that she wouldn't eat at all. She's never reacted that way during previous travels. I gave Jersey a reduced shot Friday night because she wouldn't eat. We also ended up checking out of the motel right after the concert was over and driving back that night. We just couldn't let her stress out any longer. It was definitely a lesson learned...

Note to Self: Listen to people here. (In this specific instance, Marje, Liz, Tricia, and Amy.) They give good advice. Since we had to reduce the dose anyway, we should have just left Jersey at home where she wouldn't have been stressed out. :YMSIGH:

The travel stress, reduced dose, and/or bouncing have led to some terrible numbers the past couple of days. It's so hard to see us losing progress. Hindsight says we should have skipped the concert altogether. :sad:

A (short) recap of numbers since Thursday:

Friday:
AMPS - 479, 1 unit
+7 - 189
PMPS - 265, .25 units
+2 - 399
+7 - 439

Saturday:
AMPS - 537, 1 unit
+5.5 - 306
PMPS - 369, 1 unit
+4.5 - 232

Today:
AMPS - 370, 1 unit

I'll try to catch up on some of the condos I missed the past few days. I thought I would be able to do it yesterday, but I was busy catching up on missed sleep! :-D

Thoughts and prayers are headed out to those in need....
Shelly
 
Re: 3/30 Jersey AMPS - 370

Ah, we all have to learn lessons our own way. Jersey will be fine and will bounce back!! Occasionally skipping a shot so YOU can do something special for yourself is OK! It takes awhile to get used to that idea, but it really is. I hope the concert was good, even though I know you were worried about Jersey.

I hope you're all having a relaxing Sunday!!
 
Re: 3/30 Jersey AMPS - 370

Don't be too hard on yourself. Jersey will get back on track soon. Sometimes we need to do things for ourselves. I don't think skipping the concert is what you should have done. I think skipping the shot would have been better than missing the concert.
 
Re: 3/30 Jersey AMPS - 370

Looks like Jersey is already back in :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: YAY!!!

I think the high numbers yesterday were likely due to the reduced dose. But next time you have an opportunity to do something fun, just leave her at home and skip. You can now see how fast she gets back to it :-D :-D :-D

Were you able to enjoy the concert? I hope so. Sorry you had to drive back that night.
 
Re: 3/30 Jersey AMPS - 370

It looks like Jersey recovered from the pink beautifully!

I agree with Marje. There's a point where you need to have a life and not have your life be 100% around your cat's diabetes.
 
Re: 3/30 Jersey AMPS - 370

Thank you all for stopping by our condo today and offering words of encouragement and suport. I can't tell you how much it means to me! The concert was good....Cher puts on quite a performance. We're really thankful we had the opportunity to go.

Our granite tile came in today for our bathtub surround, and we had to go pick it up, buy the tile saw, etc. We weren't expecting it today and weren't quite prepared for it. What a mess! Jersey obviously didn't want us to stray too far from home for too long because she started dropping this morning and hasn't really stopped since. There was a drop of blood in the syringe after her PMPS shot. nailbite_smile I'm really hoping that was just a capillary I hit.

Recap of the day's numbers:
AMPS - 370, 1 unit
+3 - 149
+4 - 106
+5.5 - 88
+6.25 - 110
+11.25 - 190
PMPS - 166, 1 unit
+1 - 132
+3 - 66

It looks like it might be a PJ party tonight........
 
Looks like there might.

If you haven't done so, you might want to feed her a couple good tsp of LC and test her at +4. :-D
 
Well, it didn't take long for Miss Jersey to get back to bidness!!
Glad you enjoyed the concert - Hope you get some sleep tonight, Shelly :-D
 
Wow, Jersey, slow it down a bit! You're green, now you need to surf :mrgreen:

I'm glad you managed to enjoy the concert at least, and I'm sorry that you had such a rough time. Looks like she wants all your attention tonight. I hope you can get some cat naps in, and that she will surf now :-D
 
aw, i'm sorry it was so awful taking her with you! we dragged punkin everywhere and he didn't seem to mind, but of course, cats are all different.

it does look like she's recovered nicely. so no harm done on any of it. :mrgreen: (mr greenie is always invited out when kitties get into green numbers!
 
Great recovery, Jersey! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I agree that you should have gone to the concert, Shelly. Take advantage of those fun things! Next time, though, leave Jersey girl at home. :lol: :lol: It's ok, you tried something and you can try something different next time.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top