5/18 Billie AMBG PMPS 248 +2 186 +3 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Good morning! Here is Billie's condo from yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118890&p=1244155#p1244155

I am looking for an opinion on whether or not I should shoot this morning. This is her third day on insulin. Her AMPS is 190. Yesterday, she had a great curve going with an 85 at +7, but then jumped up to 243, 230 and 269 later that night - a possible bounce.

I have to be out for most of the day. I will be here until +2, and then back again at +6 to check on her, and back for good at +10. Under those circumstances, do you think it's safer to shoot or call it a fur shot this morning?
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 - I have a question!

Do you have higher carb food that you can leave out just in case the numbers do drop?

I would give the insulin and test again at +1 and at +2 and if Billie starts dropping or if you are worried, you can leave some higher carb food out to try to keep the numbers where you are comfortable. I'm glad you can get home at +6 to check.
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 - I have a question!

Thank you Dyana! That all sounds like a good plan, but Billie ran under the bed. I've been keeping everything in one bag, including her testing supplies, and she already knows what it means when I open that bag - I think she is afraid of the testing, not the insulin. I tried to coax her out with food, but at this point, we're running late and I won't be home to get a +2 if I shoot now. If I shoot in the next 15 minutes, I could still get a +1 and then be back around +5 time. What do you think?

-Deanna

PS: Leaving high carb food out when I'm seeing low numbers is a really good idea. Thanks! We have Merrick Turducken which I stopped feeding because it's 9%. I know that's still not very high though. I can pick up some higher carb choices.
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 - I have a question!

You could still do that.
the turducken is still considered low carb because it is under 10%.... but I would go with that .... give Billie some with the shot and then leave it out.....
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 - "fur shot"

I decided to call it a fur shot. I don't want to leave her unattended this early in the game. I will either be here or have my boyfriend coming in every other day this week. I'll give her regular dose tonight, and hopefully she won't go too high today nailbite_smile

Thank you!!
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 (fur shot) PMPS 248

Hello! Just checking in with Billie's PMPS. She's at 248. I checked on her in the middle of the day today, and she was at 220. I probably should have given her shot this morning, but I got nervous knowing that I wouldn't be around to test her or keep an eye on her. I started her 45 minutes late tonight, because I go back to my work schedule of 2pm-10pm tomorrow, and I'm planning on shooting at 10am and 10pm. I'll get a +2 tonight. I hope everyone had a good day!
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 (fur shot) PMPS 248

That's not a bad PMPS considering you skipped the shot this morning!!

Go Billie! Work that juice!!
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 (fur shot) PMPS 248

Hi Deanna

I agree...not a bad number for a skipped shot. It shouldn't take her too long to get back at it :-D

Just so you know in the future, if we skip a shot, we list it as AMBG in the subject line instead of AMPS or PMBG instead of PMPS. That shows us you didn't shoot.

Hope you had a good work day.
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMPS 190 (fur shot) PMPS 248 +2 186

Thank you! She's at 186 now for +2. Is that too much of a drop? I'm guessing it's more than we'd want to see since +2 is supposed to be close to the pre-shot reading. I'll check her again at +4 or maybe even +3 to see where she is headed.
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMBG PMPS 248

Yeah I'd get a +3 ...that's a big drop for +2 so she may be on the move tonight

Easier to control if you catch it early!
 
Re: 5/18 Billie AMBG PMPS 248

Her +3 is 160. I'm putting out some Merrick Turducken because it's a bit higher in carbs than what we have in the usual rotation - 9% instead of 2%. Let me know if that makes sense and if there is anything else I should do at this point. Thanks!!
 
Thanks for the reply - I know it's late! I am going to stay up to see where her +4 is at, and I'll set an alarm for +6 or +7 to check on her again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top