4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2 86,+6 107,+10 122 PMBG 101,+2 94,+4 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

dpaslean

Member Since 2014
Good morning everyone
Hopefully I have given the last dose. He threw a nice green PS this morning so I hope that's a good sign.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116623

Summary 4/4
AMPS 103 gave .1 units
PMPS 110 gave .1 units
+2 80
+5 79

Today 4/5
AMPS 96 gave .1 units
+2.5 86
+4.5 85
+6.5 107
+9 109
+10 122
PMBG 101 no shot tonight
+2 94
+4 94

Have a great day everyone.
Dwight
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2.5 86,+4.5 85

how exciting! so tonight begins his OTJ Trial! Here are the directions for you. I'd call tomorrow "OTJ Trial Day 1." Congratulations!

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2.5 86,+4.5 85,+6.5 107

Thanks Julie, I was wondering what the no shot protocol was. Do you really think he is ready? That is not too many blues to quit totally? I see that you say if he gets green test readings, I can leave him be and if he gets blues, that I should test again in 3 hours. Are you now expecting more green readings being OTJ? I'm asking this because he hasn't had many greens at the end of his cycles? Are you expecting his pancreas to now pick up more of the work which might give us more greens? I guess I'm trying to understand the next step and trying to understand what your expectations for him are being you have went through this more times than I and have the experience to know what he might do this coming week.

Currently I feed 4x daily at 6,lunch,6, 11 but his lunch meal is Friskies free fed since I am not here to monitor. For his lunch meal, I put 3 oz. in one bowl after they are full from the AM meal and I go to work. His PS meals have been 2 oz ea and the mid cycle meals I do 1.5 oz but I he also switches bowls before his is finished so I don't really know how much he is eating. Being OTJ, do you think I should start feeding more times than 4 and less quantity each time than this? I think I will get a feeder to better time his meals instead of the free for all. I could then do 6X daily if that works better.

As far as posting, I should just input his AM/PM readings in a new topic and make a new post each day?
Thanks.
Dwight
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2.5 86,+4.5 85,+6.5 107

A timed feeder sounds like a good idea.
If his pancreas is working, then if he is blue and you feed him, his pancreas should pull the BGs down in about 3 to 4 hours, so that's why the testing about 4 hours after eating if you get a blue number. But, don't worry about low blue numbers. I think the "normal" BG numbers for non diabetic cats is 50 to 120, so don't worry if you get some blues.

For your posts, you would just replace the AMPS with AMBG and the PMPS with PMBG in your Subject Line.
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2 86,+6 107,+10 122 PMBG 101

OK, PMBG was 101. No shot tonight.

I will get multiple tests while watching basket ball and having a couple IPA's. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Thanks to all of you that have gotten us this far.
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2 86,+6 107,+10 122 PMBG 101

drinking24
Is IPA celebratory drink?
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2 86,+6 107,+10 122 PMBG 101

For me it is. I love Michigan brewed craft beer. I do brew my own beer but I haven't brewed at all lately with the cold winter we've had so tonight it's Rampant IPA from New Belgium Brewing in CO.
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2 86,+6 107,+10 122 PMBG 101

Most people put OTJ Trial Day # (whatever day they are on) in the subject line along with AMBG and PMBG so everyone here can help cheer you on and know what day you're on.
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2 86,+6 107,+10 122 PMBG 101

what dyana said. :lol: i think your current feeding plan sounds fine. the main idea is to not overwhelm him with too much food at once.

i'm not expecting anything, other than that Boots will continue to stay under 120. :mrgreen: those are our standard OTJ instructions - some cats go OTJ after months of 50's and 60's, some go after a couple of weeks around 100. It's not uncommon for the numbers to drift around, so don't panic if he goes up. We'll just take it a day at a time and see what he does.
 
Re: 4/5 Boots AMPS 96,+2 86,+6 107,+10 122 PMBG 101

This is fantastic news, Dwight. I'm wishing you and Boots the very best as you begin your OTJ trial. I simply couldn't be happier for you!

Go, Boots, go! :RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top