5/16/14 Zack PMPS 2 108,+3.5 42,+4.5 58,+5 67,+6 100,+7 202

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166

It looks like Dyana is off the board right now. R is Humulin-R. It's a fast-acting insulin of short duration. Experienced users will sometimes use it in addition to the Lantus to try to help with the bounces.

Again - great job last night!
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166

Thank you. I think because this is new, I do not have a lot of confidence yet.
This message board is fantastic.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166

I agree whole-heartedly about this message board! I credit the people here for Jersey's remission.

You'll gain more confidence as you go. Shoot, just look at everything you've accomplished so far!
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166, +4 117

Thank you.
Am riding out to see what nadir brings.
 
Re: ? 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99

Marje? Chris? Do I ride this out as Nadir, or feed?
 
Re: ? 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99

Marje? Chris? Do I ride this out as Nadir, or feed?
 
Re: ? 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99

Holly

I'm sorry...I've been off and on the board and didn't catch you.

I'd see if he will surf a bit. He's almost at midcycle. You can just test in an hour from your last test and see what he's doing.

I'm going to sign off...I'm sorry but I have work meetings shortly. I'll try to check back in in between them.

If he does keep coming down, just give him a tsp or so of LC food unless he continues to come down into the 50s. Then you will want to give him a little more food but he should level off here soon.

Good work!!
 
Re: ? 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99

I agree with Marje (of course!)

He's close to mid-cycle so this is a GREAT cycle today! Almost perfect!

Started out not too high (below renal threshold), a little food spike, then a slow slide down into pretty green (but very SAFE) numbers

The only time you need to be concerned is if he drops below 50, and you should know that dance pretty well!!

A snack of low carb is always a good choice if you're concerned.
 
Re: ? 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+1 213,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99

Zack is looking really good, Holly. I know it gets a little scary when they move into double digits, but he's really right where you want him. Now you just have to relax and help him stay there. You have great advice from some of the best experts on the Board, so I just wanted to chime in with a little encouragement. We all remember what it felt like when we were new at this. You're doing a wonderful job! :-D
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99,+5.5 103,+6.5

Had to run out and could not post, equine vet was here.
gave Zack 2 tsp low carb wet after the 99, I need to go to work for a few hours.
His 5.5 went up to 103, then his 6.5 is 113.
I think he is doing well today.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99,+5.5 103,+6.5

If I have a question about keytones, do I post it here or on the main board page?
I took a photo of the test strip. He looks negative to trace to me, not sure which.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99,+5.5 103,+6.5

I post everything here. I don't know anything about keytones really. Has he had them before?

I see he just got diagnosed. My vet did tell me that they won't develop quickly but I don't know if that is correct. One of the experienced people will respond today I am sure.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+2 166, +4 117,+5 99,+5.5 103,+6.5

You'd post here but if it's between negative and trace, you're good. If more than a trace, that's an emergency. Do you add water to his food? That can help flush them. If you're unsure on the color you can use one on yourself too and you have something to compare to. Edited to add... Smart phones are a pain to use here... Lol
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+5 99,+5.5 103,+6.5 113,PMPS 120

PMPS 120, shall we still shoot 1.5 u?

Shooting 1.5 now.
 
Re: ?5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+5 99,+5.5 103,+6.5 113,PMPS 120

As long as you have test strips, high carb food and can test tonight, I'd go ahead and shoot the 1.5 at his usual time. Just get a +1 and +2 and see where he's going.

The other option is to stall, don't feed and retest in 20-30 minutes and see if he comes up (this would have been a good day to get a +10 or +11) but any time you stall, you have to be able to change your schedule too, or shoot a BCS (a shot less than scheduled) but as long as you're able to do the testing and have supplies, I'd go ahead and shoot the 1.5
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS 158,+5 99,+5.5 103,+6.5 113,PMPS 120

He's going to surf nice for ya - I know it. :)
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS +6.5 113,PMPS 120,+1 131,+2 108,+3.5 4

He put his bungee cords on and just leapt off the cliff MaryAlice.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS +6.5 113,PMPS 120,+1 131,+2 108,+3.5 4

Break out the gravy again, Holly!!

We don't usually do back to back reductions, so let me see if I can find some of the others online to help decide what to do from here. I don't want to be the only voice heard from.

Some of the decision will also depend on how hard it is to get him up above 50 too (and how hard it is to keep him there once he is)
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS +6.5 113,PMPS 120,+1 131,+2 108,+3.5 4

Geez, Zack... what are you trying to prove? Tell him to take off those bungee cords and put his swim trunks back on.... lol SURF not JUMP!!!!

Seems like a similar number to last night at the same time. Maybe you'll be able to get him right back up.

At least it's a Friday night this time... you can sleep a bit tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS +6.5 113,PMPS+1 131,+2 108,+3.5 42,+4

Well... Maybe zack should go feed them then. Lol
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS +6.5 113,PMPS+1 131,+2 108,+3.5 42,+4

I agree with Chris. I would not do a back to back reduction as this is likely the depot from the 1.75u. A higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles in some cats. Oh yes...that depot is something else!!!

Good job getting that number up, Holly, but i'd stay on top of it. It takes about two hours for HC to wear off and you might see wobbly numbers the next several tests. I'd give a couple tsp of LC and retest at +4.5.

We're grabbing dinner but others are around and I will also BBL.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack AMPS +6.5 113,PMPS+1 131,+2 108,+3.5 42,+4

just checking in on you and Zack! Great job pulling his numbers up, Holly. This is the phase of "lather, rinse, repeat" where you just keep checking every 20-30 minutes and if he's below 50, give the gravy like you did before, if he's over 50, hold off on food.

Keep posting the new numbers in the subject line so people can see if you need help.

Doing great!!
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack PMPS 120+2 108,+3.5 42,+4.5 58,+5 67,+6 100

Thanks Julie, was not sure above 50- memory cells are affected by lack of sleep.
So I fed him low carb. is belly is a bit noisy next to me.
We are gonna doze till the next test.
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack PMPS 120+2 108,+3.5 42,+4.5 58,+5 67,+6 100

if you haven't been feeding him high carb food, he looks like he is past the natural nadir and on his way up. if i were you, i'd sleep til amps.

I'm sharing this post with all of our new kitties tonight - there is a video on how to draw up your insulin and keep it viable as long as possible. Lots of good information on the entire post about how your insulin works too. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
 
Re: 5/16/14 Zack PMPS 120+2 108,+3.5 42,+4.5 58,+5 67,+6 100

Another exciting night, Holly, but you're learning fast! Nothing like a "baptism by fire" so to speak!!

Hope you get some sleep soon!

In the morning, I think the general consensus is to hold the 1.5 unit dose again since it's so soon since he earned it.

If you're unsure in the morning, go ahead and post, and say something in your subject line like "Do I shoot"? with the ? icon added. Hopefully that'll get some attention

Goodnight! You must be beat!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top