4/16 Jenk AMPS 215 +4 221 PMPS 240 +4.5 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/15

A slight improvement over yesterday's numbers, but still yellow.

Why does it feel like I haven't identified where he nadirs?
 
Re: 4/16 Jenk AMPS 215 +4 221

i wanted to answer your question from yesterday's post about why he might've hit 30's on the same dose in the past that doesn't seem to be moving him now.

It's common to have to increase a dose in order to bring down blood sugar. One cause is Glucose Toxicity. A cat gets accustomed to high numbers, and then it takes even more insulin in order to bring the numbers down. Here is a post of articles on Glucose Toxicity if you'd like to read more and understand it better. The short answer is what i said above.

Using the fingernail as Sienne mentioned can really be helpful. If Jenks is giving your (human) bean a hard time, you can always resort to the burrito method. We wrapped punkin for the first two weeks of testing, then he gave up fighting and we never had to do it again. basically you take a large towel and drop it over his back with the 2 ends off to either side. it works best if the towel is 2/3 off to one side. pick up jenks with the towel draped over him, and hold him so his back is against you and sit in a chair, holding him like that. wrap the short end of the towel TIGHT around him and then do the same with the other end. the most important part of this is to pin his front legs against his chest and have the towel be tight. You might want to practice this when you are both there because getting the legs down and the towel tight can be a bit tricky.

If you don't get his front legs pinned down, he will try to climb out of the neck opening of the burrito.

Then you have a little cat all tightly wound up like a shrimp and his ear is sticking out and quite available. hehehe. you can totally manhandle them when they're like this. :lol:
 
Re: 4/16 Jenk AMPS 215 +4 221

So if there aren't any significant changes with his PM readings tonight, does that indicate that it's time for another 0,25U increase to 2.75U?
 
Re: 4/16 Jenk AMPS 215 +4 221 PMPS 240

240 PMPS, so he's surfed yellow all day. Going to start 2.75U with tonight's shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top