5/11 Cinco PMPS 207 +3 210

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
5/10 Recap:
1.0 units bid
AMPS: 400 (not sure this is accurate)
AM+3.5: 219
AM+6: 206
PMPS: 294
PM+7: 182

Yesterday's Condo

Another day, another worry. Cinco seemed uncomfortable last night - nothing I could put my finger on, but he just looked like he didn't feel 100%. This morning he seemed better - great appetite, etc. Then a little while ago he was talking up a storm and wandering around. He went to the lb and strained and strained and finally produced a little tiny bit of poo. He came out and wandered around some more, then went to another litter box and did the same thing. He came out and wandered some more, talking, then went back to the first lb and strained so hard his whole body convulsed until he threw up (luckily in the box)! He got out, walked a few steps, squatted and out came a normal sized poo (on the carpet! :o ). He walked away, dragged his butt a little on the carpet, then sat down and gave himself a cleaning! He looks much more comfortable now, sprawled out on the family room floor instead of huddled in a meatloaf position, and more receptive to scritches and petting. But of course, I'm worried about the whole thing. It could just be a little tummy bug or the fact that I really don't think he gets enough water, or could it be the beginnings of the lymphoma? nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile I'm gonna be a helicopter mom for the next fews days, I guess. He has his oncology follow up a week from Tuesday, and I'll be sure to mention this. SIgh. :YMSIGH:

We did increase his dose to 1.25 this morning, so we'll see what that does.

On the bright side, Sasha ate her meds in their Forti Flora coated pill pockets without batting an eye this morning. :-D She seems to be doing well. I am, of course, still watching her like a hawk, too.

If the board cooperates, I'll try to visit some more condos today, but I do need to get some yard work done before those 90s hit this week!

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans.
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 Dosecrease

Awww....poor Cinco and his MamaBean. My civvie, Frankie, does the same exact thing when she's constipated - pretty much all that you described here right down to the throwing up and finally getting the poo out outside the box. For some reason, she has occasional flare-ups (about once every month or two), so we have her on a maintenance dose of Miralax. She just had a flare at the peak of Trix's pancreatitis....oh, you can imagine the frazzled state I was in! Hopefully it's just an insolated constipation issue for Cinco...but I am SOOOOOOO familiar with being a Helicopter Bean!

Great news about Sasha!!!

Work that dosecrease, Cinco!!
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 Dosecrease

Sending prayers for Cinco. I know its hard not to think the worst. He seems relieved now so that's good. Do you add water to his wet food? I do that with Lovey because she doesn't like to drink from her bowl.
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 Dosecrease

Sending prayers for Cinco. I know its hard not to think the worst. He seems relieved now so that's good. Do you add water to his wet food? I do that with Lovey because she doesn't like to drink from her bowl.
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 Dosecrease

Sending prayers for Cinco. I know its hard not to think the worst. He seems relieved now so that's good. Do you add water to his wet food? I do that with Lovey because she doesn't like to drink from her bowl.
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 Dosecrease

Poor Cinco, I'm sorry you having pooping issues. I'm glad you're feeling better now. Hopefully it's just a one time thing. Tricia, you're GOING to be a helicopter mom? What will be different? :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 +6 153 Dosecrease

Thanks, Catherine and Amy.

Yes, I add water to all the kitties' food, and extra to Cinco's and Harvey's, because their kidneys are compromised. Since Cinco has been hanging out in the family room more, I think he is getting less water. "His" dispenser is in the living room near his favorite spots. The nearest water dispenser to the family room is a fountain in the dining area, and he has to get past Harvey to get to it. I've been putting a small bowl of water near his favorite resting spots, but I haven't seen him drink from it. I offer it to him after every meal, and sometimes he drinks and other times he doesn't. I think I'll have to get another dispenser and put it in that area- he's more used to dispensers than bowls. It's hard when they're blind, as they can't smell water, and they don't know it's there.

I had been giving him Miralax for a while when he was on ABs, but he's been pretty regular for some time, so I haven't been adding it to his food. He was "due" to go yesterday and didn't, so I guess I should have given him some. I'll be more in tune with that after this! I just gave him his lunch with his +6 test, and he inhaled every bite and wanted more. Hopefully this was just a passing thing. I like his +6 a lot better, too.
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 Dosecrease

Liz, we posted at the same time. You're right. I guess I shouldn't have said "going to be" - how about "continue to be"? :lol: :lol: :lol: I know I'm not the only one on here, though, so I don't feel too guilty about it!
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 +6 153 Dosecrease

Hey Tricia!

