04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 +7.25=263 PMPS=238

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116679

Furball was happy & purry this morning. I hope she clears the bounce today. I was trying to get MC to eat part of a pill pocket with 1/4 of a tablet of Zyrtec because she was sneezing last night. She was having great fun batting it around like it was a toy. She finally stuck her claw in it and licked her claw and decided it was good enough to eat. :lol:
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ?

I get confused on why increasing the dose because the kitty is bouncing from low numbers helps. Can someone explain this to me? Thanks for any input.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ?

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O)

Bummer on the bounce today, but wow - yesterday sure was pretty Alot of really nice blues for Furball. I hope she clears this bounce quickly.

I think some folks here feel that by giving more juice it evens things out some, by bringing the higher numbers down. For Mannie, it just never worked that way for him. the lows he produced still occurred, only more so. I was constantly testing, feeding etc. It was true that the higher numbers were lower, but he still bounced, as I could not get the lows to flatten. We tried adjusting feeding times, dosages up and down, and yet he still bounced. After 5 years of treating him, I just finally let the numbers be what they were, based dosing off of nadir, and let him take his time to process the dose he was receiving. Eventually we got better stuff, until he got sick with other issues. But... that was just Mannie being Mannie. Maybe someone here where that has worked, ie upping the dose to alleviate bouncing, can chime in and see if it would work for you. ECID.

Enjoy your day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ?

Morning Carla, How cute, playing with her pill, and then popping it :lol:
I thought that, as a rule, you were not supposed to increase during a bounce. Unless I was misunderstanding. I know you can shoot through a bounce, if you were going to give a reduction, due to low numbers.
More experienced voices will chime in here!

Have a great Sunday, and hope Furball clears the bounce today!
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

I'm trying to figure out what dose to give Furball tonight. After catching that 54 Friday night, I was thinking I need to reduce to keep her from going too low and bouncing really high. Then yesterday Marje mentioned fattening the dose to help with the bouncing. I decreased last Tuesday because I got the impression she was bouncing from going too low and I wasn't catching it. Then I got that 54 on Friday, which made me think I did the right thing. I'm confused. Any help is appreciated.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

Here's Marje's quote from yesterday:

Marje and Gracie said:
Did you know her subject line says "PMPS 31"? Don't want to give the new members a heart attack! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well I thought she was going to hit some green. Maybe you want to just fatten it up a bit? Tiny bit? Maybe that will help with bouncing?

I also hope you got some rest.

Marje is working this morning, but perhaps she'll be online before you're shooting tonight and can explain what she meant.

I'll take a shot - if I'm wrong, she'll let you know! :lol: sometimes cats who are bouncing need a little more insulin in order to reduce those high numbers. But when you increase the dose, you have to "hold up" the low numbers to keep them from getting a reduction.

So what some people do is to increase the carbs to prevent the cat from going low, while increasing the dose a tiny bit. That can sorta knock the top off the highs, which can reduce the zooming down and hitting lows. Does that make sense?

Marje is, i think, suggesting that you fatten the dose a bit so there is enough insulin to reduce the highs, but you'll likely need to take extra care in the mid-cycle that she doesn't go too low.

She didn't get below 50, so she hasn't earned a reduction at all. I haven't seen many times where reducing the dose reduced bouncing, unless the cat was seriously overdosed. You've been following the protocol so we can be confident that isn't the case with Furball.

Did i help at all or just muddy the waters? ;-)
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

Thanks Julie. What you said makes sense. The problem I have is that during the week when I work, all I can do is leave food out and hope Furball eats and doesn't go too low. That's why I don't like the idea of increasing when I see a 54.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

that makes complete sense - then don't increase. that's ok. she's getting good nadirs right now.

the suggestion is all about if you want to try to reduce the bouncing. it's not an essential thing.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

My cat Lovey is having a similar issue to Furball's, but worse bouncing lately. I was thinking and tried once or twice to increase the percentage of high carb food and raise the dose a bit? I added a teaspoon or two of 8% and reduced the amount of her normal 4% food, but it would take some trials to test it. This would have to be tested to see if it, a little higher carbs would offset the insulin enough to reduce the higher numbers and help prevent a dose reduction. The problem is with working you really don't know what is happening midcyle for a good portion of the their time so I don't know. I think there is a risk until you can test.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

very true - i think it could be a technique you could try on the beginning of your days off during the week to see if you can get any progress with it. Even a couple of days might help with reducing bouncing - but you do have to be able to monitor.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

fwiw - I too tried this with Mannie, and for us, it did require feeding a higher carb food to offset the lows, which also requires monitoring during the day, to track how low was low. it did even him out some, but not much. When I was working there was no way I could do this, as I was gone at amps +1, not home until pmps. once I no longer was working it was easier to keep track of the cycles. I too would be leery of an increase when you see a 54. I don't think I'd increase, imho.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

Carla

Julie is right....I was just trying to address your concern that Furball had started bouncing again. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see that as I have taken up her dose, her bouncing is no longer in yellow but low to mid blue. This might not work for you or anyone else that cannot be there to monitor or feed.

And that is one reason why I just suggested you just fatten a bit; maybe that will fine tune her enough but if you decided to do that, I'd also feed a higher low carb overall. If you feed a higher low carb for every meal, it can allow you to get a bit more insulin in them safely.

But at the end of the day, it is your decision because (1) you know Furball and (2) you know best how to keep her safe and what you are comfortable with.

I was just brainstorming a possible way to minimize the bounces. But you know I'm always in support of safety first and what you decide is best for the two of you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

Thanks Marje. I appreciate the suggestion. If I could be home to monitor, or come home at lunch, I'd try it. For now I don't feel comfortable increasing. I do hate the bouncing and it can be confusing.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

Absolutely. I totally understand your dilemma. I'd have the same one.
 
Re: 04/06 Furball +10.75=236 AMPS=311 Bounce ? +7.25=263

I'm sorry that you're having so many issues with bouncing! So frustrating. I hope that Furball will read her condo and decide that bouncing isn't for her anymore ;-) . I'm glad that the pill pocket eventually got eaten by MC...as prey :lol: . Have a great rest of your Sunday :razz:
 
Thanks everyone for you thoughts on the bouncing. I held the dose tonight. Furball seems to be headed down. Maybe she'll give me some blue later.
 
How cute of Furball to play with her pill. :-D

I completely understand your dilemma, too. :YMHUG:
I hope Furball slides down for you soon.
 
Hey Carla,

You know I can't provide dosing advice, but I wanted to chime in about the larger dose reducing the bounces. I actually saw this - almost immediately - with Jersey. Before we took her up to 1 unit, she was bouncing for several cycles - constantly. Once we hit 1 unit, her bounces started lasting one cycle and then pretty much stopped. You might look at this on her ss to give you a better idea of the changes we saw. We went to 1 unit on 3/25.Of course, we did struggle, too, with keeping her numbers up. It didn't take long before we had to reduce to .75 (and now .50).

Anyway, good luck with whatever dose decision you make. I know how difficult it is to have to leave for work and hope that the furry little one will be okay. nailbite_smile

Shelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top