4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 PMPS 249 +4 151 Video Posted!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Hello all, I was actually able to get a little bit of rest. I was completely unable to function yesterday. I have been unable to actually get some quality sleep and have felt like @-) and ~O) only makes it worse! Thank you all for your support and kind words, I was able to administer his baytril yesterday evening and also this morning. I tried a different approach,and it seems to be working.... for now... How is it that I can poke and stick but I can't shove? Poor kitty prolly thinks I have completely lost my mind!

Has anyone else been experiencing trouble with FMBD? I was unable to log on yesterday evening and it is going extremely slow for me today.

I have taken the day off to try and catch up on school work! That psych video (starring Tyler!) that I am making for my psychology class is coming! I was unable to have one extra person, so we couldn't get the comedy that I wanted slipped in there but we were able to improv a twist at the end to keep it from being completely boring. I'm working on that and math today, it's gonna be sooooo fun :roll:
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 FMDB having trouble?

Yup. I was having trouble with the Board, too. It's been very sloooow.

I'm glad you're feeling better.
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 FMDB having trouble?

Did you get a chance to ask the vet about the Baytril dose your giving?
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 Video Posted!

Hello all,

I contacted my vet to double check, as well as my mother's veterinarian for a second opinion on the dosage of Baytril that was prescribed to Tyler (1 22.7mg tablet, twice daily). They both confirmed that the dose is safe for a 16 lb cat.

I want to thank you all for being so concerned, it means a lot to have this community of support! However, I am adhering to the advice of my vet on the antibiotic dosage.

Tyler seems to be doing well today, and I feel very rested. His numbers are good for now, and has successfully used the litter-box today and last night. Although, last night he was trying to tell me he had to go, but it hurts, and was leading me to the couch, where he was going. Then to the bathroom, then to the litter box but would not get in. I put him in the box and pet him and coached him into it, and he went... my poor little buddy. I could tell he was hurting. But we will power through this.

Now, for the fun stuff... here's a link to the video I made for my psychology class, starring Tyler, myself, and a couple of my good friends (who are wonderful cat people, they trap strays and have them fixed and release them). I hope you all enjoy the video, it has a little twist at the end! :cool:
Conditioning a Cat: Starring Tyler the Cat

B
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 Video Posted!

Hi Brian:

I'm glad you got some sleep. If you don't take care of you, you can't take care of Tyler.

Yes, the board has been whacky for the past 24 hours or so. This is my second third attempt to post on your condo.

Good luck with your video.

Congrats on getting the AB into Tyler. Are you going to let us in on your secret method?

Edited to add: Just watched the video. Very interesting. I did notice that you did not warm Tyler's ear before poking. I think Sienne or someone mentioned this before, but if you take an old sock and put about a half cup of uncooked regular rice in the bottom, and tie it off, you can warm it in the microwave for about 20-30 seconds (depending on your microwave). Make sure it's not too hot by pressing it against your wrist. Hold it against the ear for a few seconds, and then you can use it as the backing when you poke. The blood should flow much easier!
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 Video Posted!

Thanks Tricia!

Well, the video is posted, it is the post above your post. Looks like we posted at the same time.

As for the pill method, it is not easy, but I coated it in a tad of butter, and said my prayers that I don't get bit, and got it down the hatch! Tyler is quick with that tongue to spit it out, so this morning, it took several attempts! Just persistence I guess. I don't want him to get better, I need him to get better! I can't feel like a good bean if my little buddies don't feel well!
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 Video Posted!

Yay, I finally got through! Yes, the Board had been like molasses this weekend. After about a day of the abs he should be able to pee without pain, but that's why we suggested the pain meds. Tess only needs about half an hour to start feeling better and we only give them to her for a day or day and a half. I guess we didn't realize how big a cat Tyler was. It's a little higher than the dose recommended by Bayer, but not too much. The reason we were concerned is Baytril can cause blindness when overdosed. How did you finally get him to take it?

