4/1 Chi Chi AMPS 204 +6.5 254 +8.5 241 PMPS 280

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/1 Chi Chi AMPS 204 +3 231

Hi guys .. I can't imagine it would be a problem to post here instead of the relaxed forum! Looks like chi chi is enjoying some sunny yellows today .. have a great day guys!
 
of course you can post here, laura!

we encourage people to get the preshot tests in and at least one test in the day cycle and another one in the pm cycle. you can vary the times of the tests - lots of people work full time and get a test as they come in the door from work, then get a before-bed test.

the point is to keep the kitties safe, and to know how low a dose is taking a cat. looks like sometimes you're already doing that. if you can't get those tests, you probably just want to let chi chi run a little bit higher rather than pushing for solid green numbers if you're not able to test much. we understand life happens like that sometimes.

glad to see you here!
 
Thanks Julie! Yes life happens, and it bothers me I cant test more(shhhh..don't tell Chi Chi I just said that). She really is mostly good about testing, very cooperative. Its just that I work too darn much. I walk out the door at 8am and back in at 7:15pm, 6 days a week. Luckily my mom is home all day to feed the 3 kitties and doggy, but theres no way she is capable of anything more(age and health). So I do the best I can for my sweet Chi Chi.
 
what many people in your situation do is to get a few more tests in during the pm cycle when they're home, then a few tests in on their day off.

kitties often go lower at night anyway, so that helps us to see how low the dose is taking her. it's workable.

from this page i can't see if you have that info in your sig line - if not, it'd be great to add it. otherwise everyone will suggest you get more tests in. just add "work 8a-7:15p 6 days/wk" or something like that. then you won't have to repeat yourself endlessly!

how nice you've got your mom living with you! my dad lived with us after my mom died, and he would feed the cats but i can't imagine he could've done any more than that. you might just want to make sure your mom knows what hypo symptoms are, and have some high carb food marked with a sharpie on the lid that she could give Chi chi if she saw any hypo symptoms.
 
I have instructed my mom on hypo signs and she is to call me asap if she even remotely feels theres a problem, which she has done before. I have the HC food also for her also. I have been able to get before bedtime test sometimes, but not enough I know, I will work on that. I will add more info to my sig as well. Thanks for the tips and advice Julie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top