5/19, Tux, AMPS 325 PMPS 184

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Tux

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118963


Tux's numbers look better today than last night. He did rise steadily with food and no insulin. How do you know when to start lowering the dose? I'm still undecided on how to handle Tuesday nights. No one is home at 9 to give his second shot and I get home about an 1 hr to 1 1/2 hrs afterwards. The vet said to just give his full dose as soon as I get home. Thoughts?
 
here's a thought - since you said you are fairly available except for tuesdays, you could shoot late on Tuesday night, then shoot 12 hrs later on Wednesday morning.

You can work backwards about 1/2 hr once a day, or 15 minutes at each shot until you get back to your regular shot time.

yes, you can shoot the full dose when you shoot late.
 
you lower the dose when you catch a number under 50. until then you don't decrease. Most cats have to go up in dose until they start seeing nadirs (low points) less than 50, and then they come down the dosing scale.

For now, with the skipped shot last night, you would hold this dose for a total of 6 shots (starting the 6 shot count beginning this morning) and then you'd re-evaluate the dose and decide if you should hold longer or if you should increase. if you go below 50, you would decrease the dose by 0.25u.

we'll help you with evaluating the dose - sometimes it can be tricky to tell if you should hold or increase.

Does that make sense?

by the way, if you use the ? post icon at the top of the posting window then your question won't get missed!
 
Thank you for all of your help, Julie! That at makes sense. I was just wondering when I should even bring up the idea of lowering his dose and now I know :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top