Very cool video! One thing, w/ the vignetting and flicker you might leave the longer text frames up for a few more seconds, kind of hard to read it all. Of course, I wasn't looking at it full screen and you will probably show it on a screen where it wouldn't make so much of a difference.

But, did you shoot insulin back into the pen when you were drawing the dose? I couldn't quite tell, but there is a lubricant inside the syringes that can contaminate the insulin if you shoot it back.
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 Video Posted!

Been looking forward to the video! Good work!

Since I don't know the exact nature of the assignment, this may be a moot point, but aren't you in reality using conditioning to get Tyler to both accept the injections AND the testing?

A star is born!!

Hope Tyler feels better soon...being another male mammal, I'm sure you can relate to how painful a bladder/kidney infection can be!
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 Video Posted!

About the Baytril, the doc said he had a pretty bad infection. I did do a free catch sample, which you all seem pretty against, but he gave me a sterile vile to catch with and that is what I used and popped the lid on it straight away. As far as the pain reliever, my vet would not give me any when I asked (and yes, that irritated me). But he seems to be feeling better today and has been eating, and his ears bleeding better as well.

Regarding the video, thanks ladies! It was fun to make.
- As far as letting insulin slip back into the pen, that is a negative. I do not let go of the plunger when I am drawing the insulin, I am aware of the lube inside the syringe.
- About conditioning Tyler on both the injection and the blood drawing, he didn't like the shot very much at all, when I read about Operant Conditioning, I immediately started using it and it helped very quickly. With his ears, he doesn't seem to mind at all. I get him to willingly come to me and I usually start with petting and end it with petting, and he usually purrs the whole time! Petting is known as a type of positive reinforcement, but I needed to keep the video short. So in reality, yes, he is conditioned for both, and he is a very good boy!
- I know it's a little shaky, but the crappy quality and bad filming was intentional, as we used my phone to shoot the video with an 8mm camera app. I wanted it to be silent so I could fill up the 5-6 minutes that were required, so I thought putting up the info in writing was a good idea for that. I did not leave up the info segments up longer than 15 seconds because the video had to be short, as there are 30 something folks in my class all required to present tonight. We have a digital projector and a huge projection screen to view it on later tonight, so I'm not worried that it will not be able to be read.
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 PMPS 249 Video Posted!

Well, his PMPS wasn't too out of the norm for this guy. I think he'll be back on track in no time, but have I seen that loss of injection yet? I don't know since you all say ECID, he seems to have reacted to his dose increase right away, but I guess we'll just have to wait and see. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 PMPS 249 Video Posted!

I think since he got down to 80 last night, even after the skipped shot, he's pretty much back on track

If you'd been able to get a +4 to +6 today, he may have gone lower than the 139 too

Good numbers considering the skip!!
 
Re: 4/21 Tyler AMPS 210 +7 139 PMPS 249 Video Posted!

Love the video!!! I'm glad you're feeling better, too...it's never fun when the bean is wiped out.
 
Well good news on our end this evening, Tyler is in a cool blue. He could be lower, but I like what I see considering the stress I've been putting him through getting those pills down! It's not so bad, but it isn't fun for either of us!!!

Well thanks for all the kind words on the video, it was fun to make. I would have liked it to have been a little better, but not bad from a bunch of amateurs! It earned a pretty good round of applause in the class, so that was cool.

Maybe tomorrow, Tyler will take the pill on the first attempt! I wish I had that on camera!!! That tongue of his is quick!!! Spits that sucker right out in a hurry, I tell you what! :smile:
 
Nice slide for Tyler tonight, Brian!!

Glad to hear the video was a hit...now for the important part..the grade!

Of course the most important part is that you're doing such a great job with Tyler, and he's doing so much better! You might be finding pilling a challenge, but it sounds like it's more successful than the liquid was, and the only way the AB will work is if you can get it IN the cat!

Keep up the great work! And remember to take care of YOU too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top