Found this picture...isn't that you? :lol:
helicopter+parent.jpg


Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 +6 153 Dosecrease

Awww, Cinco, I hope you are feeling better right now. Needing to poo and throwing up is no fun! Auntie Rachel has sent "perfect poo" vines; not too hard, not too soft, but just right!

I'm glad that Cinco sounds like he's feeling better and had a nice good meal! Hopefully the dispenser will get some more water into him, too :-D And that's an awesome +6 too, I guess that is Cinco saying Happy Mothers Day! And so am I :-D I love the picture, Chris! :lol: . I wasn't sure what a helicoptor mom meant but I guess that explains it ;-)

I hope you're having a great mama beans day with your furbabies, Tricia. Hugs to you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 +6 153 Dosecrease

Poor Cinco. I'm glad he finally got that poo out. Hopefully it was just a one time thing. I'm glad he's sliding down. I bet the poo was making his numbers higher. I'm glad Sasha is taking her meds.
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 +6 153 Dosecrease

Hi Tricia,

I hope that this episode was just a one-time thing and that Cinco will be OK now. You must have been very concerned. Do you have the kind of kitty fountain that constantly circulates the water? That might be something that Cinco can hear and doesn't have to see.

Hope you had a good Mamabeans' Day today. Did you get in your garden work before it got too hot?

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco AMPS 293 +3 221 +6 153 Dosecrease

Everyone here gets automatic membership to the heliobean club. :lol: :lol: You're in excellent company.
Liz
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco PMPS 207

Thanks for the visits and the support, everyone.

Chris, I do think that is a pretty good likeness, but you know, it kinda resembles Amy, too! :lol:

Rachel, thanks for the vines. There have been some good moments today, for sure. For instance, Sasha just ate her evening dose of meds in the pill pockets without hesitation! :-D

Carla, I was wondering if that was the explanation for the higher number. His PMPS tonight is definitely an improvement over what he's had lately.

Ella, my fountain is the recirculating kind. I'm not sure if Cinco knows what it is. I've seen him walk by, but I've never seen him drink from it. I may have to try to introduce him to it. I did get some garden work done, but not nearly enough. We bought some tomato plants at Costco today and we got them transplanted to big containers and placed. I pulled some weeds in the front yard and deadheaded the geraniums, but I didn't get to the back yard at all. I also helped my DH put in some new sprinkler heads in front. We still have three more to do. Now that it's light later, we might try to finish that up one night this week as it cools down.

Liz, thank you. I am indeed in excellent company. I just love the people on this board, and it's so nice to know I'm not alone! :razz:

I kind of stalked Cinco this afternoon with the water dish, and he finally deigned to drink - he drank a lot! I was holding it and my arm got tired before he was done. I put it back where I had been leaving it, and about a half hour later I saw him go up to it and drink some more, so I know he's aware of it's location. He was not very enthusiastic about his dinner. He ate a few bites before his shot, but then stopped afterward. I chased him around with the plate and got about a third of it down him. He was looking uncomfortable again so I did a little research and decided to try some pepcid. He ate it in a pill pocket without a fuss, and I held the water dish to his mouth afterwards and was very pleased when he drank some. He's lying on the back of the sofa in the family room now, and he's not meatloafing, so I'm hoping he's just not hungry - he did end up drinking a lot of water today!

Harvey has been feeling very left out today and has been following me whenever I'm in the house. He keep inserting himself between me and the keyboard as I type this, so I think I need to pay some attention to him! I hope everyone had a great Mother's Day, whether your kids have two legs or four (or if you have some of each)! :-D
 
Re: 5/11 Cinco PMPS 207

For heavens sake woman....you chase him all over the house getting him to drink 5 gallons of water and you want him to eat too?

Poor boy is probably going to be spending a lot of time in the litter box tonight....lol

But seriously, I hope the extra water helps keep him from having poo problems!

Now you just have to get the DH trained....hmmm....remember that shock collar?? :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top